overdue-scratch

Author Topic: Changing device names (or labels)  (Read 6520 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

wysegy66

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Changing device names (or labels)
« on: April 23, 2010, 12:13:03 AM »
When my netbook boots and Chameleon pops up I see 3 boot options:  OSX, Linux and Linux.
Where are these "names" or "labels" pulled from? 
I want to change the labels to show the real distribution name (E.g. Ubuntu and FreeBSD)?

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: Changing device names (or labels)
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2010, 01:55:09 AM »
Chameleon looks at the file system and labels the drive/partition from that.

You can see how to "rename" partitions/drives here:
http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,1305.0.html
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131

wysegy66

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: Changing device names (or labels)
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2010, 04:01:59 AM »
That's what I thought but when I boot with "Parted Magic" the two Linux ext3 partitions are labelled correctly as Ubuntu and Backtrack (I incorrectly mentioned FreeBSD earlier).

However at the bootloader screen when I press tab I see the following:
hd(0,2) OSX
hd(0,3) Linux
hd(0,5) Linux

Also within OSX when I do a "diskutil list" they show up as "Microsoft Basic Data" with no label.
I wanted to do a "diskutil rename" but for that I need to mount and I cannot (incorrect super block)

Any ideas?

wysegy66

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: Changing device names (or labels)
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2010, 04:57:55 AM »
Correction to last post - "diskutil info" does show the correct labels.

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: Changing device names (or labels)
« Reply #4 on: April 23, 2010, 05:34:47 AM »
One thing at a time!  :)

You can see how to properly label the disks in the Chameleon GUI by following the link I posted.

What you see when running Mac OS or Parted Magic is another matter.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2010, 05:37:03 AM by Gringo Vermelho »
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131

wysegy66

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: Changing device names (or labels)
« Reply #5 on: April 23, 2010, 05:26:35 PM »
Thanks - I read through the link but I totally missed the "Rename Partition" option.

However when I added the string to the "com.apple.Boot.plist" it doesn't work.
I'm using what I see in the Chameleon boot screen (after pressing tab) as input:

hd(0,2) OSX
hd(0,3) Linux
hd(0,5) Linux

Thus I have added the following to /Extra/com.apple.Boot.plist:

<key>Rename Partition</key>
<string>hd(0,3) Backtrack;hd(0,5) Ubuntu</string>

However when I boot it still shows Linux and Linux. 
I know this is the correct plist and it is being used as changing the "timeout" parameter has an effect.
I see screenshots of Chameleon boot screens from Feb 2009 with renamed partitions so I know my version (2.0-RC3-nbi) should be OK (I believe "Hide Partition" is available as of RC4)

Any ideas?

wysegy66

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 5
Re: Changing device names (or labels)
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2010, 07:17:44 PM »
Actually after doing more research I believe the "Rename Partition" feature is only available as of RC4.
As I am using a Dell Mini 10v, my Chameleon bootloader is a customized NetbookInstaller version so I don't think I want to upgrade Chameleon directly - I'll wait until a new version of NBI is out incorporating Chameleon 2.0-RC4.
Thanks for your help.

(and let me know if I've gotten anything wrong).