Author Topic: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!  (Read 224779 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

AniV

  • Observer
  • Posts: 18
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #30 on: July 21, 2011, 01:48:59 AM »
Hi Azi, First off, thank you for your precious voluntary work to the mac-hacker community.

1. Could you please add the card: 'ATI Mobility Radeon 4330 Series'
   PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9552&SUBSYS_04341028&REV_00
If possible with 'kShrike', eg:
   { 0x9552, 0x04341028, CHIP_FAMILY_RV710,"ATI Radeon 4300 Mobility Series", kShrike },

2. It works, but wasn't easy. At this first, i couldn't skip the 'black lcd screen' plague...
Here's is 'my' simple fix in file: "ati.c"
Code: [Select]
bool init_card(pci_dt_t *pci_dev)
{ ...
card->cfg_name = getStringForKey(kAtiConfig, &bootInfo->chameleonConfig);
if (!card->cfg_name)
{
card->cfg_name = card_configs[card->info->cfg_name].name;
card->ports = card_configs[card->info->cfg_name].ports;
}
else
{
for (i = 0; i < kCfgEnd; i++)
if (strcmp(card->cfg_name, card_configs[i].name) == 0)
card->ports = card_configs[i].ports;
}

//AniV: 20Jul11 -------------->
//KISS: just add a full line for my exception! Ugly code stuff, but.. works.
// A flag somewhere would be more convenient …
if (pci_dev->device_id==0x9552 && pci_dev->subsys_id.subsys_id == 0x04341028 ) card->ports = 2;
//<--------------
sprintf(name, "ATY,%s", card->cfg_name);
...
}
A little bit of explanation: my laptop (Dell 1564) only uses a maximum of 2 ports at the same time.
Using the Shrike's 3 ports would lead to serious mixing-up of ports that apparently upsets the OS.

I gather, people with Mobility cards will have similar problems. Hope this may help somebody out there.

I have tested with Snow (10.6.7) and Lion GM (10.7). All 3 ports: LVDS, VGA and HDMI appear to work just fine.
Did not test HDMI's sound yet. I need an extra sound driver. Oh well...

Thanks and cheers,
AniV

P.S. I've tested this with booter revision r1164, i guess is rather recent.



"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans". .

pkmvancouver

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 1
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #31 on: July 21, 2011, 05:28:22 PM »
I was in that other busy forum, but now following this thread for this discussion. Nort sure if you got around to add this device or it is on your long list of stuff to add.

Radeon HD 6310, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9802&SUBSYS_9082104D&REV_00

now x.org calls the framebuffer 'PALM' but the GPU is referred to as 'Wrestler'.

thanks




I managed to dump the Radeon HD 6310 IGP on the AMD E-350 APU video bios from my Sony Vaio YB, not sure if it will help.


ATOM BIOS Rom:
SubsystemVendorID: 0x1002 SubsystemID: 0x9802
IOBaseAddress: 0x3000
Filename: BR39114.bin
BIOS Bootup Message:
Sony Tucana Ontario VBIOS

PCI ID: 1002:9802
Connector at index 0
Type [@offset 45562]: LVDS (7)
Encoder [@offset 45566]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)
i2cid [@offset 45648]: 0x90, OSX senseid: 0x1
Connector at index 1
Type [@offset 45574]: HDMI-A (11)
Encoder [@offset 45578]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY (0x1e)
i2cid [@offset 45683]: 0x91, OSX senseid: 0x2
Connector at index 2
Type [@offset 45586]: VGA (1)
Encoder [@offset 45590]: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1 (0x15)
i2cid [@offset 45710]: 0x97, OSX senseid: 0x8

video bios image attached..hope it helps


Mod notes: device not supported by Apple's drivers ootb.

