overdue-scratch

Author Topic: Having problems with seting default partition and hiding partition  (Read 2915 times)

bigsandman69

• Entrant
 First off, I am a noob so i'm sorry if this is been answered before or it is something simple that i don't know. I am trying to set my default partition to a different OS. I Edited Boot.plist and added

<key>Default Partition</key>
<string>hd(1,1)</string>

At the time I ran diskutil list and this was the number of my win7 disk and partition. When i went to reboot it came up with my usb drive as the default  so i unplugged my usb drive and tried rebooting into x, which it would not had to put in my boot disk and reboot to get back up to x. I decided to do a diskutil list again to see what went wrong. What i noticed is that my 2 os drives had different disk numbers then before. so i removed the Boot.plist changes and rebooted again and again. each time i rebooted into x my x and win7 drives kept changing between 0 to 1 position. 

Am I missing something? p.s. be easy on me i'm a complete noob
ASUS P5Q | Q6600 | 8GB DDR2 | EVGA GTX 260

Blackosx

• Forum Moderator
Re: Having problems with seting default partition and hiding partition
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2010, 03:40:28 PM »
Hi bigsandman69

I had this issue before too, so don't worry about being confused  ;)

This might not be the best way of explaining it but...
It's down to whether you change the boot order of your drives in BIOS as this will determine how OS X shows them to you in Disk Utility. But I think Chameleon will ignore this and identify the drives only one way.

So if hd(1,1) didn't work for you then try swapping the drive numbers, so try hd(0,1).

« Last Edit: March 17, 2010, 04:01:36 PM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

imacken

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2010, 04:31:01 PM »
I think I'm right in saying that OSX always sees the boot drive as 0, and orders the others as per BIOS.