overdue-scratch

Author Topic: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!  (Read 225224 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

downlord

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #75 on: August 03, 2011, 07:34:52 PM »
Ok, so here i come with the v5250 ati fireGL:
 
Code: [Select]
  [ PCI Express 1.0 x16: ATI Mobility FireGL V5250 (Lenovo) ]

    Propriedades do processador gráfico:
      Adaptador gr·fico                                 ATI Mobility FireGL V5250 (Lenovo)
      Vers„o da BIOS                                    009.012.001.021.025241
      Data da BIOS                                      05/16/07,10:58:3
      N˙mero de código                                  M56GL
      Dispositivos PCI                                  1002-71D4 / 17AA-20A4  (Rev 00)
      TransÌstores                                      157 milhões)
      Tecnologia utilizada                              90 nm
      Tipo de Bus                                       PCI Express 1.0 x16 @ x16
      Tamanho da memória                                256 MB
      Velocidade da GPU                                 432 MHz  (original: 432 MHz)
      Clock RAMDAC                                      400 MHz
      Pixel Pipelines                                   12
      TMU por Pipeline                                  1
      Vertex Shaders                                    5  (v3.0)
      Pixel Shaders                                     12  (v3.0)
      Suporte de Hardware para o DirectX                DirectX v9.0c
      Taxa de preenchimento de pixel                    5184 MPixel/s
      Taxa de preenchimento de "texture maps"           [ TRIAL VERSION ]

    Propriedades da memÛria do Bus:
      Tipo de Bus                                       GDDR3
      Largura de bus                                    128 bits
      Clock real                                        320 MHz (DDR)  (original: 330 MHz)
      Clock efetivo                                     640 MHz
      Banda                                             [ TRIAL VERSION ]

    ATI PowerPlay (BIOS):
      State #1                                          GPU: 129 MHz, MemÛria: 135 MHz
      State #2                                          GPU: 210 MHz, MemÛria: 135 MHz
      State #3                                          GPU: 324 MHz, MemÛria: 135 MHz
      State #4                                          GPU: 382 MHz, MemÛria: 330 MHz
      State #5                                          GPU: 432 MHz, MemÛria: 330 MHz

    Fabricante do Processador Gráfico:
      Nome da empresa                                   Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
      InformaÁ„o sobre o produto                        http://www.amd.com/us/products/Pages/graphics.aspx
      Download do controlador                           http://sites.amd.com/us/game/downloads/Pages/downloads.aspx
      AtualizaÁ„o de controlador (Driver)               http://www.aida64.com/driver-updates

    ATI GPU Registers:
      ati-00E0                                          00070100
      ati-00F8                                          10000000
      ati-0140                                          00000000
      ati-0144                                          00000000
      ati-0148                                          00000000
      ati-0154                                          00000000
      ati-0158                                          00000000
      ati-0178                                          00000000
      ati-01C0                                          00FF0000
      ati-4018                                          01400011
      ati-CLKIND-00                                     21000FEC
      ati-CLKIND-01                                     00000001
      ati-CLKIND-02                                     00000000
      ati-CLKIND-03                                     0000000D
      ati-CLKIND-04                                     240008C8
      ati-CLKIND-05                                     00000001
      ati-CLKIND-06                                     00000000
      ati-CLKIND-07                                     0000000D
      ati-CLKIND-08                                     00000005
      ati-CLKIND-09                                     00000000
      ati-CLKIND-0A                                     00010035
      ati-CLKIND-0B                                     109FAC8F
      ati-CLKIND-0C                                     11220000
      ati-CLKIND-0D                                     00073011
      ati-CLKIND-0E                                     00000000
      ati-CLKIND-0F                                     0F3FF01A
      ati-CLKIND-12                                     0F3FF50A
      ati-MCIND-000005                                  00000000
      ati-MCIND-00002D                                  00000000
      ati-MCIND-00002E                                  00000000
      ati-MCIND-000031                                  00000000
      ati-MCIND-200008                                  8A004012
      ati-MCIND-FF0061                                  16439CA5
      ati-MCIND-FF0062                                  080A50A0
      ati-MCIND-FF0063                                  41A81015


It works with 10.5 drivers, in Snow I managed to get QE/CI or Resolution change working but never
the two of them togheter. Wormy is a strange animal, but now, with 10.6.8 things changed alot. Maybe it's time to
domesticate it...

