Author Topic: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist  (Read 22105 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Zane

  • Member
  • Posts: 81
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2010, 01:10:15 PM »
Zef :)

Zane, do a full install if you're using old stuff.. check my signature.

Full install meaning full reinstall of chameleon using everything from RC5 or reinstalling whole OS and doing it again.
http://bit.ly/osx86log Lenovo Y550P OSx86 Log
http://bit.ly/envyosx64log HP Envy 15 1150nr OSx64 log

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #16 on: August 16, 2010, 12:03:16 AM »
Zane,
just Chameleon stuff. I see it's working fine now... missed your comment update, somehow :P
Can you confirm the topic problem is solved for good? :)
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Zane

  • Member
  • Posts: 81
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #17 on: August 18, 2010, 09:24:47 AM »
Zane,
just Chameleon stuff. I see it's working fine now... missed your comment update, somehow :P
Can you confirm the topic problem is solved for good? :)

I'll do that when my exams are finally over. I can't really confirm whether its fixed. It happens somewhat randomly. Sorry.
http://bit.ly/osx86log Lenovo Y550P OSx86 Log
http://bit.ly/envyosx64log HP Envy 15 1150nr OSx64 log

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #18 on: August 18, 2010, 10:08:42 AM »
Ok Zane, no sorry needed. When you get time :)
Good "luck" on the exams!
« Last Edit: August 18, 2010, 01:18:55 PM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

zef

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 265
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #19 on: August 18, 2010, 11:32:10 AM »
I'll do that when my exams are finally over. I can't really confirm whether its fixed. It happens somewhat randomly. Sorry.

I would need a filesystem dump in a state when this error happens. I can provide an ftp account for posting such large images if needed. The same offer goes for everyone :)

You should boot into another working system, then create a dump (rdiskXsY is your "broken" filesystem), please unmount it before running the dd command below:

Code: [Select]
dd if=/dev/rdiskXsY of=wontbootfs bs=4096
gzip wontbootfs

What we need is the wontbootfs.gz
« Last Edit: August 18, 2010, 11:42:11 AM by zef »
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | i5-2500k | 16GB RAM | GTX560 | Keyboard | Mouse | Devilsound DAC

Zane

  • Member
  • Posts: 81
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #20 on: August 19, 2010, 09:02:05 AM »
Working system by meaning another working mac? or working OS. Because if i'm not wrong that dd command is for mac or unix. Not for Windows. I apologize for not knowing anything. I'm just an average user but if you could teach me i would get you that dump with no problem if it ever happens. :S

EDIT: @Azimutz Okay, listened to you and found that i had some extra free time. Reinstalled everything using a tutorial at InsanelyMac and yes i used the fdisk440 that came with it so that it doesnt screw up my windows something identification thingy. Boot up was fine, used the latest files from 18th of August. Some other stuff were missing when boot, i get at message of Forcewake=Y or something like that but previously i had this messages of Slot 1 , Slot 2 something. Sorry, cant really remember. But seems alright now. The last time i got the SystemVersion.plist was my OS X suddenly hung and when i rebooted it became like that. I've been trying to reproduce it for at least 4hours now and my mac still hasnt hung. So i think its good. It even fixed the CPU Detection and some other cosmetic issues. I love the hide partition and rename partition feature too. Just curious, do i really need to use the SMBios.plist and how do i test if Sleep is working?

Regards
Zane
« Last Edit: May 30, 2011, 08:08:28 PM by Gringo Vermelho »
http://bit.ly/osx86log Lenovo Y550P OSx86 Log
http://bit.ly/envyosx64log HP Envy 15 1150nr OSx64 log

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #21 on: August 20, 2010, 07:29:34 AM »
Hi Zane,
i'd say it's fixed :) we'll see. If it ever happens you know what to do. I'm not the best to advise on the dd command.

About the other stuff;
Chameleon has default values for smbios, that are set according to the cpu and machine type (desktop, laptop);
if those suit your needs and you have correct info under System Profiler, there's no need for smbios.plist. A good
Test you can do to determine if a certain MacXYZ model is the best for you, is run Geekbench; if it says you have
a hackintosh, try another Mac model and use the plist for that purpose. The one bundled with the package is just an example. You can also change just specific values; the values on smbios.plist always override the defaults.
On another note, is the memory modules info showing correct?

