2

Author Topic: [Tip] Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue  (Read 6472 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

abubin

  • Observer
  • Posts: 14
[Tip] Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« on: February 07, 2010, 01:12:27 PM »
is there a way to fix this problem? I have lenovo s10e with chameleon rc4.

But the graphics is very big. I think the resolution is 640x480. But if I boot using NBI_083F usb key (which is using chameleon bootloader also) the graphics is much nicer with smaller logos.

I tried copying the file : /Extra/Themes/Default/Theme.plist from the NBI_083F usb key and it works once. On subsequent reboot, it goes back to big ugly size again.

Here is the Theme.plist file content:
Code: [Select]
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>Enabled</key>
<string>no</string>
<key>screen_width</key>
<string>1024</string>
<key>screen_height</key>
<string>600</string>
<key>screen_textmargin_h</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>screen_textmargin_v</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>screen_bgcolor</key>
<string>#AAAAAA</string>
<key>background_pos_x</key>
<string>0%</string>
<key>background_pos_y</key>
<string>0</string>
<key>logo_pos_x</key>
<string></string>
<key>logo_pos_y</key>
<string>2%</string>
<key>logo_bgcolor</key>
<string>#AAAAAA</string>
<key>logo_transparency</key>
<string>255</string>
<key>devices_pos_x</key>
<string></string>
<key>devices_pos_y</key>
<string>50%</string>
<key>devices_bgcolor</key>
<string>#AAAAAA</string>
<key>devices_transparency</key>
<string>0</string>
<key>devices_max_visible</key>
<string>5</string>
<key>devices_iconspacing</key>
<string>20</string>
<key>devices_layout</key>
<string>horizontal</string>
<key>bootprompt_pos_x</key>
<string>%50</string>
<key>bootprompt_pos_y</key>
<string>-2</string>
<key>bootprompt_width</key>
<string>50%</string>
<key>bootprompt_height</key>
<string>20</string>
<key>bootprompt_textmargin_h</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>bootprompt_textmargin_v</key>
<string>5</string>
<key>bootprompt_bgcolor</key>
<string>#AAAAAA</string>
<key>bootprompt_transparency</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>infobox_pos_x</key>
<string></string>
<key>infobox_pos_y</key>
<string></string>
<key>infobox_width</key>
<string>650</string>
<key>infobox_height</key>
<string>406</string>
<key>infobox_textmargin_h</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>infobox_textmargin_v</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>infobox_bgcolor</key>
<string>#999999</string>
<key>infobox_transparency</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>menu_pos_x</key>
<string></string>
<key>menu_pos_y</key>
<string>-5%</string>
<key>menu_textmargin_h</key>
<string>10</string>
<key>menu_textmargin_v</key>
<string>5</string>
<key>menu_bgcolor</key>
<string>#999999</string>
<key>menu_transparency</key>
<string>1</string>
<key>progressbar_pos_x</key>
<string></string>
<key>progressbar_pos_y</key>
<string>-30%</string>
<key>progressbar_width</key>
<string>100</string>
<key>progressbar_height</key>
<string>40</string>
<key>countdown_pos_x</key>
<string></string>
<key>countdown_pos_y</key>
<string>-20%</string>
<key>boot_width</key>
<string>1024</string>
<key>boot_height</key>
<string>600</string>
<key>boot_bgcolor</key>
<string>#AAAAAA</string>
</dict>
</plist>

The thing is, why does it work in the NBI_83F usb bootloader but not on my chameleon rc4? is it due to different version of chameleon?

Please help.....thanks

EDIT: This thread ends with a useful tip for Lenovo s10e users therefore, I have moved this post from 'General Discussions' as it's more relevant to here and re-titled it to make this useful post easier to search for in the future. Blackosx
« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 11:20:59 AM by Blackosx »

r0m30

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 98
    • r0m30's OSX86 site
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2010, 01:20:14 AM »
Did you compare the two com.apple.Boot.plist files in /Extra?  The bootloader determines the screen resolution not the theme, try selecting the ‘Video Info’ option from the options menu to see what screen resolutions the bootloader recognizes.
--- r0m30 ---
HP Mini 1033CL (Costco) OSX Retail 10.6 Chameleon-2.0-RC3-r658
HP m9077c -  ASUS IPIBL-LA MoBo with Core 2 Quad Q6600
    Retail 10.6.2 Chameleon-2.0-RC4-r684

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2010, 07:10:15 AM »
You are wrong, the theme resolution can be different from the boot resolution.