Had a look at last GE module and didn't find Wormy, nor 71D4. Any chance to add it?

Edit: typo
« Last Edit: August 05, 2011, 10:03:03 PM by downlord »

AniV

  • Observer
  • Posts: 18
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #76 on: August 04, 2011, 01:49:58 AM »

...
- for those who had their devices added to the 2 port limit "workaround" (Aniv, Dickhouse & Akbar102),
  there's a new key, AtiPorts={number of ports}, e.g. AtiPorts=2 typed at the boot prompt or
Code: [Select]
<key>AtiPorts</key>
<string>2</string>
  on Boot.plist will do the same as the previous code.
...
I've tested the new Boot.plist key 'AtiPorts', with trunk r1266, and as expected it works fine.
Imo a simple verbose msg would help debugging, eg:
Code: [Select]
...
getIntForKey(kAtiPorts, &n_ports, &bootInfo->bootConfig);
if (n_ports > 0)
{
card->ports = n_ports;
        verbose("AtiPorts set to %d\n",n_ports); //AniV
}
...
Cheers,
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans". .

mckibble

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 8
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #77 on: August 04, 2011, 05:42:29 PM »
I have tried i386_1264-65.zip and it does work for my X1300, running OS X 10.6.8.  8)

Here's what I did:
  • Upgrade to Chameleon 2.0 RC5 from RC4.
  • Install Azimutz's patched boot file to /boot
  • Remove AMDGraphicsEnabler.dylib from /Extra/Modules (having both AMD and ATI causes a hang at boot time)
  • Keep EVOEnabler.kext in /Extra/Extensions (without this OS X 10.6.8 can't load the GUI)

Results:
  • QE/CI works.
  • System will sleep (power and screen turns off), but won't wake. Need to reboot to recover.

Now to figure out what EVOEnabler.kext does, and whether can I replace it with an EFI string or something cleaner. Also to get wake working. Baby steps…

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #78 on: August 04, 2011, 11:12:26 PM »
I'm sorry that I missed information about card
Quote
AMD Radeon HD 6800M Series, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_68A8&SUBSYS_050E1025&REV_00
All info card is as the most from this issue http://forge.voodooprojects.org/p/chameleon/issues/89/
Some more info:
 - QE/CI working
 - resolution working only native display  1600x900
 - work is stable
- fb  Mangabey
Main problem for me is 16bit effect , i reduced screenshot and attached
So, are you Dennis? :)
To be more helpful, i need a rom dump or just the output of ati-personality.pl radeon_bios_decode, from bcc9's topic.
Mangabey has only 2 ports, lvds & dp; the default on the booter is Uakary but that was just a wild guess at the time.

Thank you Azimutz! Yes, my card works with the Shrike or Peregrine to 10.6.7. Which modules should I use for Mobility 4570 ATiGrapicsEnabler or AMDGrapicsEnablerr?
Ok, Shrike is set as the default framebuffer.
Always use the trunk or AMDGraphicsEnabler.
ATiGraphicsEnabler uses the "old" trunk code, which i'm trying to merge into AMDGraphicsEnabler;
use it only if you have a legacy card or i ask you to :)


Oops! Forgot to state the obvious... I am running 10.6.8 (with plans for Lion later), and using the Caretta framebuffer. The card reports to System Profiler as a X1300 (also says that on a sticker on the card).

A possible clue to the secondary dev id: There is a version of this card that uses the DMS-59 connector, splitting to dual-DVI ports, allowing the card to drive two screens.
Ok, so i guessed the model :) System Profiler reports X1300 because that's what i added:
Code: [Select]
{ 0x10027183, "ATI Radeon X1300 Series" }, // MckibbleThe framebuffer, if your dvi out is a dual-link, we can change it to Sphyrna.
How many physical connectors does the card have?

... ...
Keep EVOEnabler.kext in /Extra/Extensions (without this OS X 10.6.8 can't load the GUI)

Now to figure out what EVOEnabler.kext does, and whether can I replace it with an EFI string or something cleaner. Also to get wake working. Baby steps…
Everything matches except for EVOEnabler.kext... sleep enabler??
And what do you mean exactly with "... can't load the GUI"?

