Author Topic: ChameleonPrefPane revived  (Read 16365 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #15 on: December 02, 2011, 08:07:58 PM »
Hi Rek

Just loaded the Pref pane to have a play with it and the first issue I see is the disk identifiers are all shown as hd(0,X)?  Even those that should be hd(1,X).

See attached screenshot.

EDIT: Clicking 'Swap hd 0<->1' on the Boot Setup page corrects the hd identifiers on the Startup Disk page. It's just not right on initial load.
« Last Edit: December 02, 2011, 08:35:57 PM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

rekursor

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 47
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2011, 01:59:17 AM »
Thanks, this is FIXED in r378 and also restored corrupted status text, dunno who broke that but that's restored now :)
Also fixed authorizations on Lion in rev 380
« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 03:23:16 AM by rekursor »

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2011, 09:45:51 AM »
Testing rev 381 now and yes the HD identifiers are now correctly shown on launch. And now, clicking the Swap hd 0<->1 checkbox now correctly swaps the hd identifiers on the Startup Disk page, which it didn't before. Thanks.

Okay time for another test and report (one at a time....  ;))

I like the new 'Error while searching for org.chameleon.Boot.plist' message. Thing is I haven't been able to get the pref pane to find my /Extra/org.chameleon.Boot.plist. I can point to it in the 'Boot Config Path' (see attached pic) on the Boot Setup page but that doesn't change the status of the red error message, or populate the pref pane with my boot options etc.

To give an overview. Right now my system is set up with with 2 HDD's. One HDD has a partition named 'Mac' which contains an OS X Lion installation and also has my /Extra folder. I boot in to Chameleon on that HDD then choose to select and boot another OS X installation on the other HDD named 'MainSystem. It's from this system that I am running now and have the pref pane running from. (You can see my diskutil list in my earlier post above if it helps.)

So to conclude. The pref pane doesn't find my /Extra folder (the path to it is shown in the attached pic).
« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 09:54:06 AM by Blackosx »
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

rekursor

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 47
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #18 on: December 03, 2011, 05:51:38 PM »
Fixed in r383 Thanks!

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #19 on: December 03, 2011, 07:10:15 PM »
Fix confirmed.  :)
I'll test some more when I get a chance.
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

ErmaC

  • Resident
  • Posts: 134
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #20 on: December 03, 2011, 10:03:47 PM »
Hi rekursor
I try to "build" myself your last 385 (Fixed xcode 4 incompatibilities, cleaned up warnings and error in xcode4)

But I still have some warnings and Errors...
Some warnings are related to "Chameleon.string" easy to fix just convert it from unicode-8 to 16,
but for the other... no idea  ???

Fabio
« Last Edit: December 03, 2011, 10:16:01 PM by ErmaC »
P6T Deluxe v1 i7 940 Quadro Fx 5600
P6T SE i7 920 GeForce GT 240

rekursor

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 47
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2011, 11:32:27 PM »
Hi ErmaC,
it builds and compile fine here :(
On latest builds (in bin/OSX106 if you can't build them) I just Added Appla SMBIOS Extraction  8)
It also automatically open a plist file that I auto-create with your parsed SMBIOS info !

Cheers,
Rek

ErmaC

  • Resident
  • Posts: 134
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #22 on: December 03, 2011, 11:44:30 PM »
Thx for the fast reply!

Ok download/update your commit 387.
What I done....
convert the 4 Chameleon.string from UTF-8 to UTF-16, this "fix" the 4 warnings...
But still one error as you can see from the screenshot.

Maybe in the next commit I can help you with the localization (Italian)

Fabio
P6T Deluxe v1 i7 940 Quadro Fx 5600
P6T SE i7 920 GeForce GT 240

rekursor

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 47
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #23 on: December 03, 2011, 11:49:01 PM »
EDIT:
Found the problem with Xcode 4 :)

Now there is indeed a pb with string files, It was already broken since I came back to it, so some{one|thing} must have broken them.

If you guys could have a look at them (i.e. the international ones), that would be great many thanks in advance ;)

ErmaC

  • Resident
  • Posts: 134
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #24 on: December 04, 2011, 12:02:19 AM »
Commit 389.
Nice ! encoding problem... gone.
Still one problem in "64" and two in "32"
See screenshot.

Edit:
I try to "correct" for the 32 version
from:
NSLog(@"object at column %@ row %ld Set %@", [[tableColumn headerCell] stringValue], row, object);
to:
NSLog(@"object at column %@ row %d Set %@", [[tableColumn headerCell] stringValue], row, object);

this fix the warning but make a new one in 64
 :'(
Fabio
« Last Edit: December 04, 2011, 12:05:57 AM by ErmaC »
P6T Deluxe v1 i7 940 Quadro Fx 5600
P6T SE i7 920 GeForce GT 240

rekursor

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 47
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #25 on: December 04, 2011, 12:25:02 AM »
Warning are ok, though I generally get rid of them from time to time :)
It does not prevent a correct build, I am improving apple smbios dump parsings presently so i won't remove some of the warnings because they will disappear later ;)

Blackosx

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 1150
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #26 on: December 04, 2011, 12:25:40 AM »
Hey Fabio - Good to see you here :)

Rek - Just loaded the pref pane and noticed that by default on the Boot Setup page, the Rescue Boot CD Creator shows the Extra folder as /Extra, even though the Boot Config Path above points to the correct location. Could you make the Rescue Boot CD Creator, Extra folder match the Boot Config Path, if populated? See attached screenshot.

Thanks
10.10.5 / 10.11 GM1 | Asus Maximum IV Gene-Z | i7-2600 3.40GHz | 4GB | Radeon 5770 1GB

rekursor

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 47
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #27 on: December 04, 2011, 01:05:16 AM »
Done in r394 :)
All paths are pointing to the same directory each time you change the extra dir location.
It should be still possible to change them before running the cd boot iso creation
« Last Edit: December 04, 2011, 01:07:37 AM by rekursor »

ErmaC

  • Resident
  • Posts: 134
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #28 on: December 04, 2011, 01:17:00 AM »
You right rek!
Now the project compile fine with just the same warning relate to "unused uuid variable" but compile and work fine.

See the screenshot.
green box is possible localize this message? (now is showed because I use Efi partition)
blue circle.. Is possible use icon instead of actual button?
like this:



Fabio
« Last Edit: December 04, 2011, 01:25:38 AM by ErmaC »
P6T Deluxe v1 i7 940 Quadro Fx 5600
P6T SE i7 920 GeForce GT 240

ErmaC

  • Resident
  • Posts: 134
Re: ChameleonPrefPane revived
« Reply #29 on: December 04, 2011, 01:51:34 AM »
Well done!
commit 395 compile w/o error on my Xcode4.2(4C199)

Fabio
P6T Deluxe v1 i7 940 Quadro Fx 5600
P6T SE i7 920 GeForce GT 240