overdue-scratch

Author Topic: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE  (Read 14725 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

HNVIJAY

  • Observer
  • Posts: 16
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #15 on: June 11, 2010, 06:30:00 PM »
Thanks Blackosx, really appreciate it.

Any idea why Windows 7 requires its partiton to be active for hibernation?
Here is some information about the Windows Boot process, the location and purpose of the Disk Signature.
How Vista now uses it in the boot process, What happens if the signature has changed.


http://www.multibooters.co.uk/mbr.html

ASUS EeePC 1201N [ BIOS 0326 ] | Intel Atom 330, Dual Core | NVIDIA ION [GeForce 9400M (MCP79)] | 4GB CORSAIR PC2-6400 |500GB HDD  -> | Triple Boot MBR | Chameleon 2.0 RC5 r168 | Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit | SL 10.7.2 X86_64 | Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64 | <-

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #16 on: June 11, 2010, 07:47:11 PM »
Okay. I'll try the hibernation this evening and report back.
Windows 7 hibernates just fine :)
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #17 on: June 12, 2010, 01:09:12 AM »
@HNVJAY,
don't think you're missing something.. think you stumbled on some issue, like i did some time ago. To be sure, we need your partition scheme.
Meanwhile, let me tell to you guys what i stumbled into. So, i've been doing my own mess out of Chameleon (that i hope to share with you guys soon); i needed to test it on MBR scheme, as well as test boot0hfs and also do some remodeling on the HD. At the time i had a setup like this on /dev/disk0:
- win XP (Active, boot), win 7, Ubuntu, Extended(linux swap, hfs+, hfs+)
I went and installed the booter on the first hfs+ partition, using boot0hfs on mbr and was greeted with the blinking cursor...
To cut it shorter, i wiped the HD, created a new partition scheme and did the same procedure:
- ntfs (Active,boot), fat32, fat32, Extended(fat32)
installed win 7 to the ntfs partition, Chameleon on the logical after turning it to hfs+ and there was the blinking cursor again...
So, with linux partitions out of the game i tried boot0 on mbr, marked the partition Active and that gave me "boot error"... i got out of that without being able to load Chameleon installed to Logical partition!
As my intention was to keep only 3 partitions i went on with my life...
Reinstalled boot0hfs to mbr, formatted disk0s3 to hfs+, installed the booter there and marked win 7 active again... bingo, i get boot prompt but zero stuff loaded from the booter partition, no gui, drivers, dsdt and smbios, at least.. can't remember about Boot.plist.
To cut it really short this time, after some more tests i got to the conclusion that it was (is?) reproducible and the cure was formatting the remaining fat32 partition to some other file system (tested hfs & ext4).
No problem with boot0/booter partition Active.
Someone should confirm this stuff, i can't do it right now. This was like a month ago.
The setup on that drive ended up like this:
Code: [Select]
Disk: /dev/rdisk0    geometry: 38913/255/63 [625142448 sectors]
Signature: 0xAA55
         Starting       Ending
 #: id  cyl  hd sec -  cyl  hd sec [     start -       size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
*1: 07    0   1   1 - 1023 254  63 [        63 -  125837082] HPFS/QNX/AUX - win 7
 2: 83 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [ 125837145 -  125837145] Linux files* - Ubuntu
 3: AF 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [ 251674290 -  373463055] HFS+         - data, Chameleon test install
 4: 00    0   0   0 -    0   0   0 [         0 -          0] unused
and i can't change it atm; need to finish some tests first. The hfs+ partition has Chameleon installed, boot0hfs on mbr, every thing works fine.. win 7 does sleep/hibernation, booter is loading other themes, whether theme embedded  or not.
This kind of setup causes no problems at all.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2010, 12:48:21 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

HNVIJAY

  • Observer
  • Posts: 16
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #18 on: June 12, 2010, 08:00:45 PM »
@Blackosx, Thanks for verifying the hibernation on windows.  Looks like my setup is different :(

@HNVJAY,
don't think you're missing something.. think you stumbled on some issue, like i did some time ago. To be sure, we need your partition scheme.
Here is my disk geometry and the partition info.

