overdue-scratch

Author Topic: Chameleon vs. MacOS X versions  (Read 3124 times)

Alice

• Entrant
  • Photographer
Chameleon vs. MacOS X versions
« on: February 19, 2010, 12:58:24 PM »
Hello everyone!

I just got into this and while still reading about it, I would like your advice on a simple question: Is there a particular version of Chameleon that's recommended for 10.5.x?

I'm running 10.5.8 on my Macs and I'm very happy with it. For starters, I'm thinking of doing the same for my Hackintosh.

I read that v2RC is under development and I also know that 10.6 is the version that Apple currently ships. Still, I'm puzzled if the latest versions of Chameleon are supposed to work equally between 10.5 and 10.6

May I have your thoughts about this?

Alice

PS: I see that a few other members talk about versions but I'm not sure I understand the discussions completely. I'm just an artist :)

http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,790.0.html
http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,3.0.html

rocksteady

• Global Moderator
  • Root Down
Re: Chameleon vs. MacOS X versions
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2010, 01:05:29 PM »
Hi Alice,

You should be fine with the latest official build RC4 (provided that you give us more info about your hardware). I'm using RC4 to boot both X.5.x & X.6.x on my hack (though that's not meant to guarantee anything).

From each (major) version of MacOS X to the next one, Apple applies a set of changes both above & under the hood of the OS. So far, every major upgrade introduced certain challenges for Hacks (up to the point that merely booting X required some changes to be applied). Chameleon as a bootloader tries to keep up with the latest changes as MacOS X evolves.

Btw the upcoming version (RC5) will bring lots of polishing and changes. I'm not one to advertise "easiness" but depending on your needs you might find it useful to wait till the said version gets released.
Stop bitching, start coding or documenting or both..