overdue-scratch

Author Topic: Please give more details on the boot process  (Read 3779 times)

tempolo

• My own Hackintosh page
Please give more details on the boot process
« on: June 13, 2009, 05:47:09 PM »
Hi, I'm rather new to hackintoshing, but I've been a Mac software developer for about 15 years.

I have some understanding of low level things, e.g. I've written a x-platform GUI disk editor to analyse various file systems and fix classic iPods with iPodLinux on them ("iBored"), but I have little to no understand of the OS X boot process so far.

As I am trying to get OSX running on a Asus 1008HA, for which there is no complete solution yet, I like to ask a few questions that may help me understand and debug a few things:

First, where exactly is defined where the boot loader looks for the Extras folder? Does it always look automatically for an EFI partition and looks inside for a HFS+ partition and the Extras folder therein, and if it doesn't find it there, does it keep looking on all other HFS+ partitions until it finds one?

Or is the locatition hard-coded into the boot loader (probably boot0 and boot1h, right?) at the time it gets copied into MBR or GUID book block?

Furthermore, if the disk uses classic MBR partitioning, where does the boot0 end up? Does it really fit into the ~220 bytes of block 0 on the disk? Or where's the rest of it, exactly? (I like to find it on the disk)

And I assume that this boot0 code then uses the PC BIOS calls to load more code and finally the EFI emulator, is that right? Where is this EFI emulator? Is that in the "boot" file? That would mean that the boot0 code already has to be able to read HFS+, because the boot file is in a HFS+ partition, right?