overdue-scratch

Author Topic: Internet problem on SnowLeopard- Cannot connect - Discoveries Made  (Read 7705 times)

sev

• Entrant
Hello everyone,

I would like to ask your advice on a certain matter relating to internet access, being a command line novice, I hope you can bear with me as I'm sure that i'm doing something wrong that is so stupidly simple!

Like many I have a good stable Leopard installation, and so I decide to purchase and install SnowLeopard using a guide on insanelymac. Using the extra/ folder provided I successfully installed with a cd bootloader.  I then took an old 256mb memorystick and installed Chameleon on to it following the visual guide on the lifehacker snowleopard guide.

After my first boot, which through my usb speakers allowed me to have instant sound and hear the intro, I set up my video card hex strings and using kext helper I dragged the two ethernet controller kexts over it one at a time - appleYukon2 and appleYukon2injector. As soon as injector was done I could get internet - the network control panel retrieved all the data necessary.

When I reboot, I get no internet - saying that the isp is self assigning, and thus cannot connect to the net  ???

I did a re-install of the OS and the same thing, so this time I took a snapshot of the settings and re-entered them manually on the second boot, and even tried assigning a static ip on the router and set  the settings on the control panel as manual, - once again no internet.

Since my leopard install has full internet, without hickup I sat back and had a think...

THe only difference is the fact that I use boot123 on leopard and chameleon on SL, which brings me to my question...

In your opinion, could it be something in the 'extra' folder on the chameleon that would influence this?

I don't know how the extra folder really works, but I see that depending on what 'extra' folder you source, some  have quite a few kext items in them.