Motive for edit: merge posts, add info.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2011, 07:23:06 PM by Azimutz »

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #32 on: July 23, 2011, 01:16:21 AM »
Hi guys... sorry about the delay, but i've been without network in the last couple of days.
Need some time to get back on top :)
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

akbar102

  • Observer
  • Posts: 20
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #33 on: July 23, 2011, 07:08:05 AM »
hi azimutz
i am post my bdmesg in previous post after using your ne package can you see it.
thanks

dickhouse

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #34 on: July 23, 2011, 11:09:04 AM »
Master of coding please add my dev id in the trunk. Asus K42JZ

AMD Radeon HD 6470M Series, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6760&SUBSYS_1CB21043&REV_00

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #35 on: July 24, 2011, 01:02:46 AM »
hi azimutz
i am post my bdmesg in previous post after using your ne package can you see it.
thanks
Well Akbar, i don't see anything on the code that can mess with AtiConfig!? The memory size is also at 0.
I updated the package on post #1 to match the trunk and changed your 29 to 28; try it again and
remove the rom you are using from Extra.. you don't need it.
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

akbar102

  • Observer
  • Posts: 20
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #36 on: July 24, 2011, 10:41:40 AM »
hi azimuth thanks for your replay
i think i must use ATY_Init permanently but i am ok with it .
anyway thanks for your help and you work

akbar102

  • Observer
  • Posts: 20
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #37 on: July 24, 2011, 04:51:08 PM »
hi azimutz
i am read the post and try to use deferent personality but nothing change and some result

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #38 on: July 24, 2011, 09:00:04 PM »
hi azimutz
i am read the post and try to use deferent personality but nothing change and some result
Never mind, that was a long shot... i should have gave it more "brain" time.
The point on your case is that the old code seems to work better; i still haven't found out why?!
I can only think of some ioreg property difference; we can only check that by comparison and testing so,
if you gave up on the GE patcher, i wont be able to test it; that's your choice :)
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #39 on: July 24, 2011, 10:15:33 PM »
Ok, still trying to catch up with stuff, after the network down time...

My graphics card works OK with the modification you made.
Thanks !
Ok, thanks for the feedback :)

Can you add the following graphics card if possible? TIA  :) :  AMD Radeon HD 6250 Graphics PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9804&SUBSYS_05981025&REV_00
Hi Aaron007; i could add it for testing, but i doubt you'll get it working?!
The dev id 9804 doesn't show on any Apple driver; in fact, there's no dev id started by 98.
This means that you'll have to bin patch the driver to add your device, and i don't know how to do it on X2000 and
X3000 kexts. They show up tons of occurrences and i don't know which ones to replace..??
If you find the solution for that, i'll be happy to add the card to the code.

I was in that other busy forum, but now following this thread for this discussion. Not sure if you got around to add this device or it is on your long list of stuff to add.

Radeon HD 6310, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9802&SUBSYS_9082104D&REV_00...
Pkmvancouver, same as above :( don't know how to help you guys with GraphicsEnabler...
maybe you'll have better luck with Netkas patches..?!

Hi Azi, First off, thank you for your precious voluntary work to the mac-hacker community.

1. Could you please add the card: 'ATI Mobility Radeon 4330 Series'
   PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9552&SUBSYS_04341028&REV_00
If possible with 'kShrike', eg:
   { 0x9552, 0x04341028, CHIP_FAMILY_RV710,"ATI Radeon 4300 Mobility Series", kShrike },

2. It works, but wasn't easy. At this first, i couldn't skip the 'black lcd screen' plague...
Here's is 'my' simple fix in file: "ati.c"...
...
A little bit of explanation: my laptop (Dell 1564) only uses a maximum of 2 ports at the same time.
Using the Shrike's 3 ports would lead to serious mixing-up of ports that apparently upsets the OS.

I gather, people with Mobility cards will have similar problems. Hope this may help somebody out there.

I have tested with Snow (10.6.7) and Lion GM (10.7). All 3 ports: LVDS, VGA and HDMI appear to work just fine.
Did not test HDMI's sound yet. I need an extra sound driver. Oh well...

