Author Topic: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon  (Read 47219 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

nawcom

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 5
GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« on: December 19, 2009, 09:43:33 PM »
Ok, so I've started working on adding GMA display detection to the GraphicsEnabler boot flag. All I have on me right now is mobile GMA950 which works fine. Other support added is desktop GMA950 and GMAX3100 which is only in laptops. One thing I'm interested in adding is support for the desktop equivalent of GMAX3100, which seems to be GMAX3000 and GMAX3500. i have yet to do some searching to see if anyone has attempted those at all.

src diff for RC4
http://nawcom.com/Chameleon-2.0-RC4-r684-src.gma.diff

precompiled boot file
http://nawcom.com/boot.gma.zip

I definitely need some devs who also have a GMAX3100 in their hands to take a look at this. I based the ioreg t as well. Like I said mobile GMA950 is good to go - if only I had my hands on all 3 in order to test. hehe. Anyways changes off of the dsdt fix for GMAX3100 posted on ProjectOSX. I also need someone with desktop GMA950 to test, so people who are interested, give it a roll. Be sure any paulicat's Natit kexts or DSDT fixes are removed before trying, as that would sort of screw results up, if the truth is that it didn't really work (but your DSDT fix or injector did :-P).

The point of this? Well I'm sure anyone with an Intel IGP card would prefer to only have to boot with GraphicsEnabler=Yes after a fresh install, or even when booting install media and not having to prevent the Intel Graphics kexts from loading.

Anyways, if people can give this a roll that would be great. Also what's needed is some devs who know the GMAX3100 fix well to take a peek at this. p|astikman gave it a try on his gmax3100 laptop and had issues, so I need to find out what is going wrong there, and it's frustrating since I don't have the hardware in my own hands. I'm no pro so any suggestions to changes let me know.

UPDATE

Mobile GMA950 works fine, I need some testers for GMAX3100 badly. I'm usually on IRC on either irc.osx86.hu or irc.moofspeak.net in the main osx86 channels as well as irc.voodooprojects.org. For Desktop GMA950 this will be a challenge, mainly because of the #1 issue - most DSDTs for motherboards with gma950 on it don't have a device entry for the video card at all - that's why the DSDT fix for it requires you to manually add the device entry plus the _DSM method - not just the _DSM method like in mobile GMA950 - so covering this in the bootloader is nothing as simple as mobile GMA950 is. This is what I will be focusing on.

Anyone who can contribute to the code, whether they be additions, suggestions, etc are welcome.


Moderator Edit: I missed this one. Moved to Patches, Cheers nawcom.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2010, 07:00:39 PM by rocksteady »

Dalton63841

  • Observer
  • Posts: 14
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2009, 06:19:13 PM »
Did not work for me. MSI Wind U100.

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2009, 12:53:30 AM »
Which model Intel GMA is in the Wind?

Post your GMA Device ID.
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131

Dalton63841

  • Observer
  • Posts: 14
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2009, 03:25:15 AM »
The msi wind Graphics are GMA950 and currently have to be patched with the 27ae dev-id.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2009, 03:53:07 PM by Dalton63841 »

nawcom

  • VoodooLabs
  • Posts: 5
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #4 on: December 26, 2009, 01:54:41 AM »
Did not work for me. MSI Wind U100.

More info than just this  - did it correctly detect your video card? boot with Wait=Yes to see this. Also please give me an ioreg dump that you get post booting - boot into single user mode and dump it into a a file - ioreg -lw0 > ioreg.dump. "Did not work for me" isn't very useful at all. Thanks.

