Voodooprojects

Chameleon => General Discussion => Topic started by: HNVIJAY on June 04, 2010, 03:34:52 PM

Title: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 04, 2010, 03:34:52 PM
I have installed Snowleopard 10.6.3 on my Netbook Asus EeePC 1201N.
Its a dual boot MBR partition. I am using Chameleon Boot loader 2.0 rc4 to boot the OS.
First primary  partition is Windows 7(NTFS) and the third primary partition is OSX and this partition is flagged as ACTIVE. 

Windows 7  expects its partition to be ACTIVE for Hibernation to work.
Chameleon bootloader also expects its partition to be ACTIVE.

Is there a workaround or Can I install Chamelon on windows partition?


Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: r0m30 on June 05, 2010, 12:53:08 AM
Hi,

Have a look  here  (http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,1141.0.html) for a discussion of the problem and a fix that will hopefully make it into the next RC.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 05, 2010, 08:40:43 PM
Hi R0m30,

Thanks for the quick reply. Can I get access to the boot0 patch or should I have to wait till RC5 is released.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: r0m30 on June 06, 2010, 08:05:11 AM
If you look at reply #6 on the thread Blackosx has attached the new boot0 to the thread.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 07, 2010, 11:30:23 AM
With this boot0 patch, Hibernation works fine on Windows 7. Thanks r0m30.

Other issue(s) with ACTIVE flag set.

Looks like Chameleon checks for  ACTIVE partition at other places and they do not work as advertized with this boot0 fix.
One of the case is, if the ACTIVE flag is NOT set to OSX(HFS+) partition, custom Themes(/Extra/Themes) DO NOT work  even though you have entry for themes in /Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist file and it reverts back to Default. 

The same fix can be applied in this case.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on June 09, 2010, 03:04:08 AM
@HNVIJAY, try using the latest trunk.. that boot0 @r0m30 pointed is a bit outdated; there were also some changes regarding themes on the trunk since then. If you don't know how to checkout the source and compile, check my Mediafire (http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=54d9302b31a30a2cab1eab3e9fa335ca46f1438a82747a6c). Please note that the file is called "boot0hfs"... what it does is look for a hfs partition instead of looking for a Active one, as "boot0" does.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 10, 2010, 10:57:00 PM
@Azimutz, tried the precompiled binary of the latest trunk from the mediafire link. With boot0hfs, there is NO  GUI at all :( .
I could boot through the CLI to windows and also OSX.

I also tried replacing  boot1h and the boot files with the same result.

Am I missing something?
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Blackosx on June 11, 2010, 10:59:30 AM
The next version of Chameleon, RC5, can be built with or without an embedded theme. You can easily tell the difference by looking at the file size as without an embedded theme it will be around 180K.

But regardless of what type of build you are using (embedded or not), you can still direct it to use a theme by adding the following boot option to the com.apple.Boot.plist
Code: [Select]
<key>Theme</key>
<string>name_of_theme</string>

And replacing 'name_of_theme' with the name of the folder containing the theme which will be in the /Extra/Themes/ folder.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: zef on June 11, 2010, 11:54:16 AM
@Azimutz, tried the precompiled binary of the latest trunk from the mediafire link. With boot0hfs, there is NO  GUI at all :( .
I could boot through the CLI to windows and also OSX.

I also tried replacing  boot1h and the boot files with the same result.

Am I missing something?

If you would like to embed the default theme resources, build the project with "make embedtheme".
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 11, 2010, 12:05:47 PM
Code: [Select]
<key>Theme</key>
<string>My_theme</string>
I have these entries for the theme inside /Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist and themes directory /Extra/Themes/My_theme.
Custom theme works only if the OSX partition is ACTIVE with the boot0 patch.

What I am using is built with embedded theme and they are precomplied, the size is around
1.1MB for  Chameleon-2.0-RC4-r684-bin
1.04MB for Chameleon-2.0-RC5-r168-bin

@zef, building the project with "make embedtheme"  may be a workaround. The actua issue is custom themes are not working.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: zef on June 11, 2010, 12:18:34 PM
@zef, building the project with "make embedtheme"  may be a workaround. The actua issue is custom themes are not working.

