overdue-scratch

Author Topic: How to remove boot message like "boot0 done"  (Read 9906 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

fkpwolf

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
How to remove boot message like "boot0 done"
« on: October 05, 2011, 02:11:39 AM »
I can boot successfully but when I want to remove this message when booting. It is a little annoying.
« Last Edit: October 05, 2011, 09:42:27 AM by fkpwolf »

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: How to remove boot message like "boot0 done"
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2011, 12:45:44 AM »
Hi fkpwolf

As far as I know that is hard coded in the boot0 code. Check /i386/boot0.s from here.

So other than changing the source code, the only other option I can think of is to maybe add the 'Quiet Boot=Yes' boot option in your org.chameleon.Boot.plist, but without testing it I can't remember if that takes effect once the stage 2 loader (boot) is executed.
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

cparm

  • Observer
  • Posts: 12
Re: How to remove boot message like "boot0 done"
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2011, 01:18:25 PM »
I can boot successfully but when I want to remove this message when booting. It is a little annoying.
hi ,
 
with the trunk,

open the terminal:

cd /to_the_chameleon_dir

then tape:

make config

you will see this:



be sure that "boot0 verbose support" and "boot0 debug support" are not selected,

exit and make.

with the releases not based on the trunk, open with your preferred editor i386/boot0/boot0.s or i386/boot0/boot0hfs.s or i386/boot0/boot0md.s, depending on the boot0 that you want to use,

find :

Code: [Select]
;
; Set to 1 to enable obscure debug messages.
;
DEBUG EQU  0

;
; Set to 1 to enable verbose mode
;
VERBOSE EQU  0

and set both to 0

voila  :) :'(

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: How to remove boot message like "boot0 done"
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2011, 06:04:30 PM »
Nice reply cparm. Thanks for stepping in.
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

fkpwolf

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to remove boot message like "boot0 done"
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2011, 06:45:42 PM »
Hi fkpwolf

As far as I know that is hard coded in the boot0 code. Check /i386/boot0.s from here.

So other than changing the source code, the only other option I can think of is to maybe add the 'Quiet Boot=Yes' boot option in your org.chameleon.Boot.plist, but without testing it I can't remember if that takes effect once the stage 2 loader (boot) is executed.

I added the key/value, but then the os select menu disappear and enter windows directly.

fkpwolf

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to remove boot message like "boot0 done"
« Reply #5 on: October 06, 2011, 06:52:14 PM »
I want to directly modify boot0*.s file. So I still need to check out code and compile, then replace old boot0 file with new build one? I knew there are some commands to write boot0 to MBR. Which boot*.s file I should choose?

Thanks for your excellent post cparm.

Mod edit: There's no need to quote a complete post when replying.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2011, 08:05:10 PM by Blackosx »

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: How to remove boot message like "boot0 done"
« Reply #6 on: October 06, 2011, 08:03:28 PM »
Which boot*.s file I should choose?
Generally speaking,
boot0 looks to load boot1 from the first active HFS partition.
boot0hfs looks to load boot1 from the first bootable HFS partition.
boot0md looks to load boot1 from everywhere  :P (A proper description can be found here).

Boot0md has pretty much superseded boot0hfs and you would use either boot0hfs or boot0md when dual booting with Windows from a different partition on the same HDD as OS X.
« Last Edit: October 06, 2011, 08:07:42 PM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

jfpolo

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 3
Re: How to remove boot message like "boot0 done"
« Reply #7 on: October 13, 2011, 05:29:19 PM »
Hi fkpwolf

As far as I know that is hard coded in the boot0 code. Check /i386/boot0.s from here.

So other than changing the source code, the only other option I can think of is to maybe add the 'Quiet Boot=Yes' boot option in your org.chameleon.Boot.plist, but without testing it I can't remember if that takes effect once the stage 2 loader (boot) is executed.
in the org.chameleon.Boot.plist file add "Boot Banner"=No