sudoadmins-Mac:~ sudoadmin$ uname -a
Darwin sudoadmins-Mac.local 10.3.0 Darwin Kernel Version 10.3.0: Fri Feb 26 11:57:13 PST 2010; root:xnu-1504.3.12~1/RELEASE_X86_64 x86_64

fdisk: 1> print
Disk: /dev/rdisk0   geometry: 60801/255/63 [976773168 sectors]
Offset: 0   Signature: 0xAA55
         Starting       Ending
 #: id  cyl  hd sec -  cyl  hd sec [     start -       size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
*1: 07    0   1   1 - 1023 254  63 [        63 -  314565951] HPFS/QNX/AUX
 2: 0B 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [ 314566656 -  104855552] Win95 FAT-32
 3: AF 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [ 419422208 -   62914560] HFS+       
 4: 00    0   0   0 -    0   0   0 [         0 -          0] unused     
fdisk: 1>

Please let me know if you need any other info.
ASUS EeePC 1201N [ BIOS 0326 ] | Intel Atom 330, Dual Core | NVIDIA ION [GeForce 9400M (MCP79)] | 4GB CORSAIR PC2-6400 |500GB HDD  -> | Triple Boot MBR | Chameleon 2.0 RC5 r168 | Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit | SL 10.7.2 X86_64 | Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64 | <-

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #19 on: June 13, 2010, 01:27:14 AM »
There ya go, you must be having the problem i related.. i bet if you move that FAT32 partition to the end of the HD, the problem with the themes will go away.
« Last Edit: June 13, 2010, 01:28:46 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

HNVIJAY

  • Observer
  • Posts: 16
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #20 on: June 13, 2010, 05:39:10 PM »
There ya go, you must be having the problem i related.. i bet if you move that FAT32 partition to the end of the HD, the problem with the themes will go away.

So If I copy all the themes related file and directory /Extra and boot.plist file inside the FAT32 partition, will it work fine?
ASUS EeePC 1201N [ BIOS 0326 ] | Intel Atom 330, Dual Core | NVIDIA ION [GeForce 9400M (MCP79)] | 4GB CORSAIR PC2-6400 |500GB HDD  -> | Triple Boot MBR | Chameleon 2.0 RC5 r168 | Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit | SL 10.7.2 X86_64 | Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64 | <-

HNVIJAY

  • Observer
  • Posts: 16
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 if OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #21 on: June 13, 2010, 08:55:27 PM »
Wow, custom theme works now. :)
All I had to do was to create the directory structure of the theme and the boot.plist file on FAT32 partion to load the custom theme.

Adding the same to NTFS partition does not work.

So, it looks like Chameleon looks for /Extra directories on the FIRST writeable partition/filesystem that it can recognise.
In my case it is FAT32, i.e the second partition.

1) NTFS
2) FAT32
3) HFS+

So what are the writeable partition/Filesystems Chameleon support?
FAT32, HFS+, ..
UFS (?)

Custom theme on the following MBR partition may work by default.

1)NTFS
2)HFS
3)FAT

1)NTFS
2)EXT2FS
3)HFS

1) EXT2FS
2) HFS

Custom theme on the following MBR partiton may require /EXTRA to be installed on the FIRST partition Chameleon can write

1) FAT32
2) HFS

1) NTFS
2) FAT32
3) HFS

1) EXT2FS
2) FAT32
3) HFS

Correct me if am wrong
« Last Edit: June 14, 2010, 05:15:10 AM by HNVIJAY »
ASUS EeePC 1201N [ BIOS 0326 ] | Intel Atom 330, Dual Core | NVIDIA ION [GeForce 9400M (MCP79)] | 4GB CORSAIR PC2-6400 |500GB HDD  -> | Triple Boot MBR | Chameleon 2.0 RC5 r168 | Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit | SL 10.7.2 X86_64 | Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64 | <-

