overdue-scratch

Author Topic: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID  (Read 18524 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

r2d2leboss

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« on: December 08, 2010, 10:30:34 PM »
Hi all
Could anyone explain the numbering of the device ID in the chameleon source : for example 0x10DE0404 (8400GS in nvidia.c) ?
Because my Twintech GeForce 8400 GS is not fully recognize, only vram.  (GraphicsEnabler = Yes)

So, if I add in nvidia.c (chameleon)
Code: [Select]
{ 0x10DE10C3, "My GeForce 8400 GS" }, will it solve my problem ? Thanks for your help !

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2010, 06:44:50 PM »
Hi r2d2leboss

I'm not sure if your PID of 10C3 is correct as looking at the Chameleon's nvidia.c (as you have), we can clearly see the 8400 GS matches against five separate PID's and none of them match yours. But also I've just downloaded an Nvidia FreeBSD driver for the 8400GS and in the supported list it matches four PID's against the 8400 GS but again no mention of 10C3. (Chameleon has an extra one for 0642 which is not in Nvidia's list?).

So you could add 10C3 to Chameleon's nvidia.c and maybe your card will work, but I think maybe your video cards' PID is being altered by a Method _DSM in your DSDT?  You could examine your DSDT to find out, or you could check the PID of your video card after a cold boot if your BIOS displays the info on the screen? or maybe even boot in to Windows or Linux to double check it there?
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

r2d2leboss

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2010, 01:33:57 AM »
Thank you for your answer.
Ubuntu Live CD give me with "lspci -n": 10de:10c3 and my card works fully (good resolution : 1920x1200)
So, I will try to add this new device ID in chameleon file and compile.

Moreover, I found this one : http://www.mac-inul.com/viewtopic.php?p=24874
I don't understand, but this person have the same device ID.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 01:42:28 AM by r2d2leboss »

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #3 on: December 12, 2010, 09:09:32 AM »
Well done for double checking. If you have success with your video by adding 0x10DE10CE to nvidia.c then please report back and I'll mark it for adding to the trunk.
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

r2d2leboss

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #4 on: December 12, 2010, 12:50:21 PM »
Now, I have GeForce 8400 GS and no "Unknow"
With "Graphics Mode"="1920x1200x32", I have good resolution, but I always have Unknown Monitor, no QE, and no CI, no DVI, no HDMI. Moreover, in Monitor panel, I have a 1600x1200 resolution.

Thanks
« Last Edit: December 12, 2010, 01:45:18 PM by r2d2leboss »

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #5 on: December 12, 2010, 07:03:46 PM »
So it didn't work? In which case I guess more is needed for your card than just adding the deviceID.

I've always been lucky in that I can use GraphicsEnabler, but in your case have you tried using a device (EFI) string in your /Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist?
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

r2d2leboss

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #6 on: December 14, 2010, 07:31:21 PM »
No, it didn't work.
I would like to add that I use RAID 1 which works without problem.

With EFI String (With OSX86 Tools), GeForce 8400 GS => OK, but no QE,CI  -  Safari Freeze
With custom EFI String (With OSX86 Tools), nVidia GeForce 8400 GS => OK, but no QE,CI  -  Safari Freeze

My card have reference here : http://pci-ids.ucw.cz/read/PC/10de
« Last Edit: December 18, 2010, 01:46:35 PM by r2d2leboss »

r2d2leboss

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #7 on: December 19, 2010, 03:14:28 PM »
I found the solution !
Edit NVDANV50Hal.kext and in IOPCIPrimaryMatch key, add device id 0x10c310de
Moreover edit nvidia.c and add { 0x10DE10C3, "GeForce 8400 GS" }
It works fully : HDMI, DVI, VGA, QE, CI, Resolution in Pref panel ...
And there is an audio chip in this video card for HDMI.
Price : 22€ :D
Thanks !
« Last Edit: December 19, 2010, 03:42:44 PM by r2d2leboss »

valv

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 72
    • The AnVAL Forum (fr)
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #8 on: December 19, 2010, 07:45:33 PM »
happy for you that it did work this way.
Am adding the device-id into my branch.

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2010, 08:35:59 AM »
I found the solution !
Well done with your research r2d2leboss. :)
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

petoeah

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #10 on: December 20, 2010, 12:14:47 PM »
sorry for this question...
where can i find nvidia.c ?

i've been struggling to make my gigabyte 8400 gs works with correct resolution.. right now i cant change resolution.. its stuck at 1024x768
10.6.5 Intel DG31PR C2D 27200 4GB 9400GT (2 monitors)
10.6.5 Intel DG41RQ QC 8300 3GB 8400GS

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #12 on: December 20, 2010, 06:53:14 PM »
i've been struggling to make my gigabyte 8400 gs works with correct resolution.. right now i cant change resolution.. its stuck at 1024x768
You fix that by adding your card's device ID to some Nvidia driver files and using a proper injection method...not by editing the Chameleon source code.
Google 'Guide For All Nvidia Boards' to read about how to do that, and set GraphicsEnabler=y in your /Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist. Refer to the Chameleon documentation for more information.
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131

petoeah

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2010, 06:56:26 AM »
thank you for help.. now i can change resolutions..but i think if connected to DVI not VGA... actually iam ok with that because no 2nd display i intend to use.. but there something still i dont satisfied about.. my Gigabyte 8400GS is 512MB but in About This Mac shown like this...

Unknown nVidia card:

  Chipset Model:   Unknown nVidia card
  Type:   GPU
  Bus:   PCIe
  Slot:   Slot-1
  PCIe Lane Width:   x16
  VRAM (Total):   128 MB
  Vendor:   NVIDIA (0x10de)
  Device ID:   0x10c3
  Revision ID:   0x00a2
  ROM Revision:   70.18.4F.00.0F

is it VRAM value above just the same as Chipset Model ?? or my SL just used that 128 MB

please help me again.. and thank you

my system :
MB = Intel DG41RQ
install using tonymacx86 universal iboot + retail SL... updated to 10.6.5 via apple (software update) + multibeast 2.6 with easybeast
onboard vga working but stuck at 1024x768 and then i bought Gigabyte 8400GS which lead me to this forum..
« Last Edit: December 21, 2010, 09:56:22 AM by petoeah »
10.6.5 Intel DG31PR C2D 27200 4GB 9400GT (2 monitors)
10.6.5 Intel DG41RQ QC 8300 3GB 8400GS

petoeah

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: Nvidia Geforce 8400 GS and Device ID
« Reply #14 on: January 08, 2011, 07:10:18 AM »
suddently ( i dont knwo why) my 8400 GS has no QE/CI... i tried many times the installation as i did before.. but still no QE/CI

please help me
10.6.5 Intel DG31PR C2D 27200 4GB 9400GT (2 monitors)
10.6.5 Intel DG41RQ QC 8300 3GB 8400GS