Chameleon > General Discussion

Chameleon FAQ (v1.1)

(1/5) > >>

rocksteady:
• 3 vfaqs actually unrelated to our forum:

1. I installed Chameleon on my real Mac and now all hell broke loose! HELP! BIG PROBLEM PLZ!

2. I want to put Mac OS X on my PC! How do I get started?

3. Chameleon won't boot my 16 OSs! HELP! Chameleon Bug? This sucks, I want to go back to xyz bootloader!

• Chameleon Basics & a myth(buster):

1. What is Chameleon?

2. How do I obtain Chameleon? Where can I download Chameleon from?

3a. Will Chameleon turn my PC / generic hardware / cheap box into a Mac?

3b. Why?

3c. But I see all those listings/places on the web that sell ready-made hackintoshes? Some claim that their machines run Chameleon!

• Installing, Upgrading, Downgrading & Uninstalling Chameleon:

4. How do I install Chameleon?

5. How do I install Chameleon manually? How do I upgrade/downgrade Chameleon?

6. Can you make a step-by-step guide for installing Chameleon manually? I'm new to this and I'd like a pointer...

7. Where should I install Chameleon? EFI or MacOS X partition? What's the deal with EFI? Will it turn my PC into a real Mac?

8. I want to get rid of Chameleon. Where's the Uninstall button?

• Customizing & Fine-tuning Chameleon:

9. Whoa! I installed Chameleon, I can boot to OS X just fine, how do I go about fine-tuning my system?

10. How do I fine-tune my /Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist? How can I make a boot option to have a permanent effect? What's the syntax for com.apple.Boot.plist options?

11. How do I fine-tune my kexts? What's the best kexts for my system? What's the deal with kexts vs. mkext?

12. What about Themes? The Default one is OK can I have more? How do I change Themes? I want to create my own, how do I get started?

• Miscellanea:

13. Great work! What can I do to help the development of Chameleon? I'd like to give something back.

14. What about Chameleon's latest feature about BlahBlah?