overdue-scratch

Author Topic: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!  (Read 83214 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Beej

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #60 on: July 27, 2011, 04:07:38 AM »
RE: ATI x1300 - Azimutz, thank you!! your custom Cham2RC5 build including 7183 got me pretty far... do you have a PayPal button somewhere?? (seriously)

I quickly had 10.6.8 rolling with the works (full res/QE/CI) via the usual tweaks ... so of course i went for Lion :) Boots are stable but ATIRadeonX1000.kext is being stubborn... ATI1300Controller.kext seems to be copacetic... but the usual info.plist + bin swap of 8771 for 8371 in ATIRadeonX1000.kext isn't panning out for me yet... there are 4 candidates of 8771, unfortunately none of them look ideal according to the longstanding "cmp edx, 7187h" = "81 FA 87 71" sequence that used to be the huckleberry (there's always been exactly two matches to be tweaked all the way through Snow Leopard anyway)... there is one 81 F9 87 71 which i believe is "cmp ecx, ..." so i had my hopes up but no dice so far.

I noticed something slightly out of place with files like IOGraphicsFamily.kext (and it's dependencies like IONDRVSupport.kext & IOPCIFamily.kext)... the date stamps of these untouched files correspond with the install time of Lion ... more recent than the other kexts in s-l-e ... the Lion installer does say something about "downloading latest blah blahs"... so i wonder if it applied some last minute updates... anyway, AudioAUUC and AppleHDAController error out with missing dependencies on IOGraphicsFamily... and when i make the usual edits to ATIRadeonX1000.kext then it develops a missing dependency on IOGraphicsFamily as well... do you have any experience with this?

I tried pulling all those kexts over from 10.6.8... they seemed to pass kernal load, a lot less errors, but still no QE/CI... i actually saw all four main ATI Kexts loaded in memory via kextstat (ATISupport, ATI1300Controller, ATIFramebuffer & ATIRadeonX1000)...  usually when they all load, it's gravy time, but not so in Lion world.

Then a while after i'd been booted up and just reading pages, i happened to notice the system log was flying by... the kernel cache thingy was apparently doing a spontaneous rebuild and targeting those 10.6.8 kexts as invalid and knocking them out of the prelinked cache... interesting.

Anyway, i hope to think of some more options, Lion seems nice...  right off the bat i love that we now have resize handles all around a window just like Windows.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2011, 04:13:56 AM by Beej »

dickhouse

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #61 on: July 27, 2011, 06:29:49 AM »
azimuth, it still showing unsupported cards for devid 6760. I've added AtiConfig={someframebuffer} but it still there.
Code: [Select]
GraphicsEnabler=Yes AtiConfig=Elodeaany advice what was wrong?

« Last Edit: July 27, 2011, 06:36:47 AM by dickhouse »

FredWst

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 2
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #62 on: July 27, 2011, 01:36:42 PM »
Hi FredWst, i'll add your card in. Just one thing i don't understand; Peregrine is gone on 10.6.8/Lion...
can you send me your ioreg with Peregrine working?.. it must be defaulting to something else...??
For now i'm going to add it with kNull; you'll need to use AtiConfig=someFramebuffer until we reach a conclusion :)

Hello,

As you ask me Azimutz.
I've boot with your last svn without AtiConfig, with Kext Injector id in ATI4600Controller.
Here a screenshot.

Regards



Motive for edit: clean quoted text.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2011, 02:11:15 AM by Azimutz »

danimal

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #63 on: July 28, 2011, 08:08:54 AM »

By the way, you have the perfect hardware to help me test something... can you show up on irc?
Or any were else you like?... irc is: attila.voodooprojects.org or attila.osx86.hu, #Chameleon channel :)

And thanks for your feedback; was very helpful ;)

I would be happy to help i, it's the least I can do. I've never been an IRC guy but will go out and grab an IRC client and acclimate myself to the process.