[edit]
I just tested on an MSI Wind myself tonight and it does in fact work fine. be sure you are using the correct bootloader version (RC4) as well as actually using the GraphicsEnabler key correctly. I'm not sure exactly what your issue is other than that.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2009, 02:02:47 AM by nawcom »

prasys

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 7
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #5 on: December 26, 2009, 04:35:33 AM »
Well I would like to inform that it works with netbooks (tested with MSI Wind which has the device id 27ae). It will work with all Intel 945GMS (Atom N270/Atom N280 series of netbooks). You'll still be needing the patched framebuffer

iTux

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 1
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #6 on: December 26, 2009, 06:55:45 AM »
  Тип:   GPU
  Производитель:   Intel (0x8086)
  ID устройства:   0x29c2
  Ревизия:   0x0010

GMAX3100

Terc

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 129
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #7 on: December 27, 2009, 04:38:00 AM »
Thanks!  :D

I'll let you know how it goes as soon as I'm back to SL on my T60! (I went to Ubuntu 9.10 for the holidays since I needed good power management for all my travel time).

pilsator

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 1
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2009, 02:17:45 AM »
Chameleon support for GMA950 desktop (ASRock 945G-DVI in my case) would be great. The attached file was made with DSDTSE under 10.5.7. I hope you can use that. Or should I make it under Snow Leopard with Chameleon 2 RC3 which I have on another partition and in single user mode?

Sorry for starting a new thread in General Discussions by accident. Tried to delete it without success.
« Last Edit: December 29, 2009, 02:21:39 AM by pilsator »

Gringo Vermelho

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 611
  • The gray monster energy hat
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2009, 02:21:23 AM »
It shouldn't make any difference. The DSDT tables are part of the BIOS and AFAIK the only thing that will change the contents (apart from updating your BIOS, in case something in the DSDT table gets an update too) is some hardware upgrades.
When I upgraded from 2 to 4GB RAM recently, some memory address ranges changed in the DSDT.
And the CPU definitions change when you upgrade from a dual core to a quad core CPU.
« Last Edit: January 22, 2010, 01:39:39 AM by Gringo Vermelho »
10.9.5 - ASUS P8Z77-V Pro - i5 3570K - GTX 660 - Chameleon 2.3 svn-r2xxx
How to...
Install Chameleon: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,649
Make your own Chameleon boot CD: http://forum.voodooprojects.org/index.php/topic,484.msg2131.html#msg2131

Dalton63841

  • Observer
  • Posts: 14
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #10 on: December 29, 2009, 02:53:13 AM »
You'll still be needing the patched framebuffer

This is why it didn't work for me. I took out both patched kexts.

badbpy07

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 2
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #11 on: January 04, 2010, 07:54:11 AM »
I have a Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family desperately waiting for Chameleon support so that I can install the Snow Leopard. Can I use this boot file?

Terc

  • Forum Moderator
  • Posts: 129
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #12 on: January 05, 2010, 07:19:46 PM »
It works great on my Lenovo T60 with GMA 950 graphics.  Thanks!

18seven

  • Observer
  • Posts: 14
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #13 on: January 15, 2010, 03:47:25 AM »
Nawcom, 27ae mobile is not working for me. Leaving the patched framebuffer gives proper resolution but no qe/cl. However, I shared the patch with a desktop 2772 user and they reported the "built-in" injection did work for them.

user888

  • Entrant
  • Posts: 1
Re: GMA GraphicsEnabler features in Chameleon
« Reply #14 on: January 28, 2010, 08:59:00 PM »
@nawcom: thanks.

This fixed my problems.

Symptoms:
Blank screen during boot of installation (blank gray or blueish screen, depending on boot disk / USB stick used). The system didn't freeze (when I touched keys I saw the harddisk led blinking again, indicating harddisk access) I first worked around using an external monitor, but the problem also persisted after installation.

Context:
Lenovo 3000 V100 laptop with GMA950 (945 to be precise). Used the MyHack method based on Chameleon RC4. GraphicsEnabler didn't work.

I replaced the boot file on the USB stick with yours, booted with GraphicsEnabler=yes and it worked. One side effect is that now the problem is 'reversed': I now have the blank screen problem when I connect an external monitor but that's not a problem for me.

Will the changes be migrated back in a future Chameleon version?