Author Topic: Revisit Chameleon's package builder  (Read 143651 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #15 on: September 06, 2010, 07:43:10 PM »
I like it :)

For installing in EFI and RAID is easy to add the options, but i need to figure out the script needed.
That's good, and I understand it's all about the scripts. Is there anything in the existing trunk/package/scripts that can help you?
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

scrax

  • Member
  • Posts: 61
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #16 on: September 07, 2010, 12:30:41 AM »
I've finished a first script for raid install, now testing

For efi install what are the differences from a normal one?

Normal:
  Suppose that your installation is on /dev/disk0s2
 
   - Install boot0 to the MBR:
         sudo ./fdisk440 -f boot0 -u -y /dev/rdisk0
 
   - Install boot1h to the partition's bootsector:
        sudo dd if=boot1h of=/dev/rdisk0s2
 
   - Install boot to the partition's root directory:
        sudo cp boot /

EFI:
  Suppose that your installation is on /dev/disk0s2

   - Format EFI as HFS+
         sudo diskutil eraseVolume "HFS+" "EFI" /dev/disk0s1


   - Install boot0 to the MBR:
         sudo ./fdisk440 -f boot0 -u -y /dev/rdisk0
 
   - Install boot1h to the partition's bootsector:
        sudo dd if=boot1h of=/dev/rdisk0s1
 
   - Install boot to the partition's root directory:
        sudo cp boot /Volumes/EFI

If this is correct i think it could be done.

EDIT:
Here it is,
Attached ChameleonBaseEFI project to be copied to /chameleon/trunk/package/
EFIpostinstall and EFIformat scripts needed in  /chameleon/trunk/package/Scripts/PackageScripts/
build package for EFI install (only boot0hfs) it doesn't unmount EFI volume and has an option to format it before install


NOTE: I had problem with this installer probably using EFI format option, comsider it a pre alpha

NOT WORKING YET
« Last Edit: September 07, 2010, 09:04:53 PM by scrax »

zef

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 265
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #17 on: September 08, 2010, 12:56:44 PM »
- Format EFI as HFS+
         sudo diskutil eraseVolume "HFS+" "EFI" /dev/disk0s1

Hey scrax! Nice progress :)

We don't need to reformat the EFI system partition to HFS anymore since Chameleon can boot and read from FAT32 filesystems which is the default fs for the EFI system partition. This is the script what you need for installing boot1f32 onto a FAT32 partition:

http://forge.voodooprojects.org/p/chameleon/source/tree/HEAD/trunk/i386/boot1/boot1f32-install.sh
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3 | i5-2500k | 16GB RAM | GTX560 | Keyboard | Mouse | Devilsound DAC

scrax

  • Member
  • Posts: 61
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #18 on: September 08, 2010, 02:13:22 PM »
Perfect, I've never used the EFI partition so this are new info for me. :)
I'll update the package soon with the correct script for EFI


EDIT: i've made the change for EFI and now i'm trying to fix some errors with the RAID install.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2010, 10:01:19 PM by scrax »

scrax

  • Member
  • Posts: 61
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #19 on: September 09, 2010, 03:03:55 AM »
And after few test, here you are the new ChameleonBase.

I've rearranged the needed folder in /trunk/package/ to make it more easy to use, just copy the content of ChameleonBase in package folder.
I've added the Apple license, but i'm not sure if it is the right one, please if someone could check it...

Install Options are still not very clear,
Document can be placed in any location.
Chameleon
-Root
 -boot0 (makes the volume active)
 -boot0hfs
-EFI
 -boot0 (makes the volume active)
 -boot0hfs
-RAID*
 -boot0
 -boot0hfs
-Kext
 -the
 -fives
 -in
 -the
 -repo
Documentation
-BootHelp.txt
-README
-UserGuide
Configurations
-PreferencePanels
-com.apple.Boot.plist (with almost all options)
-smbios.plist (with almost all options)
AppleHDA binpatch
-various
-codec
-binpatch

NOTE ON RAID INSTALL:
Raid install works only with a two disk RAID.
If more than 2 disk are used for the RAID set, installer could work but only two disk of the raid will be bootable.

I'm thinking a way to make the boot0hfs option once so to have:
Chameleon
-ROOT
-EFI
-RAID
-Use boot0hfs

About kext and adding stuff from other projects

I think that essential kext like fakeSMC 2.5 needs to be added.
It's the last "stable" release and is working good and well tested.
Also an all purpose dummy injector like the one from smith could be considered essential and stable.
For lizard maybe we could ask sonotone if he want to use the forge for his project instead of google code.

Another question is:
Is boot0hfs needed with RAID? or are "Boot OSX"volumes always set as active?
« Last Edit: September 09, 2010, 03:25:27 AM by scrax »

scrax

  • Member
  • Posts: 61
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #20 on: September 12, 2010, 07:58:36 PM »
I've managed to have a working installer using make pkg
but only after chmod +x on all the postinstall scripts and buildpkg

attached to the issue I opened on repo the compiled installer to test

link: http://forge.voodooprojects.org/p/chameleon/issues/36/

ErmaC

  • Resident
  • Posts: 134
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #21 on: September 13, 2010, 01:04:09 AM »
Hi all!