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #22 on: June 14, 2010, 03:07:45 PM »
Well, i didn't meant for you to place the files on the FAT32 partition, it never crossed my mind :P but that just clears the point were i was getting at. The way boot0hfs searches for the hfs partition needs some tweaking. Maybe look for one with a system installed (SystemVersion.plist present)??
The guys tested this stuff but i don't think anyone had a partition layout like this to notice it.
Now you know what you're facing :) and i hope dev's are still reading this.
Still, one thing i find strange.. you only have problems with the themes/Boot.plist? What about kexts?
On my tests nothing loaded, but my system is on another HD... i'm maybe missing some other factor...
« Last Edit: June 14, 2010, 03:33:13 PM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

HNVIJAY

  • Observer
  • Posts: 16
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #23 on: June 14, 2010, 04:03:54 PM »
Well, i didn't meant for you to place the files on the FAT32 partition, it never crossed my mind :P but that just clears the point were i was getting at.
@Azimutz,
I know, you asked me to move the FAT32 partition to the end of the disk. I didnt want to do that because I have the shared data inside that partition(FAT32 is accessible from both the OSes)  and I didnt want to move it without taking backup..
Quote
The way boot0hfs searches for the hfs partition needs some tweaking. Maybe look for one with a system installed (SystemVersion.plist present)??

I loaded boot0 into MBR not boot0hfs.  Does this make difference?
Quote
Still, one thing i find strange.. you only have problems with the themes/Boot.plist? What about kexts?
It is only limited to themes. kexts loads fine.

I am using the RC5 bits from the link you have provided. Does it have the fix for disk labelling?
« Last Edit: June 14, 2010, 05:03:19 PM by HNVIJAY »
ASUS EeePC 1201N [ BIOS 0326 ] | Intel Atom 330, Dual Core | NVIDIA ION [GeForce 9400M (MCP79)] | 4GB CORSAIR PC2-6400 |500GB HDD  -> | Triple Boot MBR | Chameleon 2.0 RC5 r168 | Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit | SL 10.7.2 X86_64 | Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64 | <-

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #24 on: June 14, 2010, 07:23:06 PM »
Hum... let's clear things first with boot0, boot0hfs and Chameleon, to make sure you're using the right file on MBR.
The first boot0 @r0m30 pointed to you is boot0hfs, it's just that at the time the patch had not been committed to the repo (trunk) and the guys were testing with RC4 source, if i'm not mistaken. Then @zef committed the changes to the repo (rev 86) and named the file boot0hfs, for obvious reasons. So, if you checkout Chameleon from the repo since rev 86 and compile it, you will have boot0 and boot0hfs on the binaries folder. They just differ in the way they look for the partition were the booter is installed:
- boot0: looks for the Active partition
- boot0hfs: looks for the first hfs partition it can find (some doubts on the "first" thing)

To answer your questions...
Quote
I loaded boot0 into MBR not boot0hfs.  Does this make difference?
Yep.. using RC5, to keep win 7 partition Active, you need to use boot0hfs.
Quote
I am using the RC5 bits from the link you have provided. Does it have the fix for disk labelling?
If you mean "Rename Partition", yes it's there.

I didn't really meant for you to move the FAT32 partition.. i was just supposing. But talking about this stuff, i got to the conclusion long time ago that, it's not practical to keep "data" partitions between installed systems; i always place them after all systems.
Will, see if i can change that disk layout to test this stuff again... i should have thought about that when i changed it :P
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

HNVIJAY

  • Observer
  • Posts: 16
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #25 on: June 14, 2010, 11:24:22 PM »
Quote
The first boot0 @r0m30 pointed to you is boot0hfs, it's just that at the time the patch had not been committed to the repo (trunk) and the guys were testing with RC4 source, if i'm not mistaken. Then @zef committed the changes to the repo (rev 86) and named the file boot0hfs, for obvious reasons. So, if you checkout Chameleon from the repo since rev 86 and compile it, you will have boot0 and boot0hfs  on the binaries folder. They just differ in the way they look for the partition were the booter is installed:
- boot0: looks for the Active partition
- boot0hfs: looks for the first hfs partition it can find (some doubts on the "first" thing)

Thanks for the clearing things and the detailed explanation of boot0, boot0hfs and the Chameleon.