Not that the resolution actually changes of course. It's more like a kind of zoom. 
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131

r0m30

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 98
    • r0m30's OSX86 site
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #3 on: February 08, 2010, 09:29:40 AM »
OK, I was unclear, sorry.

In Bloackosx's guide on building themes it says:
Quote
The bootloader will recognise a range of available resolutions from your system and these can be seen by selecting the ‘Video Info’ option from the options menu. Only these resolutions can be used to display the theme at boot.

In the theme.plist there is an option to set the screen width & height, but if this doesn’t match one of the resolutions that the bootloader recognises then it will default to the nearest available size.

If the OP is getting a different resolution using the same theme but a different boot partition something else is forcing a lower screen resolution and the theme is sizing to that lower resolution, hence the suggestion to check com.apple.Boot.plist.  I was thinking perhaps a Graphics Mode key.
--- r0m30 ---
HP Mini 1033CL (Costco) OSX Retail 10.6 Chameleon-2.0-RC3-r658
HP m9077c -  ASUS IPIBL-LA MoBo with Core 2 Quad Q6600
    Retail 10.6.2 Chameleon-2.0-RC4-r684

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #4 on: February 08, 2010, 10:35:27 AM »
The thing is, why does it work in the NBI_83F usb bootloader but not on my chameleon rc4? is it due to different version of chameleon?
Hi abubin

The theme rendering between different versions of Chameleon should be the same. I had a discussion with james341 last year about themes on his lenovo s10e and from that it was determined the native resolution for it is 640x480.  For reference the post is here http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,40.0.html

I don't have the files from the NBI_83F to look at but I would have thought the screen_width / screen_height keys in the theme.plist would need to read:

<key>screen_width</key>
<string>640</string>
<key>screen_height</key>
<string>480</string>

But if you find you can use a different resolution, then just set the above keys/strings to match it.

EDIT: I have just done a quick Google search and seen the max resolution for your machine is 1024x576
« Last Edit: February 08, 2010, 01:30:54 PM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

abubin

  • Observer
  • Posts: 14
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #5 on: February 09, 2010, 06:42:18 AM »
i have changed the the resolution in theme.plist to

<key>screen_width</key>
<string>1024</string>
<key>screen_height</key>
<string>576</string>

And it still doesn't work.


When I look at the video info in chameleon, it only shows 640x480 resolutions. So, I am assuming it can only go 640x480.

But the thing is, the higher resolution works in NBI_83F usb bootloader which is also using chameleon. Under com.apple.Boot.plist it does not show any resolution related key.

Edit:

I tried booting up in NBI_83F usb and it shows as below:
Darwin/x86 boot v5.0.132 - Chameleon v2.0-RC3-nbi r
Build date: 2009-12-20 21:10:54
2038MB memory


And in the video info, I can see the detected resolution as 1024x576 whereas in RC4, I only see the detected resolution as 640x480.
« Last Edit: February 09, 2010, 06:48:23 AM by abubin »

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #6 on: February 09, 2010, 08:27:55 AM »
I tried booting up in NBI_83F usb and it shows as below:
Darwin/x86 boot v5.0.132 - Chameleon v2.0-RC3-nbi r
......

And in the video info, I can see the detected resolution as 1024x576 whereas in RC4, I only see the detected resolution as 640x480.
If you see different resolutions between the NBI_83F bootloader and Chameleon RC4 then that is interesting....

The text 'Chameleon v2.0-RC3-nbi r' indicates that the version of Chameleon on that USB is different to the standard Chameleon v2 RC3. I wonder if something has been modified in the code?
« Last Edit: February 09, 2010, 02:00:26 PM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

r0m30

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 98
    • r0m30's OSX86 site
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2010, 09:41:05 PM »

I tried booting up in NBI_83F usb and it shows as below:
Darwin/x86 boot v5.0.132 - Chameleon v2.0-RC3-nbi r
Build date: 2009-12-20 21:10:54
2038MB memory

Google tells me that NBI_83F is the NetbookInstaller USB booter.  The person who put together the package probably patched Chameleon to get it to recognize the higher resolution available on your Lenovo.

You might want to contact them to ask about Chameleon upgrades, and ask them to submit a patch here to correctly recognize the resolution on Leveno notebooks or file a bug report if something was regressed.