Strange, I was able to use a custom theme both with the embedded and non-embedded builds. True, i didn't test with the active win7 partition layout. The todo is growing ;)
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 11, 2010, 02:06:36 PM
Quote
Strange, I was able to use a custom theme both with the embedded and non-embedded builds. True, i didn't test with the active win7 partition layout. The todo is growing ;)

Infact, I tried multiple combinations with/without setting HFS as ACTIVE without any success,
boot1h and boot of Rc4 with boot0 of Rc5 and viceversa. 
boot0hfs instead of boot0
If I use boot0hfs, there is no GUI boot.

And most of the time I had restore the win 7.

Any idea why Windows 7 requires its partiton to be active for hibernation?

Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Blackosx on June 11, 2010, 03:25:14 PM
HNVIJAY

I am not on my machine right now, but I have boot0hfs, boot1h and boot on an HDD with OS X and Windows7 partitions. Windows7 is marked as active and I can happily use the theme of my choice. I haven't tested Windows 7 hibernation though but sleep works just fine.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 11, 2010, 05:40:08 PM
@Blackbox, Yes sleep works fine, its only the hibernation which fails.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Blackosx on June 11, 2010, 06:06:00 PM
Okay. I'll try the hibernation this evening and report back.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 11, 2010, 06:30:00 PM
Thanks Blackosx, really appreciate it.

Any idea why Windows 7 requires its partiton to be active for hibernation?
Here is some information about the Windows Boot process, the location and purpose of the Disk Signature.
How Vista now uses it in the boot process, What happens if the signature has changed.


http://www.multibooters.co.uk/mbr.html

Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Blackosx on June 11, 2010, 07:47:11 PM
Okay. I'll try the hibernation this evening and report back.
Windows 7 hibernates just fine :)
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on June 12, 2010, 01:09:12 AM
@HNVJAY,
don't think you're missing something.. think you stumbled on some issue, like i did some time ago. To be sure, we need your partition scheme.
Meanwhile, let me tell to you guys what i stumbled into. So, i've been doing my own mess out of Chameleon (that i hope to share with you guys soon); i needed to test it on MBR scheme, as well as test boot0hfs and also do some remodeling on the HD. At the time i had a setup like this on /dev/disk0:
- win XP (Active, boot), win 7, Ubuntu, Extended(linux swap, hfs+, hfs+)
I went and installed the booter on the first hfs+ partition, using boot0hfs on mbr and was greeted with the blinking cursor...
To cut it shorter, i wiped the HD, created a new partition scheme and did the same procedure:
- ntfs (Active,boot), fat32, fat32, Extended(fat32)
installed win 7 to the ntfs partition, Chameleon on the logical after turning it to hfs+ and there was the blinking cursor again...
So, with linux partitions out of the game i tried boot0 on mbr, marked the partition Active and that gave me "boot error"... i got out of that without being able to load Chameleon installed to Logical partition!
As my intention was to keep only 3 partitions i went on with my life...
Reinstalled boot0hfs to mbr, formatted disk0s3 to hfs+, installed the booter there and marked win 7 active again... bingo, i get boot prompt but zero stuff loaded from the booter partition, no gui, drivers, dsdt and smbios, at least.. can't remember about Boot.plist.
To cut it really short this time, after some more tests i got to the conclusion that it was (is?) reproducible and the cure was formatting the remaining fat32 partition to some other file system (tested hfs & ext4).
No problem with boot0/booter partition Active.
Someone should confirm this stuff, i can't do it right now. This was like a month ago.
The setup on that drive ended up like this:
Code: [Select]
Disk: /dev/rdisk0    geometry: 38913/255/63 [625142448 sectors]
Signature: 0xAA55
         Starting       Ending
 #: id  cyl  hd sec -  cyl  hd sec [     start -       size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
*1: 07    0   1   1 - 1023 254  63 [        63 -  125837082] HPFS/QNX/AUX - win 7
 2: 83 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [ 125837145 -  125837145] Linux files* - Ubuntu
 3: AF 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [ 251674290 -  373463055] HFS+         - data, Chameleon test install
 4: 00    0   0   0 -    0   0   0 [         0 -          0] unused
and i can't change it atm; need to finish some tests first. The hfs+ partition has Chameleon installed, boot0hfs on mbr, every thing works fine.. win 7 does sleep/hibernation, booter is loading other themes, whether theme embedded  or not.
This kind of setup causes no problems at all.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 12, 2010, 08:00:45 PM
@Blackosx, Thanks for verifying the hibernation on windows.  Looks like my setup is different :(