Will answer the rest of the posts after dinner...
« Last Edit: August 18, 2011, 01:48:53 PM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Suxx

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #79 on: August 05, 2011, 12:09:47 AM »
So, are you Dennis? :)
To be more helpful, i need a rom dump or just the output of ati-personality.pl, from bcc9's topic.
Mangabey has only 2 ports, lvds & dp; the default on the booter is Uakary but that was just a wild guess at the time.
Not, I am not Dennis, but i have the same  laptop to  :)
fb Uakari don't work for me :( , i attached rom dump and ati_personality output
Thank you in advance for your help.

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #80 on: August 05, 2011, 12:21:08 AM »
Not, I am not Dennis, but i have the same  laptop to  :) ...
yeah, as i mentioned, Uakari was just a wild guess; this was the first (or one of the first) cards i added;
there wasn't much "science" involved at the time :P
I'll take a look after i answer the rest of the posts...
« Last Edit: August 05, 2011, 12:24:13 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

mckibble

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 8
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #81 on: August 05, 2011, 12:23:09 AM »
Ok, so i guessed the model :) System Profiler reports X1300 because that's what i added:
Code: [Select]
{ 0x10027183, "ATI Radeon X1300 Series" }, // MckibbleThe framebuffer, if your dvi out is a dual-link, we can change it to Sphyrna.
How many physical connectors does the card have?

There are two physical connectors on the card: 1) A dual-link DVI, and 2) S-video.

I have tried the Sphyrna framebuffer before in EVOenabler, and it does works using Chameleon 2.0 RC4 r684. My monitor resolution is only 1280x1024, so the dual-link DVI is not that important. No S-video device to test with, so not worried about that.


... ...
Keep EVOEnabler.kext in /Extra/Extensions (without this OS X 10.6.8 can't load the GUI)

Now to figure out what EVOEnabler.kext does, and whether can I replace it with an EFI string or something cleaner. Also to get wake working. Baby steps…
Everything matches except for EVOEnabler.kext... sleep enabler??
And what do you mean exactly with "... can't load the GUI"?

Will answer the rest of the posts after dinner...

I'm using DSDT patches from http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?s=6420c079b1d070f7fb64f245bdb510df&showtopic=235523. Using SleepEnabler (various versions) results in kernel panics on boot.

Without EVOenabler, the system will show the grey apple screen with the throbber. At the time when the GUI (desktop/login-window) is suppose to load, the screen flickers as the system attempts to load that, then it falls back to the grey apple screen again. This repeats indefinitely. When using "-v" (verbose boot), the screen will clear to black, showing only the text-cursor (white block) at the top left of the screen. The GUI mouse pointer will show momentarily (while the text-cursor disappears), then the mouse pointer disappears and the text-cursor shows. Again repeating indefinitely. I can't login once this happens. But I can fix it by going into single-user mode and adding EVOenabler to /E/E.

Full disclosure:
Dell Optiplex 780 mini-tower: Intel Core 2 Duo E7500 (Wolfdale-45nm) 2.93GHz, Intel ICH10, 4GB RAM.
My /E/E folder only has FakeSMC and EVOEnabler. In /S/L/E there are AppleIntelE1000 and VoodooHDA (installed from MultiBeast http://tonymacx86.blogspot.com/2010/04/iboot-multibeast-install-mac-os-x-on.html).
Sound and built-in Ethernet works. Reboots and shutdowns work. System sleeps but doesn't wake.

Edit: When I built this hackintosh, I installed using tonymac's iBoot, but using the internal Intel graphics (GMA4500). I added the ATI X1300 after the installation was complete.
« Last Edit: August 05, 2011, 12:28:01 AM by mckibble »

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #82 on: August 05, 2011, 01:08:17 AM »
Ok, so here i come with the v5250 ati fireGL:
...

It works with 10.5 drivers, in Snow I managed to get QE/CI or Resolution change working but never
the two of them togheter. Wormy is a strange animal, but now, with 10.6.8 things changed alot. Maybe it's time to
domesticate it...

Had a look at last GE module and didn't find Wormy, nor 71D$. Any chance to add it?
Hi Downlord :)
yep, Wormy is pain in! I will add the device for you to test, but keep in mind what i said to Derc;
chances are this will not work. By the way, what procedure do you use to patch X1000 kext?
Will update 1st post package soon...

I've tested the new Boot.plist key 'AtiPorts', with trunk r1266, and as expected it works fine.
Imo a simple verbose msg would help debugging, eg:...
Thanks for the feedback, Aniv. I did added a verbose like this:
Code: [Select]
    verbose("ATI %s %s %dMB (%s, %d ports) [%04x:%04x] (subsys [%04x:%04x]):: %s\n",
            chip_family_name[card->info->chip_family], card->info->model_name,
            (uint32_t)(card->vram_size / (1024 * 1024)), card->cfg_name, card->ports,...
it was good for checking the key code, but somehow it messed up the patch..??
Since i spend more time answering to people than coding, i removed it and ended up forgetting to
add another solution. Will add something like that :)



Update:
package on the first post updated; just ATiGE stuff changes (legacy).
« Last Edit: August 05, 2011, 07:13:22 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

downlord

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #83 on: August 05, 2011, 10:07:00 PM »

By the way, what procedure do you use to patch X1000 kext?
Will update 1st post package soon...


Hi Azimutz,
manually with 0xED.

Beej

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #84 on: August 06, 2011, 06:17:48 PM »
Azimutz, McKibble - RE: ATI x1300

To confirm, my 10.6.8 is fully functional with full res/QE/CI (settings here)... so again, Azimutz, I really THANK YOU! :)

In Lion 10.7 I readily get full res by patching ATI1300Controller as usual... but any attempt to bring 10.7's ATIRadeonX1000 into the mix results in KP or infinitely spinning pinwheel of doom (tried: EvoEnabler, RadeonHD, GraphicsEnabler various ways)... i do see ATIRadeonX1000.kext loading when GE=No, so i know all the pieces basically work, but not together.

I had been testing how flashing my x1300's rom to 7187 would affect things but it would always freeze shortly into the Darwin bootstrap... last output includes the word "vectors"... no KP, no error message, just frozen.

Seeing the latest movement on McKibble's 7187 x1300, I went ahead and loaded the boot from i386_1264-65.zip, with my ati rom patched back to 7187 and GE=Yes ... interestingly, this latest Cham build actually seems to make a positive difference (Azimutz, just curious, any ideas why this one is better?)... now gets all the way through the Darwin bootup (can get to working single user prompt now) but ultimately still freezes at all grey screen with movable mouse cursor... and then to movable infinite pinwheel after a few moments... this is the closest i've felt so far, it was full res by the looks of the cursor and all ATI kexts are vanilla.

The one other way that seems "close" is GE=No, EvoEnabler, ATI kexts patched to 7183 (with rom back to 7183 as well of course) with 10.6.8's ATIRadeonX1000.kext rather than 10.7's... everything boots and loads (after some uncomfortably long pauses)... all four usual suspect ATI kexts are loaded and happy in memory (ATISupport, ATI1300Controller, ATIRadeonX1000 & ATIFramebuffer)... full res works as always and no tearing... but still no QE/CI (iMovie says definitively  :'()... anybody have suggestions on what to try after that??
 
Azimutz, I didn't see any comments on what i386_1276.zip was intended for??  taking just that boot into my mix caused immediate reboot upon Chameleon startup.

I almost just hit buy on a $60 no-fan Asus ATI GT520 (the whole "good enough for iMovie + no fan silence" thing is why i like the little x1300 so much)... but then, 10.6.8 is fine for what i need to accomplish... so i'm going to lick my Lion wounds in a 10.6.8 partition for now... i'll probably check back here from time to time... if anyone really wants to get a hold of me, my personal email gets pinged for new comments here... Azimutz, thank you!!  i wish everyone good luck and happy crackintoshing.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2011, 09:18:52 PM by Beej »

futan

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 1
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #85 on: August 07, 2011, 06:55:09 PM »
Hey Azimutz, could you please add this:

