overdue-scratch

Author Topic: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software  (Read 5501 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

smith@@

  • Member
  • Posts: 49
Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« on: June 23, 2010, 11:11:15 PM »
Hi folks, i've open about one month ago a issue on chameleon repository about the problem in title waiting still an answer but nothing. So I thought to report simply that i wrote there:

The hibernation works amazing on a installation in a single
disk, but the same installation on raid 0 (2 or more disks) loses the possibility to hibernate.
In the last case simply the machine go ALWAYS in sleep, always and thus it not  turns off.
On a single disk the machine turns off and wake kernel is perfect to next
start.

Tested on p5q deluxe, p5q pro, p5k 3 deluxe: always the same problem.

Now, why in raid 0 the hibernation doesn't work, go always in
"simple" sleep and if a fix will there in future?

Thanks

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2010, 08:59:44 AM »
Hi smith@@..

I've seen your posted issue on the svn, but I guess if you haven't had a reply then either:
A) Nobody knows the answer?
B) The voodoo team guys are very busy at the moment with various projects and etc.

If I could answer your question then I would but unfortunately I don''t know enough to be able to help.
Hopefully somebody will pick up your issue soon  :)
« Last Edit: June 24, 2010, 09:01:15 AM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

smith@@

  • Member
  • Posts: 49
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2010, 02:14:26 PM »
Hey Black, i understand, ok, i'll wait a possible fix ;)

Thanks so much for answer...

smith@@

  • Member
  • Posts: 49
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #3 on: July 27, 2010, 02:31:49 AM »
bump

Terc

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 129
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #4 on: July 27, 2010, 03:55:51 AM »
Hmm... no hibernate?  Or do you mean sleep?  I've never seen a hibernate option, but I'm running RAID 10 here (4 disks, two pairs of raid 1 with a RAID 0 over those).

smith@@

  • Member
  • Posts: 49
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #5 on: July 27, 2010, 01:46:14 PM »
Hi thanks for answer.


Hibernation, not sleep. Sleep works always, hibernation lost in raid ;)

Hi Terc
« Last Edit: July 27, 2010, 08:57:28 PM by smith@@ »

zef

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 265
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #6 on: August 02, 2010, 03:47:47 PM »
Hibernation, not sleep. Sleep works always, hibernation lost in raid ;)

In case of Apple soft RAID setup, where the sleepimage goes? The booter can't read the RAID volumes, we can only read data from the raid boot helper fs. This is how the booter extracts the target root UUID and volume label.
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | i5-2500k | 16GB RAM | GTX560 | Keyboard | Mouse | Devilsound DAC

smith@@

  • Member
  • Posts: 49
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #7 on: August 19, 2010, 11:44:17 PM »
Hibernation, not sleep. Sleep works always, hibernation lost in raid ;)

In case of Apple soft RAID setup, where the sleepimage goes? The booter can't read the RAID volumes, we can only read data from the raid boot helper fs. This is how the booter extracts the target root UUID and volume label.

sorry for delay,, i understand, and so? Nothing hibernation on raid software?

Terc

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 129
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #8 on: August 20, 2010, 01:52:09 AM »
On a regular Mac, what handles hibernate?  Is this something in EFI?  I would have assumed that this was handled by the boot helper partition somehow.

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2010, 09:50:04 AM »
hum.. interesting info about Helper partitions and software raid.. hum.. indeed :P

Smith@@,
technically, you can load a sleepimage from the Helper partitions, with WakeImage=<file>.
What i don't know is if this path will be used by the system when hibernating and storing the image?
« Last Edit: August 22, 2010, 09:59:27 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

smith@@

  • Member
  • Posts: 49
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2010, 02:56:04 PM »
hum.. interesting info about Helper partitions and software raid.. hum.. indeed :P

Smith@@,
technically, you can load a sleepimage from the Helper partitions, with WakeImage=<file>.
What i don't know is if this path will be used by the system when hibernating and storing the image?

Thanks, at the moment i haven't raid mounted, but i am (almost) sure that i already felt the hibernation and storing with that flag from that partition and did not work. BTW soon i'll try again, but i don't think that will work.

Ok, thanks ;)

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2010, 02:51:01 PM »
yeah Smith@@,

if it worked Zef would have said something a bit different.
I was a bit "off" on that post; the question was meant to be rhetorical but ended up noob :P anyway, not going to edit it.
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

smith@@

  • Member
  • Posts: 49
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2010, 03:21:17 PM »
Yep ok  :)

terramir

  • Observer
  • Posts: 20
Re: Hibernation lost with raid 0 software
« Reply #13 on: March 07, 2011, 11:16:37 PM »
I got the same problem here, I tried placing the hibernation file on another volume, but guess what that dun work either. gives you a cannot load machkernel error, BTW the machkernel is also copied on the helper partitions by macos so, well gotta deal with sleep or regular boot :(, hibernation still works from single disks just not from the raided volume :(
well that's about all I can say.
terramir