@HNVJAY,
don't think you're missing something.. think you stumbled on some issue, like i did some time ago. To be sure, we need your partition scheme.
Here is my disk geometry and the partition info.

sudoadmins-Mac:~ sudoadmin$ uname -a
Darwin sudoadmins-Mac.local 10.3.0 Darwin Kernel Version 10.3.0: Fri Feb 26 11:57:13 PST 2010; root:xnu-1504.3.12~1/RELEASE_X86_64 x86_64

fdisk: 1> print
Disk: /dev/rdisk0   geometry: 60801/255/63 [976773168 sectors]
Offset: 0   Signature: 0xAA55
         Starting       Ending
 #: id  cyl  hd sec -  cyl  hd sec [     start -       size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
*1: 07    0   1   1 - 1023 254  63 [        63 -  314565951] HPFS/QNX/AUX
 2: 0B 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [ 314566656 -  104855552] Win95 FAT-32
 3: AF 1023 254  63 - 1023 254  63 [ 419422208 -   62914560] HFS+       
 4: 00    0   0   0 -    0   0   0 [         0 -          0] unused     
fdisk: 1>

Please let me know if you need any other info.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on June 13, 2010, 01:27:14 AM
There ya go, you must be having the problem i related.. i bet if you move that FAT32 partition to the end of the HD, the problem with the themes will go away.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 13, 2010, 05:39:10 PM
There ya go, you must be having the problem i related.. i bet if you move that FAT32 partition to the end of the HD, the problem with the themes will go away.

So If I copy all the themes related file and directory /Extra and boot.plist file inside the FAT32 partition, will it work fine?
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 if OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 13, 2010, 08:55:27 PM
Wow, custom theme works now. :)
All I had to do was to create the directory structure of the theme and the boot.plist file on FAT32 partion to load the custom theme.

Adding the same to NTFS partition does not work.

So, it looks like Chameleon looks for /Extra directories on the FIRST writeable partition/filesystem that it can recognise.
In my case it is FAT32, i.e the second partition.

1) NTFS
2) FAT32
3) HFS+

So what are the writeable partition/Filesystems Chameleon support?
FAT32, HFS+, ..
UFS (?)

Custom theme on the following MBR partition may work by default.

1)NTFS
2)HFS
3)FAT

1)NTFS
2)EXT2FS
3)HFS

1) EXT2FS
2) HFS

Custom theme on the following MBR partiton may require /EXTRA to be installed on the FIRST partition Chameleon can write

1) FAT32
2) HFS

1) NTFS
2) FAT32
3) HFS

1) EXT2FS
2) FAT32
3) HFS

Correct me if am wrong
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on June 14, 2010, 03:07:45 PM
Well, i didn't meant for you to place the files on the FAT32 partition, it never crossed my mind :P but that just clears the point were i was getting at. The way boot0hfs searches for the hfs partition needs some tweaking. Maybe look for one with a system installed (SystemVersion.plist present)??
The guys tested this stuff but i don't think anyone had a partition layout like this to notice it.
Now you know what you're facing :) and i hope dev's are still reading this.
Still, one thing i find strange.. you only have problems with the themes/Boot.plist? What about kexts?
On my tests nothing loaded, but my system is on another HD... i'm maybe missing some other factor...
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 14, 2010, 04:03:54 PM
Well, i didn't meant for you to place the files on the FAT32 partition, it never crossed my mind :P but that just clears the point were i was getting at.
@Azimutz,
I know, you asked me to move the FAT32 partition to the end of the disk. I didnt want to do that because I have the shared data inside that partition(FAT32 is accessible from both the OSes)  and I didnt want to move it without taking backup..
Quote
The way boot0hfs searches for the hfs partition needs some tweaking. Maybe look for one with a system installed (SystemVersion.plist present)??

I loaded boot0 into MBR not boot0hfs.  Does this make difference?
Quote
Still, one thing i find strange.. you only have problems with the themes/Boot.plist? What about kexts?
It is only limited to themes. kexts loads fine.

