Author Topic: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partition  (Read 39357 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

zef

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 265
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #30 on: February 19, 2010, 03:57:21 PM »
I think renaming it 'fdisk440' is a good idea to save confusion and I will try using it this weekend with the boot0hfs instead of my manual dd method.

Going to setup a test Win 7 + Chameleon combo later today. Be back :)
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | i5-2500k | 16GB RAM | GTX560 | Keyboard | Mouse | Devilsound DAC

zef

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 265
Ok,

Just re-applied the patches for the latest fdisk.tproj found in diskdev_cmds-491 (supplied with 10.6.2 sources), and Win7 still survived the MBR code update using this fdisk440.

You can find the modded source here (it contains the very same changes as you get with the Chameleon bundled modified fdisk binary):

http://forge.voodooprojects.org/p/chameleonApplications/source/tree/HEAD/trunk/fdisk.tproj

Build with:

make install

The final binary can be found in:

/tmp/fdisk440/Release/usr/sbin/fdisk440

« Last Edit: February 19, 2010, 05:45:23 PM by zef »
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | i5-2500k | 16GB RAM | GTX560 | Keyboard | Mouse | Devilsound DAC

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #32 on: February 19, 2010, 05:47:38 PM »
Good job Zef.
I will try it this weekend :)
EDIT: Or as soon as I can..
« Last Edit: February 19, 2010, 05:49:28 PM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #33 on: February 19, 2010, 07:38:46 PM »
I can confirm fdisk440 works great and doesn't destroy the Windows7 data in the MBR.
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

zef

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 265
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #34 on: February 19, 2010, 08:12:54 PM »
I can confirm fdisk440 works great and doesn't destroy the Windows7 data in the MBR.

Great :)

When I first read about the failures with Win 7 + Chameleon's boot0, I thought it was something new since the Vista MBR issue and also assumed that everybody uses the bundled modded fdisk and still gets into the well known trouble. We should encourage everybody to update his MBR using this fdisk440 binary.

Attached an universal binary built for 10.5 (works under 10.6 as well):

fdisk440: Mach-O universal binary with 4 architectures
fdisk440 (for architecture ppc7400):   Mach-O executable ppc
fdisk440 (for architecture ppc64):   Mach-O 64-bit executable ppc64
fdisk440 (for architecture i386):     Mach-O executable i386
fdisk440 (for architecture x86_64):   Mach-O 64-bit executable x86_64
« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 12:00:24 AM by zef »
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | i5-2500k | 16GB RAM | GTX560 | Keyboard | Mouse | Devilsound DAC

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #35 on: February 20, 2010, 10:04:10 AM »
I will start advertising this to get the message out.
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

Terc

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 129
Could this be included with a new installer for the next release? :)

I don't use Windows on real hardware much these days... but it's always good to have options!

rocksteady

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 233
  • Root Down
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #37 on: February 22, 2010, 06:57:00 PM »
Yep, just more testing before advertisement guys.

Test-Test-Test-Talk

Stop bitching, start coding or documenting or both..

P5Q-EM : Q6600 : 8GB RAM : 8800GT : SATA Drives

zef

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 265
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #38 on: February 22, 2010, 11:04:02 PM »
Yep, just more testing before advertisement guys.

Test-Test-Test-Talk

This fdisk is bundled since the early Chameleon binaries (1.5+ years), now just renamed to fdisk440 to make this one really unique. Wish it could be tested on a ppc mac.
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | i5-2500k | 16GB RAM | GTX560 | Keyboard | Mouse | Devilsound DAC

rocksteady

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 233
  • Root Down
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #39 on: February 22, 2010, 11:35:31 PM »
heh just joking bout the recent verbalism

(also part of the faq since we were getting a ton of HELPs from people using a standard fdisk/installer)

the rename had to be done :)

black did you try it on your G5?

(don't have time to test anything these days)
Stop bitching, start coding or documenting or both..

P5Q-EM : Q6600 : 8GB RAM : 8800GT : SATA Drives

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #40 on: February 23, 2010, 09:02:40 AM »
I can test fdisk440 later today on my G5. What exactly are we looking for, is it just to see it the binary runs or do you want me to perform any particular command?
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

zef

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 265
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #41 on: February 23, 2010, 01:27:19 PM »
I can test fdisk440 later today on my G5. What exactly are we looking for, is it just to see it the binary runs or do you want me to perform any particular command?

Can you try updating the MBR code on a spare disk attached to your G5 please?
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | i5-2500k | 16GB RAM | GTX560 | Keyboard | Mouse | Devilsound DAC

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #42 on: February 23, 2010, 10:13:08 PM »
Using my G5 running 10.5.8, I used fdisk440 in write boot0 to a USB memory stick today which boots fine on my hack.

Tomorrow I will take an HDD from my hack that contains OS X and a Windows install, then plug it in to my G5 for writing boot0hfs to with fdisk440. I will post back once completed.

EDIT: Okay I have updated the MBR with boot0hfs, and also written boot1 &2 using my G5 with a HDD from my hack. I will try booting from it later today and report back.

EDIT: Plugged the HDD back in to my hack and both OS X and Windows7 boot fine and Windows7 sleeps.

Conclusion: Success
« Last Edit: February 24, 2010, 02:59:39 PM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

zef

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 265
Re: Removing the requirement for Chameleon (boot1h/boot) to be on active partit
« Reply #43 on: February 25, 2010, 12:02:50 AM »
EDIT: Okay I have updated the MBR with boot0hfs, and also written boot1 &2 using my G5 with a HDD from my hack. I will try booting from it later today and report back.

EDIT: Plugged the HDD back in to my hack and both OS X and Windows7 boot fine and Windows7 sleeps.

Conclusion: Success

Very nice! :) Thanks for the report & testing.
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | i5-2500k | 16GB RAM | GTX560 | Keyboard | Mouse | Devilsound DAC

BuildSmart

  • Member
  • Posts: 30
zef, here is a self-contained app I've been using to install the boot0hfs (embedded in app) and mark a partition as active [CLICK ME].