Sleep/hibernation, another stuff were i'm not the best to advise; this stuff doesn't work properly on my machine,
specially hibernation and besides this fact, i really don't use it a lot on a day to day basis. So, it's not one of my
priorities! You'll have to do your reading on that :P
I can tell you that the message about Forcewake=y has to do with the "age" of the sleepimage (/private/var/vm/sleepimage); it's too old to be a valid wake image, i think?! You can just delete it. It will be created again if needed
and hibernation is enabled.
Any more and i'll probably be  saying bs, if i'm not saying already :P

Stay safe
« Last Edit: August 20, 2010, 07:40:50 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Zane

  • Member
  • Posts: 81
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #22 on: August 20, 2010, 05:07:38 PM »
Thanks for the great information! It's alright realy, even though its bullshit. At least you're saying something. :) The OSx86 Community is actually really "lonely" in a sense. Not many people help other people compared to other forums if you get what i mean? Basically its a really rough ride and alot of Trial and Error. Even i'm still abit stumped by DSDT. But i need to get a whole new DSDT. If you did seen, i posted a thread in the VoodooBattery Bug Reports section, gotta research on how to fix the brightness issue thing too. I shall try what you stated. I'll check on the memory module in abit. Oh and one more thing, somehow it seems now that my mac is more stable. It doesnt hang that much either. Attributed to Chameleon?

I will try the GeekBench thing. I am really new to the OS X Scene ( New in a sense that i dont know what kexts or applications that are good or required for my machine). I just fixed sleep with the installation of LidSleep Kext from Merklot, it seems its working but i didnt test with wifi or anything. I just recently ordered a Apple AR5BXB72 Wifi Card so i can replace the one in my laptop. Yeah, i did background checking on bios locks and etc. Someone taught me how to patch the bios. I just hope it works. If not im gonna go in a merry go round.

EDIT: Curious, what was the problem causing this?

EDIT 2: By memory you mean this right?

EDIT 3: Memory is not displaying correctly. Only displaying correctly for the first Slot. Oh, and one more thing. When i look at process manager, i only see one core. Weird. I'm on a i7 720QM.





EDIT 4: Just figured i did tell you. I placed the values in SMBIOS.plist to detect as DDR3 1066 Rams and all the serial numbers and stuff. When i boot with -v i get to see this being loaded. But the memory module still shows the same as above.

EDIT 5: Oh and i was playing around abit with kexts and stuff. Very weird. But i got this. I am using Revision 416.



-Zane
« Last Edit: May 30, 2011, 08:08:51 PM by Gringo Vermelho »
http://bit.ly/osx86log Lenovo Y550P OSx86 Log
http://bit.ly/envyosx64log HP Envy 15 1150nr OSx64 log

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #23 on: August 23, 2010, 07:16:26 PM »
Hi Zane,
sorry about the delay.. had to set some priorities.
I know what you mean! But, we have to keep in mind the "nature" of OSx86 , if you catch my drift.
As you say, you're still new to the scene; i'm around for almost 3 years and i still consider don't know nothing or anyone,
for that matter  :P if you stick long enough, you'll see that there's still plenty of people around helping and creating.
But in the end, it's mostly dow to read, read, read...
Knowing what's needed it's the major pain in!! Take one thing at a time, baby steps.

Oh   and one more thing, somehow it seems now that my mac is more stable. It   doesnt hang that much either. Attributed to Chameleon?
The stability can be Chameleon's doing, yeah; proper cpu detection or memory speed, is enough
to make a big diff, depending on what you had before.

  Curious, what was the problem causing this?
If you mean the topic problem, the fix was adding conversion to data type that can hold bigger values (long long).
Check the changes committed on rev 151, look for the long long.
   
  Memory is not displaying correctly. Only displaying correctly for the first Slot...

Just   figured i did tell you. I placed the values in SMBIOS.plist to detect   as DDR3 1066 Rams and all the serial numbers and stuff. When i boot with   -v i get to see this being loaded. But the memory module still shows   the same as above.

I read about that problem on some laptop, i think. Check this topic towards the end, like a week ago or so.
Did the smbios.plist work fine before in this situation? with older version of the booter...

Oh and i was playing around abit with kexts and stuff. Very weird. But i got this. I am using Revision 416.
You got that one time or you get it always? And what are you really pointing here? just to be sure :)
« Last Edit: August 23, 2010, 07:21:26 PM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Zane

  • Member
  • Posts: 81
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #24 on: August 23, 2010, 11:16:48 PM »
Hi Zane,
sorry about the delay.. had to set some priorities.
I know what you mean! But, we have to keep in mind the "nature" of OSx86 , if you catch my drift.
As you say, you're still new to the scene; i'm around for almost 3 years and i still consider don't know nothing or anyone,
for that matter  :P if you stick long enough, you'll see that there's still plenty of people around helping and creating.
But in the end, it's mostly dow to read, read, read...
Knowing what's needed it's the major pain in!! Take one thing at a time, baby steps.


