overdue-scratch

Author Topic: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!  (Read 190257 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Sapessi

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 2
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #135 on: August 19, 2011, 06:05:21 PM »
This is the mention of the issue: http://forge.voodooprojects.org/p/chameleon/issues/121/
my videocard is an ATI HD 6650M 2 GB PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_6741&SUBSYS_050E1025&REV_00

oK?


Mod notes: missing feedback. issue 121.

Motive for edit:
add info.

Hi, i have read that you add this , but i have installed the latest version of chameleon, and it show me that the card is unsupported...

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #136 on: August 19, 2011, 11:51:31 PM »
...perhaps i could load an alternate rom?(which other cards are R730?) my understanding is that my card is a PCI-E with a bridge to the AGP built on...AGPgart seems to work still...i'll send along my ioregistryexplorer output from when  i had the x1650 pro agp installed...
 
Robertx, your ioreg just shows the stuff injected by Chameleon, the two Megalodon ports, etc...;
you get Megalodon because it's the default framebuffer for missing/unsupported dev ids, on the old code.
Besides that, no accelerator connected (ATIRadeonXy00.kext) or Controller; see the pics attached, mine against yours.
Sorry but, i can't help you with this; you need much more than the booter can do and i'm on vacation mode :)

Hi, i have read that you add this , but i have installed the latest version of chameleon, and it show me that the card is unsupported...
Hi Sapessi... glad to see you back ;)
Wrong quote; you should have quoted this:
Hi Sapessi; just added your stuff; will update the package on the first post soon, so we can test;
if all works fine i'll add the card's info to the trunk :)
Your device is indeed added, to 1st post package and trunk.
You need ATIConfig=aFramebuffer or you'll get unsupported; i don't know yet what fb to set...
« Last Edit: August 28, 2011, 05:44:54 PM by Azimutz »
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

robertx

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #137 on: August 20, 2011, 12:46:34 AM »
Damn...sent you the wrong ioreg....sorry...meant to send one from x1650 pro(ATYWormy)...oh well...i think the agp is ok(somehow)as i've got the other cards accelerated...i may do some more reading...and then maybe open-heart surgery on the 4600 driver set...i'll post back (somewhere)...if i have any success...thanks for your time Az... just for curiosity...i think this is the x1650 pro ioreg...again thx
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 12:52:27 AM by robertx »

mckibble

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 8
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #138 on: August 20, 2011, 01:45:16 AM »
Mackibble, use
Code: [Select]
ioreg -lfw0to get the ioreg; these are not what we call "full" :)
But these are interesting to, i see now...
Do you have XCode installed?

Learn something new everyday!

The output of ioreg is attached. Also I have included the file saved from IORegistryExplorer.

I have XCode 3.2.

Azimutz

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 420
  • Paranoid Android
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #139 on: August 20, 2011, 02:57:02 AM »
Damn...sent you the wrong ioreg....sorry...
No problem...
Ok, there's life in this one, but i doubt it's Chameleon's work; maybe the booter plays a small role is this, but
you have patched ATIRadeonX1000.kext & ATI1600Controller.kext (71c5 --> 71c6), and agpgart apparently does the rest.
Was GraphicsEnabler=Y really needed for this patch to work?

For this new card you need the same recipe (??), but with X2000 & 4600Controller kexts.
Dev id 9490 would be the best to patch, i guess... but i don't know how to do it, not on X2000/3000 kexts.
 System & Patches: http://goo.gl/i961
 Chameleon:
- trunk builds: http://goo.gl/9G1Hq
- pref pane: http://goo.gl/OL2UT

robertx

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #140 on: August 20, 2011, 05:20:16 AM »
...to be clear...seems i need agpgart for any true acceleration...with any of these cards...
and to your other point...the x1600 and x1650 agp cards would both fully function with almost any injector(including GraphicsEnabler)on system 10.5.2->10.6.8...but i duel-boot :o win7 and osx and those cards bite...hence the 4670...i also had an EVGA 9400GT PCI :lol: which worked fine...but too slow...thanks for indulging me Az....I'll look into the 9490 device...could i just boot and let GraphicsEnabler try to load the rom file of the identical HIS card(PCI-E) ? ...couldn't be that easy...
« Last Edit: August 20, 2011, 05:22:59 AM by robertx »

dontomaso

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #141 on: August 26, 2011, 07:58:45 PM »
Hello Azimutz,

Thank you and respect for this topic.

I have 10.7 Lion and also the AMD Radeon HD 6470M graphics in my Dell Vostro 3350 notebook, but this notebook has also the integrated Sandy Bridge Intel HD 3000 Onboard Graphics.

As far as I know the 6470M graphics is routed through the Intel HD 3000, do you think this configuration could be supported by Chameleon?

Currently I get only graphics output on HDMI and only by the Intel HD 3000 as you can see on the attached pictures.

I am really new noob :o to this topic can you please point me some link or wiki where I can understand more how graphics is working with a real mac and with Chameleon?
 
As far as I try to put together from the several info on the web in my mind:

On a real mac the bootloader gets the graphics information from the EFI firmware of the GPU and loads the correct information into the device tree, so the kernel can load the ATIFramebuffer.kext with the right framebuffer personality (connectorinfo, etc.) and then the correct ATI controller kext gets loaded. This has changed somehow in 10.7 where connectorinfo is no more in ATIFramebuffer.kext but in ATI controller kexts, I don’t know how personalities are used in 10.7 moreover who gives these funny names to framebuffer personalities, engineers at apple?  ???

On a hackintosh chameleon can detect and inject graphics information from the BIOS/firmware of the GPU into the device tree so the kernel loads the ATI framebuffer but in several cases not with the right personality that’s why we need AtiConfig=someFramebuffer to experiment with. Moreover LVDS is a pain to get working and one needs hack some framebuffer personality to match the graphics connectors and try with every possible framebuffer until it works.  :lol no:

Thanks for every info to my noobnes :-[ you may have.  ;)


 

dontomaso

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #142 on: August 27, 2011, 06:08:40 PM »
Update,

LVDS is working now with Intel HD3000 FULL QE/CI and HDMI too with extended desktop or mirroring ;D they key to this was to use the correct smbios.plist in Extra, one which contains data for MacBookPro8,1 or MacBookPro8,2 or MacBookPro8,3 no matter.

It is working with and without GraphicsEnabler too, I think in this CPU's integrated graphics there is no difference in firmware/video BIOS between a real mac and a PC, both are using the same Intel SandyBridge microarchitecture. So it is added to the device tree without the need of GraphicsEnabler but you need the right smbios.plist so the correct connectorinfo gets used from AppleIntelHDGraphics.kext

Still I wonder if AMD Radeon HD 6470M could work, the problem is that without the loaded driver it just sits there unused and can not switch off or power saving mode thus generating lot of heat making the fan run all the time and draining battery much quicker :( unfortunately I can not switch it off in BIOS.

pauldmps

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 4
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #143 on: August 28, 2011, 06:32:31 PM »
Here comes mine:

Code: [Select]

Video Adapter: AMD Radeon HD 6630M
GPU Code Name: NI Whistler
VendorID : 1002
DeviceID: 6741
SubsysID: 104d:9080 (Sony corp.)
Memory Size: 1024 MB

"sudo lspci -nnvd 0x1002: | grep -B2 Subsystem" Output:

Code: [Select]
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc NI Whistler [AMD Radeon HD 6600M Series] [1002:6741] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: Sony Corporation Unknown device [104d:9080]

My laptop has dual GPU. Intel HD3000 & AMD HD6630M. The Intel one in working perfectly with Lion but the AMD one just sits there eating up battery. As a result, I get 5hrs+ on Windows while less than 2hrs on OSX.

As the poster above, in my laptop too, the AMD card is connected to the the Intel which in in turn connected to the display. This is the new Muxless config which you'll see in all future laptops with switchable GPUs be it AMD or NVIDIA.

I don't know if Apple Macbooks too have such muxless configuration but from what I've heard, all laptops with IntelHD & AMD HD6xxx card are muxless. I can't confirm though.

So I either need to get the card working or disable it under OSX. I couldn't find a way to do the latter, so I expect that you might help with the card.

I'm using Chimera 1.4.1 based on Chameleon r877. It gives "ATI card POSTed, reading VBIOS from legacy space" when booted with GraphicsEnabler=Yes.

Both ATI6000Controller.kext & ATIRadeonX3000.kext gets loaded by default with GraphicsEnabler=no but the card name isn't detected. IOreg shows that no framebuffer is being loaded for the card.

The same card HD6630M is used in MacMini 2011 models while a higher clocked version (same chip) HD6750M is used in MacbookPro 2011. So theoretically it should work under OSX.







Ludacrisvp

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #144 on: August 30, 2011, 07:29:34 AM »
Hello,
Any ideas why I can no longer use DVI -> HDMI cable after making the changes for 10.6.8? on 10.6.7 it worked perfectly. I am using Evoenabler Syphrna framebuffer on RC4 684.
I will have display on the HDMI cable until the desktop loads then I can only use DVI -> VGA adapter to see the screen and then I am unable to use the 1920x1200x32@60 resolution that I need, the best it does is 1600x1200x32@60 over the VGA cable (it does list 1920x1440x32@60 but my display looks terrible with that set as native is 1920x1200.
Any ideas?

I have resorted to using switch res x4 as adding the "Graphics Mode"="1920x1200x32" has no effect to the boot resolution anymore.
I have also attached an IOREG of the system in use. below is what "Graphics/Displays" and "PCI Cards" in Profiler Show along with lspci.
Code: [Select]
10.6.8 vanilla, x86,
ATI Radeon X1300 All In Wonder 2006 Gold Edition:

  Chipset Model: ATI Radeon X1300 All In Wonder 2006 Gold Edition
  Type: GPU
  Bus: PCIe
  Slot: Slot-1
  PCIe Lane Width: x8
  VRAM (Total): 256 MB
  Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
  Device ID: 0x7146
  Revision ID: 0x0000
  ROM Revision: 113-B7710C-176
  EFI Driver Version: 01.00.318
  Displays:
SwitchResX4 - VGA/SVGA Display:
  Resolution: 1920 x 1200 @ 60 Hz
  Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
  Main Display: Yes
  Mirror: Off
  Online: Yes
  Rotation: Supported

ATI Radeon X1300 All In Wonder 2006 Gold Edition:

  Name: ATY,Sphyrna
  Type: Display Controller
  Driver Installed: Yes
  MSI: Yes
  Bus: PCI
  Slot: Slot-1
  Vendor ID: 0x1002
  Device ID: 0x7146
  Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1002
  Subsystem ID: 0x0322
  Revision ID: 0x0000
  Link Width: x8
  Link Speed: 2.5 GT/s

ATI Radeon X1300 All In Wonder 2006 Gold Edition:

  Name: ATY,Sphyrna
  Type: Display Controller
  Driver Installed: Yes
  MSI: No
  Bus: PCI
  Slot: Slot-1
  Vendor ID: 0x1002
  Device ID: 0x7166
  Subsystem Vendor ID: 0x1002
  Subsystem ID: 0x0323
  Revision ID: 0x0000
  Link Width: x8
  Link Speed: 2.5 GT/s

eweimant110-osx:~ erikweiman$ sudo lspci -nnvd 0x1002: | grep -B2 Subsystem
Password:
pcilib: 0000:01:00.0 64-bit device address ignored.
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc RV515 [Radeon X1300] [1002:7146] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc All-in-Wonder 2006 PCI-E Edition [1002:0322]
--

01:00.1 Display controller [0380]: ATI Technologies Inc RV515 [Radeon X1300] (Secondary) [1002:7166]
Subsystem: ATI Technologies Inc All-in-Wonder 2006 PCI-E Edition (Secondary) [1002:0323]


ophtha72

  • Observer
  • Posts: 12
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #145 on: August 30, 2011, 04:48:07 PM »
Hi, Azimutz.
Long time to see you.

I gave up installing V4800 in hacintosh.
Instead, I got new fire pro graphic controller, V9800.
Can you please add the ATI firegl V9800 which is almost identical to HD5870 eyefinity6 except memory size(4GB in V9800 vs 2GB in 5870). V9800 has 6 mini-displayport output port.


PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_688a&SUBSYS_031e1002&REV_00
Subsystem ID = 031e
Subsystem Vendor ID = 1002
BIOS Version   012.014.000.005
Memory Size   4096 MB   


Is it logical that I use Zonalis as frame buffer?


Thanks in advance and hope you wish me luck :).

pauldmps

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 4
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #146 on: September 02, 2011, 05:03:39 AM »
No reply from devs, neither here nor in the issue tracker. I don't understand that if they're not interested in relying then why care asking users for feedback.

MadMungo

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 6
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #147 on: September 02, 2011, 06:04:07 AM »
No reply from devs, neither here nor in the issue tracker. I don't understand that if they're not interested in relying then why care asking users for feedback.

Do not fret Azimutz has said he will be busy for a couple of weeks so may not post as frequently. When he gets the time I am positive he will be back with a flourish.

pauldmps

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 4
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #148 on: September 02, 2011, 06:45:18 AM »
^^ He is online everyday & not answering posts 4-5days old?

I understand that Devs do a hard work but when you've started a thread you must follow it.

iostres

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 4
Re: ATI/AMD GraphicsEnabler support (legacy, modules & missing devices)!
« Reply #149 on: September 02, 2011, 10:28:13 AM »
When you work voluntarily in open source community there is no such thing you MUST do.