Edit: I got lime chat, pretty straight forward to use. I will hang out at attila.voodoprojects.org when I am online so ping me if you need me.
« Last Edit: July 28, 2011, 04:40:11 PM by danimal »

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #64 on: July 29, 2011, 01:41:14 AM »
As you ask me Azimutz.
I've boot with your last svn without AtiConfig, with Kext Injector id in ATI4600Controller.
Here a screenshot.
yep, i already got to the conclusion that Peregrine and others that were removed don't work.
Why did you added the dev id to the Controller?... that should only be needed on very specific cases.
Always try first without messing with the drivers!
I'm going to add you device permanently to the trunk, still without a fremebuffer defined; try one of these:
Code: [Select]
    {"Flicker",      3}, // 4600 - dp, dp, dvi-i sl
    {"Gliff",        3}, // 4600 - lvds, lvds, dp
    {"Shrike",       3}, // 4600 - lvds, lvds, dp
those are the only framebuffer personalities present in 4600Controller on >= 10.6.8.
Maybe use Flicker on desktops and one of the others on laptops.. and even then,
you'll probably need to edit the chosen personality to fit your needs?!

RE: ATI x1300 - Azimutz, thank you!! your custom Cham2RC5 build including 7183 got me pretty far... do you have a PayPal button somewhere?? (seriously)

I quickly had 10.6.8 rolling with the works (full res/QE/CI) via the usual tweaks ... so of course i went for Lion :) Boots are stable but ATIRadeonX1000.kext is being stubborn... ATI1300Controller.kext seems to be copacetic... but the usual info.plist + bin swap of 8771 for 8371 in ATIRadeonX1000.kext isn't panning out for me yet... there are 4 candidates of 8771, unfortunately none of them look ideal according to the longstanding "cmp edx, 7187h" = "81 FA 87 71" sequence that used to be the huckleberry (there's always been exactly two matches to be tweaked all the way through Snow Leopard anyway)... there is one 81 F9 87 71 which i believe is "cmp ecx, ..." so i had my hopes up but no dice so far......

Anyway, i hope to think of some more options, Lion seems nice...  right off the bat i love that we now have resize handles all around a window just like Windows.
Hi Beej; nope, no PayPal button atm... maybe in the future ;D
So, everything works as expected, except with Lion, correct?
First i have to mention that i'm not a good source of Lion info, simply because i still don't ride the beast.
I can confirm that patching the two 81fa87710000 instances still works on 10.6.8; though i knew about the
81fa87710000 way, i always patched all occurrences of 8771 due to laziness :P so, i got around the laziness and
am now using the driver with just those two occurrences patched.
Second i'm also not a good help when it comes to analyze disassembled code; i see the four 8771 instances, but
i don't know what e.g. 81 F9 means?! One thing i'm sure; we always needed two patch at least two instances, one
for each architecture.. not sure how it goes now??
Any findings since your last post?
Will take a look at this later; now i need to clean up the mess of added/non-added devices before i go nuts...
hope to finish it today (Sunday) :)

azimuth, it still showing unsupported cards for devid 6760. I've added AtiConfig={someframebuffer} but it still there.
Code: [Select]
GraphicsEnabler=Yes AtiConfig=Elodeaany advice what was wrong?
I don't know what's going on, but i'm starting to suspect it's only a "noobness" problem!? ::)
As i mentioned, your device id is present on ATIRadeonX3000; more, it's also present on 6000Controller so,
your problems are not due to lack of Apple's support.
I'm going to add your device id to the trunk so we can exclude problems with the module system.
You will still need to specify a framebuffer with AtiConfig key; if you don't get it working this way,
you'll most probably need to patch a framebuffer personality to match your card's connectors.



Danimal and Akbar, i already had the chance to thank you guys in private, now a more public
Thank you, for helping testing stuff... i really appreciate it ;)
« Last Edit: August 01, 2011, 05:42:44 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #65 on: August 01, 2011, 07:06:38 AM »
Back in business... topic is unlocked.

About the topic lock, was just a maintenance procedure. Sorry if it caused any inconvenience :)
Toke the lock time, to tag some posts, check if i was missing anyone (i was :P ),
take a look through other forums, add devices, etc...
I still need some time to take care of the 1st post and think if i should keep the topic pinned or
even here on DevTalk.. we'll see. So far i'm happy with the feedback :)


On the booter side:

- for those who had their devices added to the 2 port limit "workaround" (Aniv, Dickhouse & Akbar102),
  there's a new key, AtiPorts={number of ports}, e.g. AtiPorts=2 typed at the boot prompt or
Code: [Select]
<key>AtiPorts</key>
<string>2</string>
  on Boot.plist will do the same as the previous code.

