Author Topic: CPUID OVERRIDE patch!  (Read 8294 times)

george205

• Entrant
CPUID OVERRIDE patch!
« on: September 02, 2009, 02:29:39 AM »
 Hello! [I have written a similar post at "http://chameleon.osx86.hu/articles/chameleon-20rc2-is-available-with-new-features-and-less-bugs" and at:"http://netkas.org/?p=175" a few days ago].

I was wondering if it is possible to make a build-in CPUID vendor override option/patch inside chameleon, so all AMD cpus will appear as Intel to the osX. I believe that something like that will give the ability to amd users to boot from retail/vanilla kernel but after all I’m not a programmer. So I would like to have your opinion about this.
 I have to add that there is already CPUID override “ability” on QEMU,BOCHS and KVM and I think that XEN has this ability too, but I’m not sure. Anyway,all those programs are open-sourced, so the code is already available to all of us. Secondly,there is a cpu from VIA,the via nano cpu, with unlocked cpuid from the factory! ;-)

Kabyl

• VoodooLabs
Re: CPUID OVERRIDE patch!
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2009, 02:15:35 PM »
And I thought I've replied to your comment..

george205

• Entrant
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2009, 03:42:00 PM »
Hey kabyl,nice to hearing from you again! This is our previous "conversation" after my first post:
#

Kabyl · 27. August 2009, 18:57 · #

george205,
Even if that is possible, it’s not a good idea, as there are checks for the cpuid to enable CPU features and to access registers and MSRs unique to each family or model.
#

george205 · 27. August 2009, 21:24 · #

Hello again! Thanks for your quick response Kabyl! I believe that you don’t have to change the values of all the MSR’s.It seems pointless to me,and could be rather messy for a system. I think that you only have to patch the Vendor:(Authenticamd to Genuineintel) and the brand string:[example: Dual-Core AMD Opteron™ Processor 8214 to Dual-Core Intel® Xeon®