Thanks and cheers,
AniV

P.S. I've tested this with booter revision r1164, i guess is rather recent.
Hi AniV, thanks for your thanks ;D and thanks for the info; you just helped me remember a detail i was missing;
i run across the nr of ports problem my self a while ago, but ended up forgetting about it, with all the jumping around;
that can be Akbar's problem?!
Sure, i'll add the card info; about the rest of the code, we need a better solution; maybe a key for nr of ports??
i'll probably add it too just so i don't forget :P
What's the true model of the card?.. ATI Mobility Radeon 4330 Series..?
Also, the 9525 chipset is M92 and not RV710 like it's on the code; not really important atm but i think
we can use that in our favor with the nr of ports stuff; it's another way of creating sub-groups of cards that
need "special attention"... just came to my mind :)

Master of coding please add my dev id in the trunk. Asus K42JZ

AMD Radeon HD 6470M Series, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6760&SUBSYS_1CB21043&REV_00
Dickhouse, the master :P will add your card; dev id is present on ATIRadeonX3000 :)

Will post when it's done... bbl.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2011, 01:31:18 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

AniV

  • Observer
  • Posts: 18
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #40 on: July 25, 2011, 01:31:26 AM »
Hi Azi,
1. Yes! "ATI Mobility Radeon 4330".
2. The 0x9552 chipset has the "Model Number = M92" and "Code Name = RV710".
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_AMD_graphics_processing_units#Mobility_Radeon_HD_4xxx_Series.
3. For the same chipset (M92), I'm afraid the number of implemented ports depends on the desktop/laptop's manufacturer.
4. Of course, i'll leave it to chameleon's coders the implementation details. IMHO a simple flag
in Boot.plist would be simple and enough as alternative to a proliferation of sub-groups...

Cheers,
PS. Hope your modem will survive. :)
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans". .

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #41 on: July 25, 2011, 03:44:18 AM »
1. Yes! "ATI Mobility Radeon 4330".
Ok; since you reported it as working, i'll add it directly to the trunk and later to the package here, with the modules;
if you have time to test them, all feedback is welcome :)

2. The 0x9552 chipset has the "Model Number = M92" and "Code Name = RV710".
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_AMD_graphics_processing_units#Mobility_Radeon_HD_4xxx_Series.
damn... now you got me one more thing to crosscheck :P
I've been checking this stuff mostly on the ATI_Device_ID_List's published by AMD; there 9552 is referenced as M92;
the other RV730 present on Chameleon code are 9540/4f, which show on the list's as RV730... hence my confusion.
Thanks for the tip.
 
3. For the same chipset (M92), I'm afraid the number of implemented ports depends on the desktop/laptop's manufacturer.
yeah, the usual chaos... that's were the subsys id/ven comes handy.

4. Of course, i'll leave it to chameleon's coders the implementation details. IMHO a simple flag
in Boot.plist would be simple and enough as alternative to a proliferation of sub-groups...
The difference is simple; one requires user intervention, the other doesn't; if the second is as easy
as the first to implement, i choose the second ;D we'll see...

bbl...
« Last Edit: July 31, 2011, 01:33:39 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

FredWst

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 2
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #42 on: July 25, 2011, 09:22:20 AM »
Hello,

This one is also missing, if somebody could add.

{ 0x954F,   0xe990174B, CHIP_FAMILY_RV710,      "Sapphire Radeon HD4350",         kPeregrine   },

Regards

Dell Otiplex 745
Working Sl 10.6.8 and Lion with id injector.

akbar102

  • Observer
  • Posts: 20
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #43 on: July 25, 2011, 09:33:23 AM »
hi azimutz i am play with my frambuffer personality last night
and now i can pass the black screen with new code but i am pass the black screen and now have scrambled screen .
i mean black screen solved the new problem is scrambled screen: this is the change that i am make in my personality to pass the black screen:
old personality with black screen:02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 09 01 00 00 12 00 00 07
new personality with scrambled screen:02 00 00 00 40 00 00 00 09 01 00 00 02 01 00 07
the red digit is untouched Gliff frambuffer and the only thing that need to change is last digit sense id.
i am ready to test and i want to get my soppurt in chameleon i am not leaving it.
thanks for your help

dickhouse

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #44 on: July 25, 2011, 09:40:34 AM »
Quote
Dickhouse, the master :P will add your card; dev id is present on ATIRadeonX3000 :)

Will post when it's done... bbl.

Yeah! thank you guru's. Oo x3000, i saw 6760 dev id on 6000kext also.. but no bootloader cant recognize my cards on lvds panel. o..oo.. btw what will be the output? please dont make me compile from the source. just boot file only right? heheh..

Thanks