Yeah its alright. I know reading is alot but honestly its sometimes hard to understand what the people are explaining. Their english in a sense is kinda off so when i read i have to do it by trial and error or have a reference to what people did to get it working. =\

The stability can be Chameleon's doing, yeah; proper cpu detection or memory speed, is enough
to make a big diff, depending on what you had before.

I was using RC3 and i think a DSDT Patch that made it detect as Xeon, but now it shows i7 but only 1 core in the Task Manager app.

If you mean the topic problem, the fix was adding conversion to data type that can hold bigger values (long long).
Check the changes committed on rev 151, look for the long long.

Yeah i was asking about the topic's issue. Thanks.
   
I read about that problem on some laptop, i think. Check this topic towards the end, like a week ago or so.
Did the smbios.plist work fine before in this situation? with older version of the booter...

I didnt have a smbios.plist before i read uhh, one of the moderators threads about adding the memory information yourself as chameleon supports it. Before i added it, it was like that. After i added it, it was still like that. But inbetween there were issues detecting it as DDR3 1066, it actually detected it as DDR2 667. But still, after using chameleon r416. Slot 1 was DDR3 1066 and Slot 3 was DDR2 667, which is wrong. Were you talking about this guy's post?

EDIT: I didn't realise you could set SMmemtype_1 and SMmemtype_3. Fixed. Values are all correctly awesome.

You got that one time or you get it always? And what are you really pointing here? just to be sure :)

Well, not always. It doesnt come up if i don't do anything to mess with S/ L/ E/ but if i do then that will have a probability of happening. I am running Windows 7 with OS X dualboot. If i can't boot my OS X, i usually delete the kext file that i just added with MacDrive on my computer. Then the next thing i know, i get that. I wonder why. Not really pointing anywhere, just to let it be "known". But i've been doing trail and error on my laptop as i am not sure which kext's work and which don't. So yeah.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2010, 11:41:09 PM by Zane »
http://bit.ly/osx86log Lenovo Y550P OSx86 Log
http://bit.ly/envyosx64log HP Envy 15 1150nr OSx64 log

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #25 on: August 24, 2010, 02:41:26 PM »
Zane,

Quote
I know reading is alot but honestly its sometimes hard to understand what the people are explaining.
yep, that can be a problem indeed. Anyway, it's better than nothing! ;) Your English is not perfect too... neither is mine.

Quote
...but now it shows i7 but only 1 core in the Task Manager app.
Task Manager?? do you mean System Profiler or Activity Monitor? i'm guessing SP...
It should show the correct number of cores. You should report it.

Quote
Were you talking about this guy's post?

EDIT: I didn't realise you could set SMmemtype_1 and SMmemtype_3. Fixed. Values are all correctly awesome.
Nope.. it's an earlier post, a guy with exact same problem as yours.
You should report this too, even though smbios.plist works; in this case it's only hiding the problem as most of the times
these smbios.plist values are only cosmetic (it seems that there are exceptions, but i never experienced them!).

Quote
It doesnt come up if i don't do anything to mess with S/ L/ E/ but if i do then that will have a probability of happening.
Well, as far as i can see, messages are missing and/or incomplete; have no clue about this. There are some situations
i run into, that cause something similar (messages missing), but nothing to do with Macdrive. You can avoid doing it like that,
i mean using Macdrive; i have it installed on Win 7 but, i don't let it write to OS X partitions in a long time (just read).
You can boot in Single User Mode (-s) and delete the kext or load test kexts from a ramdisk;
or use one of the booters on my branch and use kext=<folder> ;)

« Last Edit: August 24, 2010, 02:43:08 PM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Zane

  • Member
  • Posts: 81
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #26 on: August 25, 2010, 06:23:35 PM »
yep, that can be a problem indeed. Anyway, it's better than nothing! ;) Your English is not perfect too... neither is mine.

Definitely true. :)


Task Manager?? do you mean System Profiler or Activity Monitor? i'm guessing SP...
It should show the correct number of cores. You should report it.

I actually meant Activity Monitor, it only shows one "activity bar" there at the bottom.

Nope.. it's an earlier post, a guy with exact same problem as yours.
You should report this too, even though smbios.plist works; in this case it's only hiding the problem as most of the times
these smbios.plist values are only cosmetic (it seems that there are exceptions, but i never experienced them!).

Ah, will go through and look at it again. By report you mean in Chameleon SVN? But isn't your branch handled by you hence it has nothing to do with the original Chameleon trunk?

Well, as far as i can see, messages are missing and/or incomplete; have no clue about this. There are some situations
i run into, that cause something similar (messages missing), but nothing to do with Macdrive. You can avoid doing it like that,
i mean using Macdrive; i have it installed on Win 7 but, i don't let it write to OS X partitions in a long time (just read).
You can boot in Single User Mode (-s) and delete the kext or load test kexts from a ramdisk;
or use one of the booters on my branch and use kext=<folder> ;)

Ah okay. I didn't know that, i always did a reinstall if i got that message. rofl. Took loads of precious time away.