There is difference in the behaviour with boot0 of @r0m30 and boot0hfs you have provided (RC5 r172).
Here is my observation.

If theme folder and  the Boot.plist file is NOT present inside FAT32,

With boot0(booth0hfs patch) provided by @r0m30,  I get the GUI and the default Chameleon theme,
With boot0hfs of RC5  r172, I get CLI  only.  The size of the Chameleon bundle is 1.25MB, so I am assuming it has embedded theme.

However, I can boot and hibernation works in both the case.

Renaming Partition works fine with RC5 r172 boot0hfs with Theme folders and the Boot.plist file inside FAT32 partition.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2010, 12:24:57 AM by HNVIJAY »
ASUS EeePC 1201N [ BIOS 0326 ] | Intel Atom 330, Dual Core | NVIDIA ION [GeForce 9400M (MCP79)] | 4GB CORSAIR PC2-6400 |500GB HDD  -> | Triple Boot MBR | Chameleon 2.0 RC5 r168 | Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit | SL 10.7.2 X86_64 | Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64 | <-

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #26 on: June 15, 2010, 12:27:28 AM »
Ok.. the embedded theme thing crossed my mind while i was doing the last post and i forgot it. The RC5 i uploaded doesn't have theme embedded and when i tested this stuff didn't had too.
Cooking a build with theme embedded...
There it is, same link as before. Only boot0 boot and cdboot are diff.
The trunk revision is really 168.. 172 is the repo rev; that was a mistake of mine.
I will be able to test this stuff again soon...
« Last Edit: June 15, 2010, 03:41:37 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

HNVIJAY

  • Observer
  • Posts: 16
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #27 on: June 15, 2010, 01:41:49 AM »
The RC5 i uploaded doesn't have theme embedded and when i tested this stuff didn't had too.
Cooking a build with theme embedded...
 Only boot0 and cdboot are diff.

I presume you meant boot and not boot0 as I see the size difference in boot and cdboot. I replaced the boot file with this one.
It now defaults to embedded theme, if /Extra/Themes files are missing inside FAT32 partition :) .
« Last Edit: June 15, 2010, 01:48:56 AM by HNVIJAY »
ASUS EeePC 1201N [ BIOS 0326 ] | Intel Atom 330, Dual Core | NVIDIA ION [GeForce 9400M (MCP79)] | 4GB CORSAIR PC2-6400 |500GB HDD  -> | Triple Boot MBR | Chameleon 2.0 RC5 r168 | Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit | SL 10.7.2 X86_64 | Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64 | <-

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #28 on: June 15, 2010, 04:02:28 AM »
yeah, you're right, i meant boot.. sorry. What i really meant is, you only need to replace boot or cdboot.. i can be complicated from time to time :P
Well, booter with embedded them seems to be a solution, providing that all the other files are loading fine.
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

HNVIJAY

  • Observer
  • Posts: 16
Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
« Reply #29 on: June 15, 2010, 12:40:18 PM »
To summarise,
I had the following issues with the Chameleon.

1) Windows 7 was not able to hibernate if HFS partition is active.
         This issue is fixed in boot0hfs in Chameleon 2.0 RC5. With the fix, Windows 7 retains active flag and hibernation works fine.
2) Custom theme fails to load under certain MBR partition scheme with the boot0hfs fix.
         i.e if the partition is in the order
         1)  NTFS
         2)  FAT32
         3)  HFS+
         This issue needs to be addressed. There is a workaround for this issue by placing /Extra/Themes folder and Boot.plist file inside the FAT32 partition.

Appreciate all the help I got from @r0m30, @Blackosx, @Azimutz,  @zef and all the Chameleon community.
You guys rock!.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2010, 02:42:16 PM by HNVIJAY »
ASUS EeePC 1201N [ BIOS 0326 ] | Intel Atom 330, Dual Core | NVIDIA ION [GeForce 9400M (MCP79)] | 4GB CORSAIR PC2-6400 |500GB HDD  -> | Triple Boot MBR | Chameleon 2.0 RC5 r168 | Windows 7 Home Premium 32bit | SL 10.7.2 X86_64 | Ubuntu 12.04 x86_64 | <-