- all the device ids that were only present on the modules package (1st post), are now also added to the trunk.
  I can't force you guys to use the modules, but your feedback it's the only way to test them. So, if you have time
  try both solutions and drop a post. With the trunk you get just the new ati code; with the modules you can use
  either the new (AMD) code or the old (ATi). I'll add better instructions on how to use them on 1st post.

And please, do read the first post!! I know the damn thing mostly sucks, but it's all i got for now.
Next on the to do list, is adding all the devices that work ootb, that are missing on the code...

--->*
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #66 on: August 01, 2011, 10:17:39 AM »
Hi Azimutz!! I have a video card ATI Radeon Mobility X1600 with id:71c5. Is it possible to add support for this card in Chameleon? Help please run this card. She's standing in the MacBook Pro 1.1. Sorry for my English!
Hi Derc...

about the ATI Radeon 4500 Mobility Series (9553), i need more info... 1st post ;)

About the X1600 (71c5), that's another talk; did you read my talk with Darles as i pointed you?
Did you understand that it might not work at all?
If so, i'll add the device back for you to test. About using the modules, if you don't understand how to
use them by reading the first post, you'll have to wait for me to update it with clearer instructions.



Mod notes: don't forget about the edid tip***
« Last Edit: August 01, 2011, 10:19:15 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Suxx

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #67 on: August 01, 2011, 11:59:09 AM »
Hi Azimutz, first thanks for you great job!
I have Acer 7750G with hd6850M  video card, it works only you bootloader and added device_id to ati5000 kext. (fb - only Mangabey). QE - work fine

But I have some problems:
1. When i tried change resolution, or connecting HDTMI - display is destroyed
2. All images have 16bit effect (screen attached)

OS X - Lion finall



Motive for edit: remove pictures; they were too big.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2011, 03:07:23 AM by Azimutz »

Derc

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #68 on: August 01, 2011, 02:06:01 PM »
Hi Azimutz!! I have a video card ATI Radeon Mobility X1600 with id:71c5. Is it possible to add support for this card in Chameleon? Help please run this card. She's standing in the MacBook Pro 1.1. Sorry for my English!
Hi Derc...

about the ATI Radeon 4500 Mobility Series (9553), i need more info... 1st post ;)

About the X1600 (71c5), that's another talk; did you read my talk with Darles as i pointed you?
Did you understand that it might not work at all?
If so, i'll add the device back for you to test. About using the modules, if you don't understand how to
use them by reading the first post, you'll have to wait for me to update it with clearer instructions.



Mod notes: don't forget about the edid tip***

Information about the ATI Radeon Mobility 4570. If you need more info let me know.

Code: [Select]
bcc9's RadeonDump's log:-
CODE
ATOM BIOS Rom:
    SubsystemVendorID: 0x1043 SubsystemID: 0x1875
    IOBaseAddress: 0xd000
    Filename: BR33423.005
    BIOS Bootup Message:
Asus_K40AA_M92 M92 DDR2 64bit 680e/500m                                     

PCI ID: 1002:9553
Connector at index 0
    Type [@offset 45434]: VGA (1)
    Encoder [@offset 45438]: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1 (0x15)
    i2cid [@offset 45478]: 0x90, OSX senseid: 0x1
Connector at index 1
    Type [@offset 45444]: LVDS (7)
    Encoder [@offset 45448]: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2 (0x21)
    i2cid [@offset 45501]: 0x96, OSX senseid: 0x7