EDIT: Oh and this is offtopic but do you know any way of keeping a kext constantly loaded? The way i run my sound is that i have a LegacyAppleHDA, and i am assuming that when OS X Calls for the audio, it calls for AppleHDA and then calls LegacyAppleHDA. Is there a way for it to just keep LegacyAppleHDA Constantly loaded.
« Last Edit: August 25, 2010, 08:49:37 PM by Zane »
http://bit.ly/osx86log Lenovo Y550P OSx86 Log
http://bit.ly/envyosx64log HP Envy 15 1150nr OSx64 log

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #27 on: August 26, 2010, 01:57:28 PM »
Quote
I actually meant Activity Monitor, it only shows one "activity bar" there at the bottom.
hum.. and what does System Profiler say about number of cores?

Quote
By report you mean in Chameleon SVN?
yep.. on the forge Issues, here (voodoo forums) or on any forum topic related with the problem you're reporting
(like that one i pointed you on InsanelyMac).

Quote
But isn't your branch handled by you hence it has nothing to do with the original Chameleon trunk?
Well, my branch has everything to do with Chameleon. It's a "branch" not a new bootloader!
The problems you've been describing are not exclusive to my branch so, you should report them to the team.
I added some "literature" to my branch.. you should read it if you're using it :)

Quote
EDIT: Oh and this is offtopic but do you know any way of keeping a kext constantly loaded? The way i run my sound is that i have a LegacyAppleHDA, and i am assuming that when OS X Calls for the audio, it calls for AppleHDA and then calls LegacyAppleHDA. Is there a way for it to just keep LegacyAppleHDA Constantly loaded.
We are "off topic" a long time ago :P we better continue this in private!
Anyway, all kexts needed/used by the system are loaded at boot by the kernel and stay loaded until shutdown/restart.
Usually those "legacy..." kexts have only the info.plist inside; they are used to change just the settings on the "target" kext,
in this case AppleHDA.kext.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 02:00:50 PM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Zane

  • Member
  • Posts: 81
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #28 on: August 26, 2010, 03:02:30 PM »

hum.. and what does System Profiler say about number of cores?

8 cores. The correct number.

yep.. on the forge Issues, here (voodoo forums) or on any forum topic related with the problem you're reporting
(like that one i pointed you on InsanelyMac).

So i am assuming i report here

Well, my branch has everything to do with Chameleon. It's a "branch" not a new bootloader!
The problems you've been describing are not exclusive to my branch so, you should report them to the team.
I added some "literature" to my branch.. you should read it if you're using it :)

Literature? You mean in your help documentation. Where is that? =\

We are "off topic" a long time ago :P we better continue this in private!
Anyway, all kexts needed/used by the system are loaded at boot by the kernel and stay loaded until shutdown/restart.
Usually those "legacy..." kexts have only the info.plist inside; they are used to change just the settings on the "target" kext,
in this case AppleHDA.kext.

In private where? IRC, Skype, MSN? ;) Ah. But then if the Legacy kexts are used to change the settings then why cant i just replace the info.plist in the various plugin kexts inside AppleHDA. I tried but it didnt work. Need to find a way to keep the Legacy settings constantly loaded.
http://bit.ly/osx86log Lenovo Y550P OSx86 Log
http://bit.ly/envyosx64log HP Envy 15 1150nr OSx64 log

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Hang on reading SystemVersion.plist
« Reply #29 on: August 26, 2010, 03:58:47 PM »
Zane,

Quote
8 cores. The correct number.
That's what counts! Maybe Activity Monitor is just feeling lazy :P with so many cores..?!
Don't know about this. My two cores are showed and i have a Pentium D 925.

Quote
So i am assuming i report here
yep, that should be the ideal place, though i can't know if it's the fastest way to get the problem solved.
Anyway, were ever you do it, check first if the issue isn't already reported.

Quote
Ah. But then if the Legacy kexts are used to change the settings then   why cant i just replace the info.plist in the various plugin kexts   inside AppleHDA. I tried but it didnt work. Need to find a way to keep   the Legacy settings constantly loaded.
Because this way, when the kexts are updated by Apple, you don't lose the patch; that's the point of "Legacy" kexts.
Note that i don't know if that LegacyAppleHDA is a info.plist only kext?!
I'm having troubles understanding the problem here.. doesn't LegacyAppleHDA load at startup?

My "literature" is on CleanCut for now, on "doc-azi" folder.
On the "private" side, you forgot pm :) for now i don't have time for more instant stuff.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2010, 04:02:12 PM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT