overdue-scratch

Author Topic: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!  (Read 195109 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #45 on: July 25, 2011, 11:18:38 AM »
Yeah! thank you guru's. Oo x3000, i saw 6760 dev id on 6000kext also.. but no bootloader cant recognize my cards on lvds panel. o..oo.. btw what will be the output? please dont make me compile from the source. just boot file only right? heheh..
yeah, you're right, it's on 6000 Controller too; need to update my notes. Lvds is always a pain in; you'll
probably need to play with the framebuffer ports...?
I'll post pre-compiled binaries on the first post :)

This one is also missing, if somebody could add.

{ 0x954F,   0xe990174B, CHIP_FAMILY_RV710,      "Sapphire Radeon HD4350",         kPeregrine   },
Hi FredWst, i'll add your card in. Just one thing i don't understand; Peregrine is gone on 10.6.8/Lion...
can you send me your ioreg with Peregrine working?.. it must be defaulting to something else...??
For now i'm going to add it with kNull; you'll need to use AtiConfig=someFramebuffer until we reach a conclusion :)

Update: ok.. requested devices added, except for those i warned it wouldn't work without kext bin patch;
see 1st post's attachment (r1223). Read the 1st post if you haven't done it already, to clear doubts about the
modules and stuff..; i'll clean up that "mess" soon. I case of doubt, ask before messing ;)
Use AtiConfig=someFramebuffer if you get the "Unsupported" message.
« Last Edit: July 25, 2011, 11:59:57 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

akbar102

  • Observer
  • Posts: 20
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #46 on: July 25, 2011, 12:17:37 PM »
hi azimutz i am tested the package the bdmesg show that AtiConfig work correctly but when boot and get ioreg its show that using ATY.Radeonframbuffer. to be clear  i am post the bdmesg and ioreg with your package
thanks

akbar102

  • Observer
  • Posts: 20
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #47 on: July 25, 2011, 04:01:32 PM »
hi azimuth this 3 ioreg

akbar102

  • Observer
  • Posts: 20
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #48 on: July 25, 2011, 06:48:13 PM »
hi azimutz i am get to ioreg with ATY and new code after sleep:his value
with ATY this value :AAPL,card-posted     <01 00 00 00>
exist before and after sleep
but with new code before sleep exist in GFX@0 after sleep its doesn't exist and disappear .
i think is the source of problem

AniV

  • Observer
  • Posts: 18
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #49 on: July 25, 2011, 07:49:29 PM »
Hi Azi,
I've just compiled trunk r1224, after you've added the chipset 0x9552 + Fix.
This is to confirm that everything (lvds+vga+hdmi in snow_10.6.7+lion_gm_10.7) is working now.Thank you!
Btw, I attach my test drivers (Shrike patched for Snow and Lion) to eventually help out people with same chipset.
Cheers,
AniV
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans". .

Beej

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #50 on: July 25, 2011, 09:29:29 PM »
Hello Azi, I humbly request another legacy ATI to be added, details below.

You may notice it's very close to one of yours.

I am successfully running 10.6.8 via Chameleon 2.0 RC4 r684 via the following:
  • replacing 7187 with my 7183 in info.plist's of ATI1300Controller.kext and ATIRadeonX1000.kext
  • as well as bin editing ATIRadeonX1000.kext/MacOS/ATIRadeonx1000 with the corresponding reverse hex replacement
  • -PLUS- 10.6.8 needed EvoEnabler with Sphyrna framebuffer - that was what just clinched 10.6.8 for me
Now I'm naturally looking to take a shot at 10.7 via Cham 2 RC5.
Cham2RC5 of course stops cold at the "ATI card non-POSTed" ... after reading your threads I now understand that my ATI support has been moved into this Modules approach in recent Cham2RC5 builds.

For reference, my personal post for Snow Leo efforts to date and full system info... by the comments, there appears to be a rag tag group of us hoping to keep this card alive a little longer.

We all appreciate your efforts!

Code: [Select]
Windows Device Manager:
=======================
   Hardware Id:    PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_7183&SUBSYS_0D021028&REV_00
   Display Name:    Radeon X1300/X1550 Series 
   Location paths: PCIROOT(0)#PCI(0600)#PCI(0000)

AIDA64:
=======================
  [ PCI Express 1.0 x16: ATI Radeon X1550 (RV516) ]

    Graphics Processor Properties:
      Video Adapter                                     ATI Radeon X1550 (RV516)
      BIOS Version                                      009.012.013.002.020821
      BIOS Date                                         06/23/06 16:26
      GPU Code Name                                     RV516
      Part Number                                       113-A92402-100
      PCI Device                                        1002-7183 / 1028-0D02 (Rev 00)
      Transistors                                       105 million
      Process Technology                                90 nm
      Bus Type                                          PCI Express 1.0 x16 @ x16
      Memory Size                                       256 MB



Mod notes: legacy.

Motive for edit: add info.
« Last Edit: July 31, 2011, 07:48:23 PM by Azimutz »

dickhouse

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #51 on: July 26, 2011, 12:40:10 AM »
dang! lvds blank. cant get output thru hdmi or vga (no external spare monitor to test right now  :lol: ) the closest fb personality i could find is using lpomoea from here http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=253557&mode=threaded but no progress so far.

just like you said lvds sux, and its pain in the ass. well i hope u could sort things out azi. help me with this lvds puzzle  ::) . using ur latest patch 1223, 6760 dev id -> 6470M. its said unsupported cards using lion original kext just blank screen.

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #52 on: July 26, 2011, 01:36:08 AM »
hi azimutz i am get to ioreg with ATY and new code after sleep:his value
with ATY this value :AAPL,card-posted     <01 00 00 00>
exist before and after sleep
but with new code before sleep exist in GFX@0 after sleep its doesn't exist and disappear .
i think is the source of problem
hum... maybe; the new code doesn't add that value, must be the system.
The legacy code also doesn't add it, but in this case i don't see the value in your ioreg.
Don't know if aty_init adds it to ioreg or if it's only the system working???

Hi Azi,
I've just compiled trunk r1224, after you've added the chipset 0x9552 + Fix.
This is to confirm that everything (lvds+vga+hdmi in snow_10.6.7+lion_gm_10.7) is working now.Thank you!
Btw, I attach my test drivers (Shrike patched for Snow and Lion) to eventually help out people with same chipset.
Cheers,
AniV
Ok, thanks for the confirmation and for the feedback :)
About the port limit, you are not the only one to benefit with it; i think i'll just add a key for now...
going through it over night...

...
Cham2RC5 of course stops cold at the "ATI card non-POSTed" ... after reading your threads I now understand that my ATI support has been moved into this Modules approach in recent Cham2RC5 builds.
...
Hi Beej, nice to know i'm not alone in the legacy stuff ;D
Well, the "legacy" support wasn't moved to modules, it's simply not supported on the new ati.c code >:(
To cut it short, since i need the legacy code and i was already using the GE module created by Meklort,
i kept it as an alternative, until i manage to merge it with the new code; i just split the module so we can
use one or the other without conflicting.
I'll add your dev id to it with the correct framebuffer; Megalodon doesn't work anymore for us, on 10.6.8 & Lion.
I use Caretta for the RV516, but Sphyrna also works; they both have only one DVI port; the diff is that Caretta's
is single-link and Sphyrna dual-link.. what's your preference?

dang! lvds blank. cant get output thru hdmi or vga (no external spare monitor to test right now  :lol: ) the closest fb personality i could find is using lpomoea from here http://www.insanelymac.com/forum/index.php?showtopic=253557&mode=threaded but no progress so far.

just like you said lvds sux, and its pain in the ass. well i hope u could sort things out azi. help me with this lvds puzzle  ::) . using ur latest patch 1223, 6760 dev id -> 6470M. its said unsupported cards using lion original kext just blank screen.
hum... maybe you also need to limit the nr of ports??.. like AniV; i'll add it so you can test.
About the "Unsupported", don't forget to use AtiConfig or it will always say that.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2011, 02:03:06 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #53 on: July 26, 2011, 02:11:57 AM »
Ok, updated package on the 1st post, i386_r1223_a.

Dickhouse, added a 2 port limit to your card.
Beej, dev id added to ATiGraphicsEnabler module, with Caretta framebuffer.
Akbar, changed the FB to Gliff on both AMDGraphicsEnabler & ATiGraphicsEnabler.
« Last Edit: July 26, 2011, 02:13:34 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

dickhouse

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #54 on: July 26, 2011, 04:00:59 AM »
thanks for 1223a azi, no blank output on lvds panel now, and no native screen res also :lol: :p, i've add "Graphics Mode"=1366x768x32 still no dice. using switchresX same result, but thanks for the effort tho. :D

from the log, it looks like missing iographicfamily on x3000kext, and for the unsupported cards it still appear with line something like this "wrong bios image signature". i dunno what the hell that means!

Code: [Select]
-v GraphicsEnabler=Yes AtiConfig=lpomoea
FYI, i use evilIOPCIFamily.kext and evilAppleACPIPlatform.kext to bypass pci configuration begin 'bug'.. is that matter. shed some light master :)

thanks
« Last Edit: July 26, 2011, 04:03:43 AM by dickhouse »

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #55 on: July 26, 2011, 05:22:10 AM »
Dickhouse, Ipomea is with an "I", not with an "L". Your card has to work!
By the way, this framebuffer has no lvds port; try another one from these:
Code: [Select]
    {"Pithecia",     3}, // 6000 - dp, dvi-i dl, vga
    {"Bulrushes",    6}, // 6000 - dp, dp, dp, dp, dp, dp,
    {"Cattail",      4}, // 6000 - lvds, dp, dp, dp,
    {"Hydrilla",     5}, // 6000 - lvds, dp, dp, dp, dp
    {"Duckweed",     4}, // 6000 - dp, dp, hdmi, dvi-i sl
    {"Fanwort",      4}, // 6000 - lvds, dp, dp, dp,
    {"Elodea",       5}, // 6000 - lvds, dp, dp, dp, dp
    {"Kudzu",        2}, // 6000 - dp, hdmi
    {"Gibba",        5}, // 6000 - dp, dp, hdmi, dvi-i sl, dvi-i dl
    {"Lotus",        3}, // 6000 - dp, dp, hdmi
    {"Ipomoea",      3}, // 6000 - dp, hdmi, vga
    {"Muskgrass",    4}, // 6000 - dp, hdmi, dp, dp
use common sense ;)
You will probably need to edit one of those personalities with the correct port layout for your card,
if you want to get all ports working. See bcc9's tuto.

evilIOPCIFamily.kext and evilAppleACPIPlatform.kext shouldn't matter; doesn't npci=0x2000 work for you,
instead of those kexts?
« Last Edit: July 26, 2011, 05:32:08 AM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

akbar102

  • Observer
  • Posts: 20
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #56 on: July 26, 2011, 06:18:40 AM »
Code: [Select]
hum... maybe; the new code doesn't add that value, must be the system.
The legacy code also doesn't add it, but in this case i don't see the value in your ioreg.
Don't know if aty_init adds it to ioreg or if it's only the system working???.

i don't now that injector add this value or system but.in new code before sleep you can see this value in GFX@0
section and after sleep this value don't exist anymore.
but in ATY before and after sleep value exist

akbar102

  • Observer
  • Posts: 20
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #57 on: July 26, 2011, 11:18:47 AM »
hi azimutz
i am upgrade to 10.7.2 and add all of the missing entry from ATY_Init to new code
but without any success.i think the problem is where that injector play with power setting.

danimal

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #58 on: July 26, 2011, 12:05:37 PM »
Hi Azimutz

Just wanted to drop you a thanks for your help getting my 4670 working. I took your advice about editing the fb to suit my needs and now both of my DVI ports are working AND dvd player works as well. Dual monitors and learned something in the process, can't ask for more than that. Thanks again you da man.

d'animal

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #59 on: July 26, 2011, 09:09:33 PM »
but without any success.i think the problem is where that injector play with power setting.
yep, i was going to mention power management one of these days but forgot.
GE does no power setting.. i don't even know were to start there?!

Just wanted to drop you a thanks for your help getting my 4670 working. I took your advice about editing the fb to suit my needs and now both of my DVI ports are working AND dvd player works as well. Dual monitors and learned something in the process, can't ask for more than that. Thanks again you da man.
Hi Danimal; glad to help :)
Going to add now a specific entry for your card, though you could live with the default one:
Code: [Select]
{ 0x9490,    0x00000000, CHIP_FAMILY_RV730,        "ATI Radeon HD 4600 Series",        kFlicker    },as far as i can see, you wont even need to use AtiConfig=Flicker, since the fb is already there (kFlicker).
By the way, you have the perfect hardware to help me test something... can you show up on irc?
Or any were else you like?... irc is: attila.voodooprojects.org or attila.osx86.hu, #Chameleon channel :)

And thanks for your feedback; was very helpful ;)
« Last Edit: July 26, 2011, 10:41:07 PM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT