overdue-scratch

Author Topic: RestartFix=Yes does not work anymore with 10.6.5 Update on RC5 builds?  (Read 5819 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

konsti

  • Member
  • Posts: 32
Hello to all thread members and programmers, I downloaded the 10.6.5 combo update from Apple and installed it.

I rebooted and my legacy kexts for Yukon 88E8056 and Belking USB Bluetooth dongle worked fine (were in /E/E) and of course, as expected, I lost AppleHDA that I manually patched for ALC888 in 4 places.

However...

I have no more SHUTDOWN and REBOOT! I can't do either of these!

I have no SleepEnabler installed at all. Just good ole vanilla CPU power management!

Can anyone help? RestartFix=Yes works no more!

Does Chameleon need to be updated?

My configuration:

Shuttle XPC SG31G2V2 barebone with ICH7 chipset
Intel Q9550 at 2.83GHz / 4GB RAM at 800MHz
NVidia GeForce 8400GS PCIe with 512 MB
Chameleon RC5 build 619 with P-States and C-States generated
My own patched DSDT for basic fixes
RestartFix=Yes and SMBIOSdefaults=Yes


Thank you. Any help will be appreciated.
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 10:59:22 PM by konsti »

leader86

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 7
Re: RestartFix=Yes does not work anymore with 10.6.5 Update on RC5 builds
« Reply #1 on: November 11, 2010, 08:57:04 PM »
No issues here with Gigabyte P35C-DS3R and Q9450 after 10.6.5 update. "RestartFix=Yes" still works with Chameleon 2 RC5 build 631.

konsti

  • Member
  • Posts: 32
Re: RestartFix=Yes does not work anymore with 10.6.5 Update on RC5 builds?
« Reply #2 on: November 11, 2010, 11:08:40 PM »
OK here is the update: I reset CMOS on my barebone and re-entered the appropriate settings (i.e. IDE disabled, S3 wake/resume NO, no overclocking etc). My board has ICH7 chipset, no there's no AHCI setting at all. The only thing I don't remember to have set in the past is the C1E setting for the processor. I set it to "Enable" and upon restart, it seems now the mobo is working as before. I guess such a reset was needed.

I therefore assume this is "case closed" unless someone else has a similar problem. My advice: reset CMOS and check your settings. Make sure all appropriate kexts are loaded, use this Terminal script that I created:

Code: [Select]
# Check loaded kexts!
clear

echo "********** FakeSMC & plugins loaded:"
kextstat | grep -i fakesmc
kextstat | grep -i intelthermal
kextstat | grep -i super

echo
echo "********** Apple SMC/LPC/HPET/SMBIOS loaded:"
kextstat | grep -i applesmc
kextstat | grep -i applelpc
kextstat | grep -i applehpet
kextstat | grep -i smbios

echo
echo "********** Apple ACPI/UHCI/EHCI loaded:"
kextstat | grep -i appleacpi
kextstat | grep -i uhci
kextstat | grep -i ehci

echo
echo "********** Processor CST/PST loaded:"
ioreg -lw0 | grep -i CSTInfo
ioreg -lw0 | grep -i PStates

echo
echo "********** System Type declared:"
ioreg -lw0 | grep system-type

echo
echo "********** CPU/Bus frequency:"
sysctl -a | grep -i cpufreq
echo
sysctl -a | grep -i busfreq

My output is:

Quote
********** FakeSMC & plugins loaded:
   11    4 0xffffff7f8065b000 0x5000     0x5000     org.netkas.FakeSMC (1.0.0d1) <8 7 5 4 3>
   12    0 0xffffff7f80660000 0x3000     0x3000     org.mozodojo.IntelThermal (1.0.0d1) <11 7 5 4 3>
   14    1 0xffffff7f80675000 0x3000     0x3000     org.mozodojo.SuperIOFamily (1.0.0d1) <11 7 5 4 3>

********** Apple SMC/LPC/HPET/SMBIOS loaded:
   71    2 0xffffff7f809cd000 0xb000     0xb000     com.apple.driver.AppleSMC (3.1.0d3) <8 7 5 4 3>
   69    0 0xffffff7f809be000 0x3000     0x3000     com.apple.driver.AppleLPC (1.4.12) <9 5 4 3>
   26    0 0xffffff7f806e6000 0x3000     0x3000     com.apple.driver.AppleHPET (1.5) <8 7 5 4 3>
   25    0 0xffffff7f806e2000 0x4000     0x4000     com.apple.driver.AppleSMBIOS (1.6) <7 4 3>