I am using the RC5 bits from the link you have provided. Does it have the fix for disk labelling?
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on June 14, 2010, 07:23:06 PM
Hum... let's clear things first with boot0, boot0hfs and Chameleon, to make sure you're using the right file on MBR.
The first boot0 @r0m30 pointed to you is boot0hfs, it's just that at the time the patch had not been committed to the repo (trunk) and the guys were testing with RC4 source, if i'm not mistaken. Then @zef committed the changes to the repo (rev 86) and named the file boot0hfs, for obvious reasons. So, if you checkout Chameleon from the repo since rev 86 and compile it, you will have boot0 and boot0hfs on the binaries folder. They just differ in the way they look for the partition were the booter is installed:
- boot0: looks for the Active partition
- boot0hfs: looks for the first hfs partition it can find (some doubts on the "first" thing)

To answer your questions...
Quote
I loaded boot0 into MBR not boot0hfs.  Does this make difference?
Yep.. using RC5, to keep win 7 partition Active, you need to use boot0hfs.
Quote
I am using the RC5 bits from the link you have provided. Does it have the fix for disk labelling?
If you mean "Rename Partition", yes it's there.

I didn't really meant for you to move the FAT32 partition.. i was just supposing. But talking about this stuff, i got to the conclusion long time ago that, it's not practical to keep "data" partitions between installed systems; i always place them after all systems.
Will, see if i can change that disk layout to test this stuff again... i should have thought about that when i changed it :P
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 14, 2010, 11:24:22 PM
Quote
The first boot0 @r0m30 pointed to you is boot0hfs, it's just that at the time the patch had not been committed to the repo (trunk) and the guys were testing with RC4 source, if i'm not mistaken. Then @zef committed the changes to the repo (rev 86) and named the file boot0hfs, for obvious reasons. So, if you checkout Chameleon from the repo since rev 86 and compile it, you will have boot0 and boot0hfs  on the binaries folder. They just differ in the way they look for the partition were the booter is installed:
- boot0: looks for the Active partition
- boot0hfs: looks for the first hfs partition it can find (some doubts on the "first" thing)

Thanks for the clearing things and the detailed explanation of boot0, boot0hfs and the Chameleon.

There is difference in the behaviour with boot0 of @r0m30 and boot0hfs you have provided (RC5 r172).
Here is my observation.

If theme folder and  the Boot.plist file is NOT present inside FAT32,

With boot0(booth0hfs patch) provided by @r0m30,  I get the GUI and the default Chameleon theme,
With boot0hfs of RC5  r172, I get CLI  only.  The size of the Chameleon bundle is 1.25MB, so I am assuming it has embedded theme.

However, I can boot and hibernation works in both the case.

Renaming Partition works fine with RC5 r172 boot0hfs with Theme folders and the Boot.plist file inside FAT32 partition.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on June 15, 2010, 12:27:28 AM
Ok.. the embedded theme thing crossed my mind while i was doing the last post and i forgot it. The RC5 i uploaded doesn't have theme embedded and when i tested this stuff didn't had too.
Cooking a build with theme embedded...
There it is, same link (http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=54d9302b31a30a2cab1eab3e9fa335ca46f1438a82747a6c) as before. Only boot0 boot and cdboot are diff.
The trunk revision is really 168.. 172 is the repo rev; that was a mistake of mine.
I will be able to test this stuff again soon...
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 15, 2010, 01:41:49 AM
The RC5 i uploaded doesn't have theme embedded and when i tested this stuff didn't had too.
Cooking a build with theme embedded...
 Only boot0 and cdboot are diff.

I presume you meant boot and not boot0 as I see the size difference in boot and cdboot. I replaced the boot file with this one.
It now defaults to embedded theme, if /Extra/Themes files are missing inside FAT32 partition :) .
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on June 15, 2010, 04:02:28 AM
yeah, you're right, i meant boot.. sorry. What i really meant is, you only need to replace boot or cdboot.. i can be complicated from time to time :P
Well, booter with embedded them seems to be a solution, providing that all the other files are loading fine.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: HNVIJAY on June 15, 2010, 12:40:18 PM
To summarise,
I had the following issues with the Chameleon.