Nice scrax!

I have also add the conclusion.rtfd

just add this in the Distribution file

    <welcome file='Welcome.rtfd'/>
    <license file="License.rtf" sla="EA0401"/>
    <readme  file='Description.html'/>
    <conclusion file="Conclusion.rtfd"/>
    <background file='background.tiff' alignment='topleft' scaling='proportional'/>

Fabio
P6T Deluxe v1 i7 940 Quadro Fx 5600
P6T SE i7 920 GeForce GT 240

ErmaC

  • Resident
  • Posts: 134
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #22 on: September 13, 2010, 02:46:21 AM »
And here the latest language collect with the help of the international user
- Hebrew thx to XLR
- Arabic thx to Mohamed Khairy
- Polish thx to janek202
- Russian thx to mozodojo

Not completly "traslated"
some language missed the localization.strings....
Anyway if the official buil will be updated with more options the localizable.strings need an update too... for each language...

And here the scrips from official package "revised" and with some new added

- DropSSDT
- EHCIacquire
- EthernetBuiltIn
- ForceHPET
- ForceWake
- GenerateCStates
- GeneratePStates
- GraphicsEnabler
- GUI
- Legacy Logo
- RestartFix
- UHCIreset
- UseMemDetect
- VBIOS

Fabio
« Last Edit: September 13, 2010, 04:10:31 AM by iFabio »
P6T Deluxe v1 i7 940 Quadro Fx 5600
P6T SE i7 920 GeForce GT 240

scrax

  • Member
  • Posts: 61
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #23 on: September 13, 2010, 03:18:03 AM »
I post here all my package folder for a working and a bit revised make pkg with the options posted by iFabio, all language not yet added BUT only italian has all the strings for now:

« Last Edit: September 13, 2010, 03:23:30 AM by scrax »

ErmaC

  • Resident
  • Posts: 134
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #24 on: September 13, 2010, 04:07:09 AM »
Could be possible to create a unique Option for the bootloader that contain :

-Chameleon Bootloader
-- Standard
----- boot0
----- boot0hfs
-- FAT32
-- EFI
-- RAID

- Option
--1
--2
- Kext
--1
--2
--3

Fabio
« Last Edit: September 13, 2010, 04:12:37 AM by iFabio »
P6T Deluxe v1 i7 940 Quadro Fx 5600
P6T SE i7 920 GeForce GT 240

scrax

  • Member
  • Posts: 61
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #25 on: September 13, 2010, 04:22:13 AM »
I was thinking at something like this:
-Chameleon Bootloader
-- Standard
-- EFI (fat32)
-- EFI (hfs) not needed anymore
-- RAID
-- USE boot0hfs valid for EFI and Standard choices (for RAID not needed I think)

- Option
--1
--2

- Themes
--1
--2

- Kext
--10.5
-----1
-----2
-----3
--10.6
-----1
-----2
-----3

In the one i'm editing I've included the pref panel, fakeSMC and TotallyLegacy
« Last Edit: September 13, 2010, 04:36:00 AM by scrax »

Terc

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 129
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #26 on: September 13, 2010, 06:44:42 AM »
Wait, EFI (hfs) is still needed, isn't it?  For the people that have already formatted their EFI partition to hfs?  I suppose there could just be a simple check that the volume is FAT32 and format if not, but that could leave some angry users if they haven't made backups of their Extra folder.

Maybe I'm missing something, I have been really sick all weekend and I'm certainly NOT at the top of my game right now.

scrax

  • Member
  • Posts: 61
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #27 on: September 13, 2010, 01:38:34 PM »
You are right,
maybe that could be added with also an Extra folder backup on root...

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #28 on: September 16, 2010, 03:42:15 PM »
Hi Scrax & iFabio

It's great to see you haven't rested on this and are still continuing your development :) and well done with resurrecting the official installer, good job scrax. I'll have to find some time soon to try out your latest build - is it the Chameleon_2.0_RC5_r530.pkg.zip which you posted at the Insanely thread?

Also, have any of the Voodoo team tried your latest build? and if so what are their thoughts on it?

EDIT: I've just tried testing by running the r516 package posted above on my G5 to install Chameleon to a USB stick but it stops with an Alert: Chameleon cannot be installed on this computer. I have just checked and seen this was in the original RC1 r431 installer too. So I guess this is a fail-safe to stop installation on Real Macs... Does that happen on real Intel Macs too?
« Last Edit: September 16, 2010, 06:15:15 PM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

ErmaC

  • Resident
  • Posts: 134
Re: Revisit Chameleon's package builder
« Reply #29 on: September 16, 2010, 08:40:58 PM »
Hi Blackosx.

The official installer still a perfect choice because it implement some caracteristic that I can't (no idea how...) implement in the PackageMaker... like javascript for control the choice and localization language...
Yep..
For now a lot of user contribute localizating some language... and until now we just need to fix or rewrite some scripts...
scrax do a exellent job with that!

Fabio
P6T Deluxe v1 i7 940 Quadro Fx 5600
P6T SE i7 920 GeForce GT 240