********** Apple ACPI/UHCI/EHCI loaded:
   10    1 0xffffff7f80616000 0x45000    0x45000    com.apple.driver.AppleACPIPlatform (1.3.5) <9 8 7 6 5 4 3>
   29    0 0xffffff7f80732000 0x4000     0x4000     com.apple.driver.AppleACPIButtons (1.3.5) <28 10 8 7 6 5 4 3 1>
   32    0 0xffffff7f80771000 0x10000    0x10000    com.apple.driver.AppleUSBUHCI (4.1.5) <31 9 7 5 4 3 1>
   37    0 0xffffff7f807a4000 0x16000    0x16000    com.apple.driver.AppleUSBEHCI (4.1.7) <31 9 7 5 4 3 1>

********** Processor CST/PST loaded:
    | |   |     "CSTInfo" = 19136773

********** System Type declared:
    |   "system-type" = <03>

********** CPU/Bus frequency:
hw.cpufrequency = 2830000000
hw.cpufrequency: 2830000000
hw.cpufrequency_min: 2830000000
hw.cpufrequency_max: 2830000000

hw.busfrequency = 1332000000
hw.busfrequency: 1332000000
hw.busfrequency_min: 1332000000
hw.busfrequency_max: 1332000000
It appears that all needed system kexts are loaded.

EDIT:
Of course, RestartFix=Yes still remains in com.apple.Boot.plist!
« Last Edit: November 11, 2010, 11:25:05 PM by konsti »

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: RestartFix=Yes does not work anymore with 10.6.5 Update on RC5 builds?
« Reply #3 on: November 12, 2010, 02:21:24 AM »
RestartFix=yes is the default setting, you only need to use this flag if you want to disable the restart fix with RestartFix=no.

I have a similar problem after updating to 10.6.5, I can restart but not shut down.

Will try a CMOS reset.
« Last Edit: November 12, 2010, 02:24:00 AM by Gringo Vermelho »
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131

valv

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 72
    • The AnVAL Forum (fr)
Re: RestartFix=Yes does not work anymore with 10.6.5 Update on RC5 builds?
« Reply #4 on: November 12, 2010, 11:29:34 AM »
Simply move the new appleHDA kext else where, and then put your patched one into /S/L/E (if u did not do so);
Rebuild caches, and then shutdown (hard reset).
That's it. for me it solved everything altogether. hope this helps.
Greetz

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: RestartFix=Yes does not work anymore with 10.6.5 Update on RC5 builds?
« Reply #5 on: November 13, 2010, 05:57:20 AM »
First thing I did after updating was hex-patching the new AppleHDA to get AD2000B sound working again.

Snow Leopard rebuilds the extensions cache by itself when you chown+chmod /S/L/E after modifying something.

Anyway shutdown works now but it takes a bit longer to shut down than it used to.

Thanks.
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131

valv

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 72
    • The AnVAL Forum (fr)
Re: RestartFix=Yes does not work anymore with 10.6.5 Update on RC5 builds?
« Reply #6 on: November 14, 2010, 01:32:56 PM »
Snow Leopard rebuilds the extensions cache by itself when you chown+chmod /S/L/E after modifying something.
not always true

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: RestartFix=Yes does not work anymore with 10.6.5 Update on RC5 builds?
« Reply #7 on: November 14, 2010, 11:42:29 PM »
No? I guess I might have had that exact issue then.

So...when is it true and when isn't it true?

/EDIT

Thanks Azi.
« Last Edit: November 15, 2010, 05:21:20 AM by Gringo Vermelho »
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: RestartFix=Yes does not work anymore with 10.6.5 Update on RC5 builds?
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2010, 02:08:36 AM »
To be really sure, do a
Code: [Select]
sudo touch /System/Library/Extensionsafter the work is done; it's the correct way to invoke "update system kext caches" (man kextcache); if the process doesn't start immediately, it will at shutdown/reboot.

Nothing to add for now on the topic theme side, at least booting i386 -legacy; waiting for sources to check 64 bit...
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: RestartFix=Yes does not work anymore with 10.6.5 Update on RC5 builds?
« Reply #9 on: November 22, 2010, 10:41:23 AM »
Gringo, saw you thanks... thank you :)

About the topic nothing to report also on 64 bit.
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT