Author Topic: Boot screen  (Read 7687 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: Boot screen
« Reply #15 on: November 24, 2010, 04:06:09 PM »
Ok Crabhunter... i felt that there was some misunderstanding here, but i'm in a low patience phase lately and... well, sorry for that too. I need a vacation from the scene, before i loose it for good! :P
Anyway, going to the point... you made a request and i gave my opinion. That's all i can do...

Well talk later here ;)
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

bruck

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 1
Re: Boot screen
« Reply #16 on: November 17, 2011, 09:41:32 PM »
I agree with this original request.  First of all because most of the gorgeous themes don't really make sense unless there are more than 1 choice to make - and secondly because a "default" partition should have a timeout. Imagine you're working remotely on your machine and need to reboot it - now you can't use instant menu or your machine will not complete the reboot without manual interaction. I see no reason why these options have to purposefully be kept as mutually exclusive.

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: Boot screen
« Reply #17 on: November 17, 2011, 09:51:50 PM »
It has already been established in this thread that the default partition has a timeout, unless you have set Instant menu=y.

Your remote control argument does not apply to this situation because even if it was showing all your drives with a timeout under the default drive, you still would not be able to control Chameleon remotely.

If you're working on your Hackintosh remotely, you can edit your org.Chameleon.boot.plist before rebooting if you want it to boot another partition on next reboot.

If you want to switch between Windows and OS X remotely, you must have Chameleon installed on a partition that is accessible from Windows so that you can modify the boot.plist from there when you want to boot OS X. A script or small app could be handy for this purpose, most likely it already exists out there somewhere.
« Last Edit: November 17, 2011, 10:02:16 PM by Gringo Vermelho »
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131

Methanoid

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: Boot screen
« Reply #18 on: April 05, 2013, 01:14:35 PM »
It has already been established in this thread that the default partition has a timeout, unless you have set Instant menu=y.

Your remote control argument does not apply to this situation because even if it was showing all your drives with a timeout under the default drive, you still would not be able to control Chameleon remotely.

If you're working on your Hackintosh remotely, you can edit your org.Chameleon.boot.plist before rebooting if you want it to boot another partition on next reboot.

If you want to switch between Windows and OS X remotely, you must have Chameleon installed on a partition that is accessible from Windows so that you can modify the boot.plist from there when you want to boot OS X. A script or small app could be handy for this purpose, most likely it already exists out there somewhere.

Don't understand what is meant by the remote control but like Crabhunter, I too would like to see ALL my partitions (unless actively hidden) AND to have a countdown before it boots the default partition.

It strikes me as rather strange that it has to be one or the other and not able to be both!!

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: Boot screen
« Reply #19 on: December 31, 2013, 12:53:46 AM »
Don't understand what is meant by the remote control

I was replying to this:

Imagine you're working remotely on your machine and need to reboot it - now you can't use instant menu or your machine will not complete the reboot without manual interaction.

If you're working remotely on your machine you will not be able to do anything until the operating system is done booting. You will not be able to control Chameleon remotely. So if you're logged in remotely, it doesn't matter how many partitions are visible during the countdown because you won't be able to see them anyway.
« Last Edit: December 31, 2013, 01:04:13 AM by Gringo Vermelho »
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131