UBUNTU log:
CODE
[    3.862651] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
[    4.965272] [drm] radeon defaulting to kernel modesetting.
[    4.965275] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
[    4.966946] [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (RV710 0x1002:0x9553).
[    4.967086] [drm] register mmio base: 0xFBDF0000
[    4.967089] [drm] register mmio size: 65536
[    4.968582] [drm] Clocks initialized !
[    4.968781] [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=512M, BAR=256M
[    4.968785] [drm] RAM width 64bits DDR
[    4.968909] [drm] radeon: 512M of VRAM memory ready
[    4.968911] [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
[    4.969011] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
[    4.969015] [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
[    4.969603] [drm] Loading RV710 Microcode
[    5.022286] [drm] ring test succeeded in 1 usecs
[    5.022418] [drm] radeon: ib pool ready.
[    5.022495] [drm] ib test succeeded in 0 usecs
[    5.022498] [drm] Enabling audio support
[    5.022530] [drm] Default TV standard: NTSC
[    5.023086] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
[    5.023088] [drm] Connector 0:
[    5.023090] [drm]   VGA
[    5.023093] [drm]   DDC: 0x7e40 0x7e40 0x7e44 0x7e44 0x7e48 0x7e48 0x7e4c 0x7e4c
[    5.023095] [drm]   Encoders:
[    5.023096] [drm]     CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
[    5.023098] [drm] Connector 1:
[    5.023099] [drm]   LVDS
[    5.023102] [drm]   DDC: 0x7f68 0x7f68 0x7f6c 0x7f6c 0x7f70 0x7f70 0x7f74 0x7f74
[    5.023103] [drm]   Encoders:
[    5.023105] [drm]     LCD1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2
[    5.131718] [drm] Internal thermal controller without fan control
[    5.131742] [drm] radeon: power management initialized
[    5.259130] [drm] fb mappable at 0xD0141000
[    5.259133] [drm] vram apper at 0xD0000000
[    5.259135] [drm] size 5300224
[    5.259137] [drm] fb depth is 24
[    5.259138] [drm]    pitch is 5888
[    6.806458] fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
[    6.806460] drm: registered panic notifier
[    6.806560] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.5.0 20080528 for 0000:01:00.0 on minor 0


Tested Framebuffer:-
(Tested with 10.6.7 ATIFramebuffer.kext & ATI4600Controller.kext)

Patched connection table (32bit):-
CODE
Personality: Shrike
Disk offset in decimal 225944
0000000    02  00  00  00  40  00  00  00  09  01  00  00  02  00  00  07 (LVDS)
0000010    10  00  00  00  10  00  00  00  00  01  00  00  00  10  01  01 (VGA)

Patched connection table (64bit):-
CODE
Personality: Shrike
Disk offset in decimal 69504
0000000    02  00  00  00  40  00  00  00  09  01  00  00  02  00  00  07 (LVDS)
0000010    10  00  00  00  10  00  00  00  00  01  00  00  00  10  01  01 (VGA)

As for the Mobility X1600 ... I read your conversation with Darles and realized that might not work, but still want to try ... maybe I have more luck =) Do what ever information about Mobility X1600 from me?



Motive for edit: add code wrap.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2011, 03:05:26 AM by Azimutz »

mckibble

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 8
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #69 on: August 01, 2011, 11:40:42 PM »
Hi Azimutz,

I have been trying to get my Dell OEM ATI X1300 running. Although this card is very similar to Beej's, it uses the "regular" ATI pci-id of 7187 instead of a Dell specific 7183. So far it works with Chameleon 2.0 RC4 r684.

The output of lspci shows that there are two outputs, however this card only has one DVI port.

Below is the output of lspci:

Code: [Select]
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc RV516 [Radeon X1300/X1550 Series] [1002:7187] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Dell Unknown device [1028:0402]
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 16
Memory at d0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable)
Memory at fe9e0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
I/O ports at dc00
Expansion ROM at fea00000 [disabled]
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [58] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [80] Message Signalled Interrupts: Mask- 64bit+ Queue=0/0 Enable+
Capabilities: [100] #1002
Capabilities: [718] Power Budgeting <?>

01:00.1 Display controller [0380]: ATI Technologies Inc RV516 [Radeon X1300/X1550 Series] (Secondary) [1002:71a7]
Subsystem: Dell Unknown device [1028:0403]
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 255
Memory at fe9f0000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable)
Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [58] Express Endpoint, MSI 00
Capabilities: [100] #1002

Could you add this pci-id please?

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #70 on: August 03, 2011, 02:12:54 AM »
Information about the ATI Radeon Mobility 4570. If you need more info let me know.
That's more than enough :) just missing a code wrap ;)
Device added; just need to commit... will do as soon as i finish reviewing posts.
You confirm that Shrike personality edit works on 10.6.7?

