Author Topic: VoodooPowerMini 1.2.5 release edition requires restarting after wake from sleep  (Read 7373 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Hi Superhai

I am currently running 10.6.3 with Cartri's modified BIOS v0.7m for my GA-EP45-DS3L (don't think that makes a difference) and using VoodooMonitor.kext with the VoodooMonitor application to monitor stepping.

VoodooPowerMini v1.2.5 release edition is installed in /S/L/E and works great but after waking from sleep, stepping no longer works until I unload and reload the kext. Is there something I can do to avoid this?

On a side note, with 10.6.3, I have tried running VoodooPowerMini v1.2.5 Debug Edition but it fails to load.

Regards
« Last Edit: April 11, 2010, 12:22:53 AM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

Superhai

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 102
Why doesn't the debug version load? It would be the only way to find out what doesn't work.

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
I have tried using a different 10.6.3 installation on my machine and this time the debug version loads just fine..  So I must have an issue with my other installation, sorry about that  :-[.

So using the other installation, I have taken a screenshot of my kernel.log before and after sleep to show the debug feedback, though there aren't any further message from VoodooPowerMini after wake from sleep.

Then I show a screenshot of the steps I use to unload and reload the kext, followed by another kernel log of the debug feedback.

Hope this gives you something to go on, or if there is more information that I can supply then just let me know.
Thanks
« Last Edit: April 11, 2010, 11:10:22 AM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

Superhai

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 102
Try the beta 3 version found here and see what it reports.

http://superhai.com/beta-darwin.html


Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Hi Superhai

Thanks for the update to test v1.2.7 b4. I have gone through the same process as last time but this time I have attached a zip with the four screenshots. Though the end result is the same with it still needing restarting before it functions again.

But here's the new debug output:

Before Sleep:
Code: [Select]
Apr 28 07:08:50 BlackupSnow3 kernel[0]: Voodoo[0x5B7CAA3E]           event:  405: State: 061A Idle (384/500) P-State 4 Trend Down Fail 0
After sleeping, but then unloading and reloading the kext:
Code: [Select]
Apr 28 07:12:56 BlackupSnow3 kernel[0]: Voodoo[0x5B982A3E]           event:  405: State: 061A Idle (394/500) P-State 4 Trend Down Fail 0
Hope that helps.
Regards

« Last Edit: April 28, 2010, 08:26:00 AM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

Superhai

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 102
Try the download again, i made some changes to the output. (beta 4)

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Thanks for the newer version and sorry about the delay in reporting back (crazy day!)..
But, now this shows some feedback :)

I have attached a list of the debug messages from a 10 minute window in which I enter sleep, wake from sleep, then unload and reload the kext.
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

Superhai

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 102
I have attached a list of the debug messages from a 10 minute window in which I enter sleep, wake from sleep, then unload and reload the kext.

I see. What happens is that after a sleep something is setting your CPU to the high state. But the kext ignores this, as it expects to have full control of the processor. It should catch it when load is above threshold again.But I will add some code which checks these circumstances.

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Good to hear the feedback has helped and I look forward to testing a revised build.
Thanks

EDIT:
It should catch it when load is above threshold again.
Yes, you're right.  I've just tried it and after about 50 seconds, it caught up and started working again.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2010, 10:44:28 PM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

Superhai

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 102
Good to hear the feedback has helped and I look forward to testing a revised build.


1.2.7 is the latest build. If it is not working as it should please make a new bug report.