overdue-scratch

Author Topic: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?  (Read 30870 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Kabyl

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 158
Re: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?
« Reply #30 on: August 26, 2009, 11:51:13 AM »
In Chameleon 1.0.11 ReadPCIBusInfo( &bootInfo->pciInfo ) is called in scanHardware()
I try to add this to Chameleon 2.0-RC2 and it doesn't reboot, it starts without GUI, but when I select to boot Mac OS X it reboots.
Any ideas on this?

You need to check all the changes made in that part of the code.

oldnapalm

  • Member
  • Posts: 45
Re: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?
« Reply #31 on: August 26, 2009, 06:55:35 PM »
You need to check all the changes made in that part of the code.

There are lots of changes in that part of the code, version 1.0.11 doesn't even have the scan_platform() in libsaio.
I see these messages at boot
Code: [Select]
TSC: Reported FSB:    0.0000MHz, corrected FSB:  200.977053MHz
TSC: Verification of clock speed failed. Fallback correction was performed. Please upgrade bootloader.
TSC: Frequency =    3215.632049MHz, FSB frequency =  200.977053MHz, bus ratio = 16
Maybe there's some incompatibility with calculate_freq()?

Kabyl

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 158
Re: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?
« Reply #32 on: August 26, 2009, 08:03:02 PM »
I see these messages at boot
Code: [Select]
TSC: Reported FSB:    0.0000MHz, corrected FSB:  200.977053MHz
TSC: Verification of clock speed failed. Fallback correction was performed. Please upgrade bootloader.
TSC: Frequency =    3215.632049MHz, FSB frequency =  200.977053MHz, bus ratio = 16
Maybe there's some incompatibility with calculate_freq()?

The messages you posted are not from the booter, you're using the voodoo kernel.

Try building the booter with 'make embedtheme DEBUG=DEBUG_FREQ'.


oldnapalm

  • Member
  • Posts: 45
Re: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?
« Reply #33 on: August 26, 2009, 09:30:14 PM »
With embedtheme it reboots even calling ReadPCIBusInfo()

DEBUG_FREQ shows correct values, I think... it's a P4 LGA775 EM64T
CPU Model: 4 - CPU Family: 15 - CPU Ext. Family: 0
CPU Multiplier: max: 16 current: 16
TSC Frequency: 3216MHz
CPU Frequency: 3216MHz
FSB Frequency: 201MHz

Kabyl

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 158
Re: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?
« Reply #34 on: August 26, 2009, 10:58:32 PM »
And why are you calling ReadPCIBusInfo() ?

oldnapalm

  • Member
  • Posts: 45
Re: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?
« Reply #35 on: August 27, 2009, 12:39:02 AM »
And why are you calling ReadPCIBusInfo() ?

Because it's what is done in scanHardware() in version 1.0.11, which works in my computer.
In version 2.0 scanHardware() calls scan_platform() and it reboots my system, so I tought that maybe calling the old ReadPCIBusInfo() would prevent the reboot, and it actually does, but it's not of much help as the GUI is not shown and Mac OS doesn't boot.

ksudeadeye

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 4
Re: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?
« Reply #36 on: September 01, 2009, 03:22:50 AM »
I installed Chameleon 2.0 RC2 in a USB stick, booted it in the same computer, and it works. But from SATA HD, reboot.

I finally got mine to quit rebooting. Had to remove the HDD from the external USB enclosure and plug it into the mobo directly.

Not sure if that means Chameleon doesn't like external USB drives or not, but no matter. Progress is good stuff! :)

Thanks again for the help guys.

oldnapalm

  • Member
  • Posts: 45
Re: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?
« Reply #37 on: September 17, 2009, 02:23:57 AM »
Tested RC3, it doesn't reboot, but hangs at
boot0: done
boot1: /boot

geneg1

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 1
Re: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?
« Reply #38 on: October 02, 2009, 07:18:30 AM »
I was having a very similar problem with a GUID-partitioned drive that worked great with Chameleon 1 but constantly rebooted before getting to the GUI with Chameleon RC1, 2, and 3. Here's how I fixed it:
http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?s=&showtopic=163790&view=findpost&p=1287287

oldnapalm

  • Member
  • Posts: 45
Re: Automatic reboot; Chameleon not loading?
« Reply #39 on: March 26, 2010, 04:52:49 PM »
Just in case there's somebody else with this problem, the bug was fixed by this patch
http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,854.0.html
RC4 is working fine.