As for the Mobility X1600 ... I read your conversation with Darles and realized that might not work, but still want to try ... maybe I have more luck =) Do what ever information about Mobility X1600 from me?
That's the spirit! No info needed for now. Device added here too.
About modules, it's simple; create a folder named "Modules" on Extra and place there the modules you want to use.
The booter will load them automatically.
Just don't use ATiGrapicsEnabler and AMDGrapicsEnabler at the same time or with the trunk builds.
The patch is enabled by default, so if you get in trouble use GraphicsEnabler=n to disable.
Good luck :P


Hi Azimutz,

I have been trying to get my Dell OEM ATI X1300 running. Although this card is very similar to Beej's, it uses the "regular" ATI pci-id of 7187 instead of a Dell specific 7183. So far it works with Chameleon 2.0 RC4 r684.

The output of lspci shows that there are two outputs, however this card only has one DVI port.
...
Could you add this pci-id please?
Hi mckibble, device added.
You need to use ATiGraphicsEnabler module; follow the instructions above.
Is this a X1300 or 1550?
And what OS version are you using?.. the framebuffer i have set is for 10.6.8 min.

About the secondary dev id, i have it too, but i never got the patience to finish a search about it :P
it's a mystery to me; hope to solve it before the card dyes.
« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 01:50:17 PM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #71 on: August 03, 2011, 03:12:34 AM »
Hi Azimutz, first thanks for you great job!
I have Acer 7750G with hd6850M  video card, it works only you bootloader and added device_id to ati5000 kext. (fb - only Mangabey). QE - work fine

But I have some problems:
1. When i tried change resolution, or connecting HDTMI - display is destroyed
2. All images have 16bit effect (screen attached)

OS X - Lion finall
Hi Suxx,
sorry for removing your pictures, they were too big; post smaller ones if you like.
And they were not very helpful too; first i need device id and subsys ids to identify your card on the code.
Read 1st post...
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Suxx

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #72 on: August 03, 2011, 09:09:37 AM »
I'm sorry that I missed information about card
Quote
AMD Radeon HD 6800M Series, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68A8&SUBSYS_050E1025&REV_00
All info card is as the most from this issue http://forge.voodooprojects.org/p/chameleon/issues/89/
Some more info:
 - QE/CI working
 - resolution working only native display  1600x900
 - work is stable
- fb  Mangabey
Main problem for me is 16bit effect , i reduced screenshot and attached

Derc

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #73 on: August 03, 2011, 10:11:43 AM »
Information about the ATI Radeon Mobility 4570. If you need more info let me know.
That's more than enough :) just missing a code wrap ;)
Device added; just need to commit... will do as soon as i finish reviewing posts.
You confirm that Shrike personality edit works on 10.6.7?
Thank you Azimutz! Yes, my card works with the Shrike or Peregrine to 10.6.7. Which modules should I use for Mobility 4570 ATiGrapicsEnabler or AMDGrapicsEnablerr?
« Last Edit: August 03, 2011, 12:40:12 PM by Derc »

mckibble

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 8
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #74 on: August 03, 2011, 12:26:33 PM »

Hi Azimutz,

I have been trying to get my Dell OEM ATI X1300 running. Although this card is very similar to Beej's, it uses the "regular" ATI pci-id of 7187 instead of a Dell specific 7183. So far it works with Chameleon 2.0 RC4 r684.

The output of lspci shows that there are two outputs, however this card only has one DVI port.
...
Could you add this pci-id please?
Hi mckibble, device added.
You need to use ATIGraphicsEnabler module; follow the instructions above.
Is this a X1300 or 1550?
And what OS version are you using?.. the framebuffer i have set is for 10.6.8 min.

About the secondary dev id, i have it too, but i never got the patience to finish a search about it :P
it's a mystery to me; hope to solve it before the card dyes.

Oops! Forgot to state the obvious... I am running 10.6.8 (with plans for Lion later), and using the Caretta framebuffer. The card reports to System Profiler as a X1300 (also says that on a sticker on the card).

A possible clue to the secondary dev id: There is a version of this card that uses the DMS-59 connector, splitting to dual-DVI ports, allowing the card to drive two screens.