In the interim, you could try replacing the /boot on your laptop with the one from the NBI_83F USB after you make a backup.
--- r0m30 ---
HP Mini 1033CL (Costco) OSX Retail 10.6 Chameleon-2.0-RC3-r658
HP m9077c -  ASUS IPIBL-LA MoBo with Core 2 Quad Q6600
    Retail 10.6.2 Chameleon-2.0-RC4-r684

abubin

  • Observer
  • Posts: 14
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #8 on: February 10, 2010, 02:59:23 AM »
ok, i have contacted the person who did the NBI usb booter. Let's see if he is willing or have time to help out.

I will also try with copying boot file to / folder.

edit:

Okay, I tried copying the boot from this NBI usb into my / folder. The first time I booted, it shows highres gui screen fine.

On the next reboot, gui fail to show. Only text are shown. It doesn't even boot up anymore. Stuck as text screen with below text:
Code: [Select]
{long white bar                }86:27cc] at 00:1d.7
Legacy USB Off Done

This is what happened also when I used the Netbookinstaller 0.8.3 to install chameleon bootloader contained in it.

http://code.google.com/p/netbook-installer/

Then, i fix it back by booting up with NBI usb (which works) and then replace back my boot file from RC4.

The puzzling thing is, why does it work the first time after I replaced boot from NBI? Does booting up modify some files that causes it not to work after that?

Please take a look guys, thanks.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 03:41:27 AM by abubin »

abubin

  • Observer
  • Posts: 14
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #9 on: February 10, 2010, 10:15:54 AM »
I did more tests and here is the latest information on this thing.

After I copy the /boot file from NBI usb into my root in hdd. I said it booted fine in the first time with highres. That is not true.

Actually the highres can be detected even by chameleon rc4. The caveat is this!! If I choose selective boot in my BIOS (F12 during boot) then chameleon will be able to detect 1024x576. If I just let the system boot on it's own then it can only detect 640x480. The reason why I say NBI usb key able to detect highres is because everytime i want to boot using NBI, I uses selective boot. LOL.

Any way to fix this??? Hehe...strange...



EDIT:
Bloody hell..after more tinkering in the BIOS I finally found the solution!!!

In the BIOS for S10, just disable Quick Boot.

lo and behold!! Chameleon can detect 1024x576 each time I boot up!!! YEAH! Now I can try some of the themes by Blackosx....
« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 10:21:43 AM by abubin »

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #10 on: February 10, 2010, 10:24:09 AM »
Actually the highres can be detected even by chameleon rc4.
....
If I choose selective boot in my BIOS (F12 during boot) then chameleon will be able to detect 1024x576.
Thanks for running these tests and narrowing down the issue. And the fact that the original RC4 can also replicate the results is good news.

If I just let the system boot on it's own then it can only detect 640x480. The reason why I say NBI usb key able to detect highres is because everytime i want to boot using NBI, I uses selective boot. LOL.

Any way to fix this??? Hehe...strange...
This is still strange behaviour though and I would like to try this out myself, though I won't be back on my hack for a while. So by default, without pressing F12 and selecting the drive, your default drive is your OS X drive with Chameleon on?

Can you supply the result of diskutil list?

EDIT:
Bloody hell..after more tinkering in the BIOS I finally found the solution!!!

In the BIOS for S10, just disable Quick Boot.

lo and behold!! Chameleon can detect 1024x576 each time I boot up!!! YEAH! Now I can try some of the themes by Blackosx....
Well done for sorting the problem :)
« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 10:57:36 AM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

abubin

  • Observer
  • Posts: 14
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #11 on: February 10, 2010, 10:58:39 AM »
This is still strange behaviour though and I would like to try this out myself, though I won't be back on my hack for a while. So by default, without pressing F12 and selecting the drive, your default drive is your OS X drive with Chameleon on?

Can you supply the result of diskutil list?

Yes, by default if I don't press any key, the OSX will be booted. But in my BIOS, usb keys/hdds are main priority.

Here is my diskutil list:
Code: [Select]
/dev/disk0
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:     FDisk_partition_scheme                        *160.0 GB   disk0
   1:               Windows_NTFS                         26.2 GB    disk0s1
   2:                  Apple_HFS osx                     31.5 GB    disk0s2
   3:               Windows_NTFS data                    102.4 GB   disk0s3


Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Lenovo s10e GUI resolution issue
« Reply #12 on: February 10, 2010, 11:02:47 AM »
Okay great. Thanks for confirming, and have fun resizing and enjoying different themes.
This is also a good note for Lenovo s10e owners.
« Last Edit: February 10, 2010, 11:17:30 AM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB