overdue-scratch

Author Topic: [Closed - not a feature request] Change to GraphiceEnabler feature  (Read 2439 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

BladeRunner

  • Member
  • Posts: 88
[Closed - not a feature request] Change to GraphiceEnabler feature
« on: September 07, 2009, 11:50:48 AM »
My system board has a built in Intel  graphics support - very old.  I use an EVGA GeForce 8400 GS PCI plugin card for graphics support.  It works quite well using device properties strings.

When I remove the EFI strings and add the GraphicsEnabler option to the Boot.plist file the display is stuck in 1280x1024 resolution.  I suspect that this is because the built in "Display" is found first when searching the IORegiestry.

I believe this may be the cause because when I was building my EFI strings and used the gfxutil program to get the PciRoot for the string and it didn't work.  Note the result from gfxutil below and the actual PciRoot used in the device string.

Code: [Select]
lrh InstallPatch $ ./gfxutil -f display
DevicePath = PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)
lrh InstallPatch $ grep PciRoot  Rainbow.plist.txt
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1e,0x0)/Pci(0xa,0x0)</key>

If there is any "reasonable" way to do it I would like to have the option of adding the PCI address for the active display to the Boot.plist file to support the GraphicsEnabler option.  That would let me remove the EFI strings.
 
This is in no way a disparagement of the fine work done by the Chameleon team - just because my system is a bit strange.
« Last Edit: September 07, 2009, 07:10:24 PM by BladeRunner »
Base system: HP Pavilion P6340f Desktop  Intel� Core2Quad�  CPU: Speed: 2.66 GHz   Package: Socket 775 LGA:  L2 Cache 2 x 2048 KB  RAM : 8.0 GB:  DDR3

Disks : 2 eSATA @ 2 TB (hardware raid 1), NAS 4 x 2 TB raid 5 Display : 21" Samsung on EVGA GeForce 9400 GT - PCIe - 1900x1080  Keyboard/mouse :  USB connected  OS Version : 10.6.0 from retail DVD + SW update to 10.6.5 - Kernel:  Vanilla mach_kernel

Kabyl

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 158
Re: Change to GraphiceEnabler feature
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2009, 03:52:43 PM »
boot with '-v Wait=y'

BladeRunner

  • Member
  • Posts: 88
Re: Change to GraphiceEnabler feature
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2009, 04:51:11 PM »
boot with '-v Wait=y'


I appreciate the reply, but I am totally confused.  Not the first time that has happened :)

What will "Wait=y" do to change the result for GraphicsEnabler option?
Base system: HP Pavilion P6340f Desktop  Intel� Core2Quad�  CPU: Speed: 2.66 GHz   Package: Socket 775 LGA:  L2 Cache 2 x 2048 KB  RAM : 8.0 GB:  DDR3

Disks : 2 eSATA @ 2 TB (hardware raid 1), NAS 4 x 2 TB raid 5 Display : 21" Samsung on EVGA GeForce 9400 GT - PCIe - 1900x1080  Keyboard/mouse :  USB connected  OS Version : 10.6.0 from retail DVD + SW update to 10.6.5 - Kernel:  Vanilla mach_kernel

Kabyl

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 158
Re: Change to GraphiceEnabler feature
« Reply #3 on: September 07, 2009, 05:59:43 PM »
Nothing, it will just stop right before it jumps to the kernel, and gives you the chance to read the messages.

BladeRunner

  • Member
  • Posts: 88
Re: Change to GraphiceEnabler feature
« Reply #4 on: September 07, 2009, 06:02:06 PM »
Nothing, it will just stop right before it jumps to the kernel, and gives you the chance to read the messages.


Oh!  OK!  What a clever idea.:)
Base system: HP Pavilion P6340f Desktop  Intel� Core2Quad�  CPU: Speed: 2.66 GHz   Package: Socket 775 LGA:  L2 Cache 2 x 2048 KB  RAM : 8.0 GB:  DDR3

Disks : 2 eSATA @ 2 TB (hardware raid 1), NAS 4 x 2 TB raid 5 Display : 21" Samsung on EVGA GeForce 9400 GT - PCIe - 1900x1080  Keyboard/mouse :  USB connected  OS Version : 10.6.0 from retail DVD + SW update to 10.6.5 - Kernel:  Vanilla mach_kernel

BladeRunner

  • Member
  • Posts: 88
Re: Change to GraphiceEnabler feature
« Reply #5 on: September 07, 2009, 07:09:27 PM »
OK! I used the Wait-Yes to see the messages.  My analysis of the problem was clearly wrong.  The messages displayed had the correct PCI address for the graphics and ethernet cards.

I ran some tests.  I ran ioreg while booted using the EFI strings in the device properties string.  Then, I rebooted after removing the device properties string and adding the GraphicsEnabler option.  This time, the display was limited to 1024x768 resolution.  I ran the same ioreg command again.
Code: [Select]
ioreg  -f -l -p IODeviceTree > ioreg-enabled.txtand then ran a diff command.

One thing is clear.  The ioreg with the device properties i vastly different than when I use the GraphicsEnabler option.

so, this should not be a feature request any longer.  Can you suggest any other steps I can take to help resolve the issue?  Would a different ioreg command be better?  I can make a new thread in the bug report area and upload the two ioreg output files.
Base system: HP Pavilion P6340f Desktop  Intel� Core2Quad�  CPU: Speed: 2.66 GHz   Package: Socket 775 LGA:  L2 Cache 2 x 2048 KB  RAM : 8.0 GB:  DDR3

Disks : 2 eSATA @ 2 TB (hardware raid 1), NAS 4 x 2 TB raid 5 Display : 21" Samsung on EVGA GeForce 9400 GT - PCIe - 1900x1080  Keyboard/mouse :  USB connected  OS Version : 10.6.0 from retail DVD + SW update to 10.6.5 - Kernel:  Vanilla mach_kernel