Quote
AMD Radeon HD 6620G, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9641&SUBSYS_358B103C&REV_00

Thanks.  :)

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #86 on: August 07, 2011, 09:51:27 PM »
Hi guys...

sorry for keeping you waiting, but private life rules :(
I'll try to answer your posts/requests asap; just taking a look at some code problems...

p.s.: Beej, Mckibble, updated 1st post package; fixed a device id typo (7183 was set for both cards).
« Last Edit: August 11, 2011, 04:31:06 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

bebegoat

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 1
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #87 on: August 11, 2011, 12:36:14 AM »
Hi, Azimutz.
Can you please add the Radeon HD 6770m?

PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6740&SUBSYS_1657103C&REV_00
Subsystem ID = 1657
Subsystem Vendor ID = 103C
BIOS Version   013.009.000.009
Memory Size   1024 MB   

If you need additional information, please let me know.
Thank you very much!


« Last Edit: August 11, 2011, 04:09:47 AM by Azimutz »

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #88 on: August 11, 2011, 04:41:50 AM »
Ok, let's see if i can catch up with the posts...

Hi, Azimutz.
Can you please add the Radeon HD 6770m?...

If you need additional information, please let me know.
Thank you very much!
Hi Bebegoat, your device was added, first 6740 on the code; you can use both the trunk or the package on the 1st post.
You'll need to use AtiConfig to specify a framebuffer. All i can tell is the 6770M is used on the latest iMac's (12,1/2) and
the dev id is 6000Controller. The iMac12,2 with the 6970M uses Elodea FB (lvds, dp, dp, dp, dp); you will probably have
to play with the FB's personalities.
If i need more info depends on whether you need more info or not :)

Hey Azimutz, could you please add this:

Quote
AMD Radeon HD 6620G, PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_9641&SUBSYS_358B103C&REV_00

Thanks.  :)
Futan, sorry but your device id doesn't seem to be supported by Apple's drivers :(

Hi Azimutz,
manually with 0xED.
I know that much, mate :P i meant like, do you replace all 7187 occurrences or you do something more fancy? ;D
Replacing just the 81fa87710000 occurrences as pointed here by Slice, still works on 10.6.8.
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #89 on: August 11, 2011, 05:17:52 AM »
Not, I am not Dennis, but i have the same  laptop to  :)
fb Uakari don't work for me :( , i attached rom dump and ati_personality output
Thank you in advance for your help.
Well Suxx, looking at Dennis feedback again, i'm not sure if the right Controller for this card is the 5000?!
You better try some 6000Controller personalities :P here is the list again:
Code: [Select]
    {"Pithecia",     3}, // 6000 - dp, dvi-i dl, vga
    {"Bulrushes",    6}, // 6000 - dp, dp, dp, dp, dp, dp,
    {"Cattail",      4}, // 6000 - lvds, dp, dp, dp,
    {"Hydrilla",     5}, // 6000 - lvds, dp, dp, dp, dp
    {"Duckweed",     4}, // 6000 - dp, dp, hdmi, dvi-i sl
    {"Fanwort",      4}, // 6000 - lvds, dp, dp, dp,
    {"Elodea",       5}, // 6000 - lvds, dp, dp, dp, dp
    {"Kudzu",        2}, // 6000 - dp, hdmi
    {"Gibba",        5}, // 6000 - dp, dp, hdmi, dvi-i sl, dvi-i dl
    {"Lotus",        3}, // 6000 - dp, dp, hdmi
    {"Ipomoea",      3}, // 6000 - dp, hdmi, vga*
    {"Muskgrass",    4}, // 6000 - dp, hdmi, dp, dp
... at most you'll get kp if the Controller is not the correct one. I can't be sure because the dev id doesn't show on
any Controller plist (and i don't know how to check the binary for it), but i think the card it's too recent for the 5000 and
that thing about having to add the dev id to 5000Controller's plist, leaves me even more suspicious.
Besides that, i'm now more focused on the number of ports than whether the FB looks like for laptop or not;
i'd start by Ipomoea, if it doesn't work ootb, try editing the personality, replace the dp port by a lvds one.
That's all i can think of atm...
« Last Edit: August 11, 2011, 05:19:36 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT