Author Topic: OS X & XP on two separate HDs  (Read 4242 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

spoli

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 2
OS X & XP on two separate HDs
« on: April 16, 2009, 12:04:35 PM »
Hi Guys, how can i edit the configs of Chameleon Bootloader.
I installed the RC1 installer, the bootmenue shows me OS X (GUID) and XP (MBR) (on different HDs).
But when i try to boot xp, it comes a blinking cursor. ???

Before i installed the new Chameleon, i must change the boot Priority in the bios (F12) GA-P35-DS3.

Where can i set the disk like /dev/rdisk ?  ??? Can Chameleon only boots XP if its on the same disk? ???

Thanks for reply

Spo

DooV

  • Member
  • Posts: 34
Re: Boot XP from another Harddrive
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2009, 04:49:34 AM »
Can Chameleon only boots XP if its on the

You are right. Right now the only solution might be creating a hfs+ partition before your windows partition in your windows disk, and install chameleon there. That way you could run Chameleon from that disk and boot both windows and os x.

jaxparo

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 6
OS X & XP on two separate HDs
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2009, 10:50:13 AM »
I have a 10.5.6 on a 250GB SATA HD and XP SP3 on a 10GB ATA HD on the optical bus. Both are new installations onto single partitions, HFS+ and NTFS. I've been disconnecting cables and only using one drive at a time to avoid boot conflicts. If I were to use Chameleon, how would this work? Do I need to install Chameleon onto both HDs? Does this mean I need and HFS+ partition on the XP NTFS HD? How big (how small)?

I'm a Mac person, I know little about PCs or Windows. Do I need backups of the Master Boot Record partition for these HDs? How do I do that? I'm a little scared to try Chameleon because last time I tried a multi-boot hackintosh, I lost everything and had to start over, a lot of work. Right now, both OS X and XP work perfectly, or nearly so. Chameleon would be really nice if I could get it working without killing what I've got.


Hardware Specifications:
GA-M61SME-S2   NVIDIA┬« GeForce 6100 / nForce 405
AMD Athlon 2.4GHz Duo-Core w/4GB RAM
Install Disc: XxX 10.5.6 FINAL
Audio: Realtek ALC883, use OLD ALC88x>alc883 3ports (by Skippy)
SATA & IDE: AppleNForceATA TEST (IDE optical set to MASTER (SLAVE & CS didn't work)
Ethernet: FORCEDETH>Force4ethernet
Kernel: VoodooXNU 9.5.0 RC
Video: PCIe nVidia 7300GT 512MB with patched ROM from http://nvinject.free.fr/ using NVDarwin 512MB kext. NVinject.kext & NVKush.kext DID NOT work) Full QE/CI support. Sleep not working; NOT using onboard video, disabled in BIOS.

rzooff

  • Member
  • Posts: 59
Re: OS X & XP on two separate HDs
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2009, 01:11:15 PM »
I've been disconnecting cables and only using one drive at a time to avoid boot conflicts.
There is no boot conflict if You have two separate HDD. You can choose witch is default in bios settings, or press F12 (or F8 depends of mobo) to change boot device during bios start up.

On my computer - I also have Leo & Vista on separate disks - Chameleon works without problems.
But You have to remeber that Chameleon 2 i not final release jet. There are stil same problems including XP booting - there is a solution on forum.

If I were to use Chameleon, how would this work? Do I need to install Chameleon onto both HDs?
Install it on MacOS disk only, and ensure that it is defauld boot device (bios setings).

& sorry for my english ;)
MacOS X 10.6.1 (Retail)  + Chameleon 2 | ASUS P5B-V | C2D E4600 | GF 8400GS | Asus WL-138g v2
MacOS X 10 10.5.8 (Retail) + Chameleon 2 | Toshiba L40-R17 |

TequilaKez

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 2
Re: OS X & XP on two separate HDs
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2009, 02:37:37 AM »
I've been using bios to select between xp and osx but the process takes forever as my mobo seemingly takes along time to get going and there is no quick boot selector.

So I've been trying to use chameleon 2.0RC1 with a similar setup... XP on ATA osx on SATA. All drives are detected but when I select XP, it just hangs at a black screen with flashing cursor.

Quote
There are stil same problems including XP booting - there is a solution on forum.

Where is the solution? I can see lot's of questions and no answers.


rzooff

  • Member
  • Posts: 59
MacOS X 10.6.1 (Retail)  + Chameleon 2 | ASUS P5B-V | C2D E4600 | GF 8400GS | Asus WL-138g v2
MacOS X 10 10.5.8 (Retail) + Chameleon 2 | Toshiba L40-R17 |