1) Windows 7 was not able to hibernate if HFS partition is active.
         This issue is fixed in boot0hfs in Chameleon 2.0 RC5. With the fix, Windows 7 retains active flag and hibernation works fine.
2) Custom theme fails to load under certain MBR partition scheme with the boot0hfs fix.
         i.e if the partition is in the order
         1)  NTFS
         2)  FAT32
         3)  HFS+
         This issue needs to be addressed. There is a workaround for this issue by placing /Extra/Themes folder and Boot.plist file inside the FAT32 partition.

Appreciate all the help I got from @r0m30, @Blackosx, @Azimutz,  @zef and all the Chameleon community.
You guys rock!.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Blackosx on June 15, 2010, 05:35:28 PM
Well done HNVIJAY with your summary of where this thread is at and well done to Azimutz for offering patience and detailed explanations. It's great to see such a constructive discussion.  ;D
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on June 16, 2010, 03:34:40 PM
Yeah, this one felt/feels nice! Thanks for the heads up Blackosx :) HNVJAY was a great help, thanks to him too ;)
I've been debugging this again and i probably wouldn't have the info i have now, without his feedback.. nice.
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on June 17, 2010, 08:23:50 PM
Ok, adding some info to the summary; i don't have a fix but i can explain what's going on:

- for some reason, when using boot0hfs, if there are FAT32 partitions before the booter partition, the first FAT32 partition is set as the booter partition, bt(0,0). I confirmed this with a debug build.
Reading the comments on the code (boot0.s, #317)
Quote
In pass 1 we're going to find a HFS+ partition equipped with boot1h in its boot record
i'd say this shouldn't happen at all, as there's no boot1h present on these partitions bootsector.
- as the path used to load the themes stuff is bt(0,0)/blabla (at least the png's use it (http://forge.voodooprojects.org/p/chameleon/source/tree/HEAD/trunk/i386/boot2/graphics.c#L508)), we get no theme on this situation unless the booter has theme embedded.
- this is only happening with FAT32 partitions; any other combination of ntfs, hfs, ext or ExFAT file systems works fine!

The reason why i also don't get the rest of the files loaded is because, i removed the /Extra path (selected volume) from the checked ones  on the booter i'm using; i'm testing loading files only from booter partition, very successfully i must say :)

Solutions for this problem atm:
- using booter with theme embedded
- don't use FAT32 partitions before the booter partition or...
- use ntfs for shared data partitions. FAT32 partitions can be easily converted to ntfs without data loss (if i'm not mistaken). They also can be read from most major OS'ses natively and don't have the file size limits of FAT32 file system.
That's it for boot0hfs...
BUT...


The other "bug" i mentioned before; i can't load the booter when it's installed to a Logical partition, with either boot0 or boot0hfs! Note that i'm talking about the booter not a system, those load fine.
I'm a bit confused at this; i'm calling it a bug because i recall doing a lot of multiboot on the MBR HD (before i bought the second only for GUID) and i'm pretty sure i did it on Logical partitions, to test the booter; all i'd do was change the Active partition.
I can be wrong as it was long time ago so, if someone has some info on this... shoot :P
I'm keeping my MBR HD available for tests for a while. Here is the layout atm (edited):
Code: [Select]
/dev/disk0
   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER
   0:     FDisk_partition_scheme                        *320.1 GB   disk0
   1:               Windows_NTFS Windows 7               64.4 GB    disk0s1
   2:                      Linux                         32.2 GB    disk0s2
   3:                  Apple_HFS test                    8.6 GB     disk0s3
   4:                  Apple_HFS Hyperspace              214.8 GB   disk0s4

p.s: It seems i've been saying some bs! I should have looked better at "open_bvdev"; went deeper on the booter code and it does check selected volume. Still, weird stuff is happening with some partition configurations/layouts.
Sorry about the bs (http://forum.voodooprojects.org/Smileys/default/tongue.gif)
Think this needs another approach...
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: aleistercrowley on August 15, 2010, 11:39:59 PM
Hello

Ive exatly the same Problem.
I use 2 HDDs. SATA 0 holds Chameleon with SnowL. and SATA 1,1 is Windows7

SATA 0 is the 1st Drive and SATA 1 the default Partition in boot.plist. 
Windows 7 Hibernate does not work as soon i load it through Chameleon.

Is there a working new compiled Chameloen Build ? I really need Hibernating because i use Window7 as a Video Recorder for DVB-C too, so Hibernating is important.

How can i fix it ? I really have no clue how i to use Trunk Builds from Azimuts
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on August 16, 2010, 06:43:04 AM
Hi Aleistercrowley,

your problem it's not exactly as the one on this topic, but kind of fits in?!
Anyway, what you have is a dual boot on separate drives. The problem on the topic is about dual boot on the same drive.
In your case, Windows can have it's partition Active and hibernate without problems, using most the common boot files
boot0, boot1h and boot.
I can only think of 2 problems:
- Win not liking to be on sata 1: try swapping the drives, Win on drive to sata 0; then change the boot order on the Bios to load sata 1, were Chameleon will be.
- The system reserved partition. If you have it, it holds the Win booter and it's marked as Active instead of the system partition. Last time i let Win 7 create the damn partition, it won't hibernate; i don't really use hibernation, i did this for testing and it was a good while ago so, i have serious doubts about it?! And i can't imagine why Microsoft would create such a situation, but you never know :P

About the Chameleon build i have on my signature, it's just a RC4 binary (pre compiled) package updated
with the latest trunk files, no changes made! This are test builds for people that don't know how to compile from source.
All you need is Terminal to install.

See ya later :)
Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: aleistercrowley on August 16, 2010, 11:01:53 AM
Hi

Yes, i know my Problem is a little bit different because i have 2 physical HDDs.

But, its 100% sure a Problem caused by Chameleon!
W7 Hibernate workls perfecdt when i load the HDD directly trough Bios/Boot manager
When i boot W7 with Chameleon Hibernate doesnt work anymore. The Screens turns Black fro 1-3 seconds without powerimng Off and it comes Back.
I dont use a reserved Partion for Windows and changing the Drives/SATA Port doenst change anything

Hers is the same Problen (related to Sleep) with 2 physical Discs and Chameleon
http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php?topic=516.0

http://www.tonymacx86.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=246&p=1659&hilit=windows+hibernate#p1659

I tried the Hex editor fix but it doesnt work

Maybe the Problem is obvious and W7 will store the Backup/Hibernate Files on the Disk from which it was booted( via Chameleon=SnowL. Drive) And ofcourse it doenst work so Hibernate fails ?



Title: Re: Unable to Hibernate Windows7 as OSX partition is ACTIVE
Post by: Azimutz on August 18, 2010, 08:56:55 AM
Back... sorry for the delay but i've been very busy with personal matters.

Ok, but that doesn't mean that Chameleon is the culprit. Afaik, all Chameleon does when booting foreign systems, is chainload the booter of the foreign system. At most, Chameleon is maybe "not" doing something that it could/should, to please Microsoft.

Anyway, i also revisited the sleep/hibernation problem on my system, after some reading (thanks for the links);
i have a setup similar to yours:
- sata 0: MBR scheme; Win 7, Linux, Test, hfs+. Chameleon is installed on s4, with boot0hfs on mbr, so Win partition can stay the Active one.
- sata 1 is the dvd drive.
- sata 2: GPT scheme; many hfs+ partitions here. Main OS X and Chameleon are on s2 and here i use boot0.
- first boot device is sata 2, atm.

The findings: i can sleep/hibernate Win 7 if i disable Hybrid-Sleep and boot it with the Chameleon installed on sata 1.
If i boot it with the Chameleon on sata 2, i can only sleep; hibernate brings me back to the password prompt.

I have no time to try swapping the drives and as you say that made no difference, i guess there's no point on trying.
Also, last time i checked this stuff, i don't remember having to mess with Hybrid-Sleep, but it's probable i just forgot that!?
I'm keeping this setup atm for test purposes; usually as i'm not the only one that uses this machine, but i'm the only one that doesn't actively use Windows and i can easily select another device to boot (Esc at POST, brings up a Boot Menu), i have sata 1 set as first boot device and either Grub is in command or Win boots directly.
I also don't care much for sleep/hibernation; no laptop here and even when i'm away from the desktop, most of the times it's always doing something that prevents sleep/hibernation so, i just put the display to sleep.
It's all i have for now.. hope it helps :)

See ya...